Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-28-2013, 01:21 PM
f1anatic's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Illinoize
Posts: 929
Thanks: 5
Thanked 62 Times in 47 Posts
Rep Power: 158130
f1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond repute
Is the JGC Diesel instrument panel cluster configurable like the RAM diesel?

I was looking thru a RAM 2014 brochure at the dealer and this caught my eyes...Real time horsepower numbers... The brochure also talks about "dozens of graphics relaying information on the most important mechanical and electrical functions". I know my 3.6 V6 does not have "dozens" but rather a "handful" of such features. So, is the JGC Diesel instrument panel cluster configurable like the RAM diesel?

https://www.ramtrucks.com/assets/pdf...am_pickups.pdf
(page 19)

Someone really needs to unlock these hidden performance pages across the board for the 8.4 RA interface.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ram-1.JPG (104.0 KB, 66 views)
File Type: jpg ram-2.JPG (138.5 KB, 81 views)
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to f1anatic For This Useful Post:
  #2  
Old 12-28-2013, 06:49 PM
racer-xerols's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 406
racer-xerols has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is the JGC Diesel instrument panel cluster configurable like the RAM diesel?

The EVIC menu in my Summit includes oil temp, oil life, trans temp, DEF level, and TPMS screens.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2013, 07:29 PM
netboy's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: CT
Posts: 243
Thanks: 29
Thanked 53 Times in 27 Posts
Rep Power: 807
netboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is the JGC Diesel instrument panel cluster configurable like the RAM diesel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer-xerols View Post
The EVIC menu in my Summit includes oil temp, oil life, trans temp, DEF level, and TPMS screens.
EVIC on the summit has many more displays:
  1. Fuel Economy
  2. Trip-A
  3. Trip-B
  4. Audio Information
  5. Stored Messages
  6. Analog Speedometer
  7. Digital Speedometer
  8. TPMS
  9. Trans temp
  10. Oil temp
  11. Oil life
  12. Battery voltage
  13. DEF level
  14. Selec-Terrain mode
  15. Quadra-Lift mode
  16. Drivetrain status
  17. Wheel Articulation
  18. Adaptive Cruise Control status

Add to this the two programmable upper indicators that can be set to:
  1. Compass
  2. Outside Temp
  3. Time
  4. Range To Empty
And the static displays:
  1. Tachometer
  2. Coolant temp
  3. Fuel gauge

And you get a good number of displays and indicators. The EVIC on the JGC might be different than the Ram as the vehicle has a different utilitarian purpose.
__________________
Summit 4x4 Diesel, Black / Jeep Brown.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2013, 07:55 PM
racer-xerols's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 406
racer-xerols has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is the JGC Diesel instrument panel cluster configurable like the RAM diesel?

Sorry, yes, you are correct. I was focused only on the "vehicle information" submenu, which I would assume is where the other features are found in the Ram dash.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2013, 10:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Washington
Posts: 250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 24 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 1098
crabman has a reputation beyond reputecrabman has a reputation beyond reputecrabman has a reputation beyond reputecrabman has a reputation beyond reputecrabman has a reputation beyond reputecrabman has a reputation beyond reputecrabman has a reputation beyond reputecrabman has a reputation beyond reputecrabman has a reputation beyond reputecrabman has a reputation beyond reputecrabman has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is the JGC Diesel instrument panel cluster configurable like the RAM diesel?

I'm going to take a guess here that many of those same displays will be available in the ram. Just like the SRT the ram has some menus we do not. I'll be honest, I don't need to know my 0 to 60 but I'd find it a hoot to play with here and there. An example of a Ram menu I'd like would be that its odd not being able to display the EGT on a diesel vehicle with a 7k plus tow rating. I imagine other menus would be of interest to me (and others) as well.

It would be awesome if we had some gurus working on this because you could almost certainly add (some) menus from one vehicle to another if you had the skills.
__________________
2014 Diesel Grand Cherokee
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to crabman For This Useful Post:
  #6  
Old 12-29-2013, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 799
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 22 Posts
Rep Power: 73035
mswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is the JGC Diesel instrument panel cluster configurable like the RAM diesel?

You can also customize the EVIC with what you want permanently displayed in the corners (Temp, Time, Compass etc.).

I think the SRT offers more functions like the RAM. Realtime 0-60 measurements etc.
__________________

__________________
08-10-2014 Limited 3.6L Red W/Black Int, Tow Group IV, 8.4AN Radio, ProClip, OBDLink/Torque, Zeigler Lifetime MaxCare
OEM: Mud Flaps, Matts, Cargo Liner, Cross Rails
UConnect: 13.48.3 TSB: 21-007-13C (Yippy) Tires: OEM/Nokian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ram

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CRD diesel mpg= 26 hwy, does the Green Diesel tune increase this? KKielisch Liberty-KJ and KK 5 10-14-2013 08:08 PM
2014 Instrument Cluster vs 2012 Instrument CLuster felipito Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 3 10-09-2013 12:26 AM
Ram 1500 getting diesel jerkylips Export & Diesel Powered Jeep Models 1 02-15-2013 01:03 PM
2011 JGC Noise Behind Instrument Cluster Jerster Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 1 04-17-2012 05:55 PM
1993 instrument panel cluster lights out Susan Grand Cherokee - ZJ 1 03-01-2011 09:51 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community