New CAT without any codes - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-13-2015, 10:08 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern MN.
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 1145
pineluretom has a reputation beyond reputepineluretom has a reputation beyond reputepineluretom has a reputation beyond reputepineluretom has a reputation beyond repute
New CAT without any codes

Took my 2014, June 2014 build diesel in Monday for an oil change. They also did flashes for HVAC and the radio. They said my car was up for a new CAT even though I haven't gotten the dreaded P0EE code. They said they ordered one for me and called Tuesday saying it was in. After it is installed they will do a PCM flash. Could this be a preemptive move considering the VW mess?

Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pineluretom For This Useful Post:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-13-2015, 10:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 247
Thanks: 21
Thanked 40 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 1168
definn12 has disabled reputation
Quote:
Originally Posted by pineluretom View Post
Took my 2014, June 2014 build diesel in Monday for an oil change. They also did flashes for HVAC and the radio. They said my car was up for a new CAT even though I haven't gotten the dreaded P0EE code. They said they ordered one for me and called Tuesday saying it was in. After it is installed they will do a PCM flash. Could this be a preemptive move considering the VW mess?
The cat has nothing too do with the vw style "mess." VW created software that turned off emissions controls above 55mph so their cars could achieve better fuel economy. Jeep is replacing all of the old cats/ failures or not because enough of the cats have failed to deem it a design issue. The new cats are redesigned and won't degrade like the old ones would. Their mentality is eventually yours will even if it hasn't yet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2015, 04:33 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 929
Thanks: 37
Thanked 43 Times in 39 Posts
Rep Power: 1232699
2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute
Re: New CAT without any codes

Quote:
Originally Posted by pineluretom View Post
Took my 2014, June 2014 build diesel in Monday for an oil change. They also did flashes for HVAC and the radio. They said my car was up for a new CAT even though I haven't gotten the dreaded P0EE code. They said they ordered one for me and called Tuesday saying it was in. After it is installed they will do a PCM flash. Could this be a preemptive move considering the VW mess?
Here's the TSB:
Attached Files
File Type: pdf TSB SCR Replacement 9-24-15.pdf (36.3 KB, 45 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2015, 10:01 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern MN.
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 1145
pineluretom has a reputation beyond reputepineluretom has a reputation beyond reputepineluretom has a reputation beyond reputepineluretom has a reputation beyond repute
Re: New CAT without any codes

My point here was that I have read so many posts here about getting the P0EE codes and had to make several trips to the dealer before they got a new CAT. Plus nation wide back orders with long waits. Mine was at the dealer the very next day.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2015, 10:22 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 929
Thanks: 37
Thanked 43 Times in 39 Posts
Rep Power: 1232699
2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute
Re: New CAT without any codes

Quote:
Originally Posted by pineluretom View Post
My point here was that I have read so many posts here about getting the P0EE codes and had to make several trips to the dealer before they got a new CAT. Plus nation wide back orders with long waits. Mine was at the dealer the very next day.
Now that there's a TSB, no more multiple trips to the dealer or waiting for the p20EE code. My dealer had one in stock for my 2014 Ram.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-14-2015, 10:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 247
Thanks: 21
Thanked 40 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 1168
definn12 has disabled reputation
Quote:
Originally Posted by pineluretom View Post
My point here was that I have read so many posts here about getting the P0EE codes and had to make several trips to the dealer before they got a new CAT. Plus nation wide back orders with long waits. Mine was at the dealer the very next day.
Yea but the posts are months and months old going back two years. It's an RRT - a rapid response type technical service bulletin. Like they have to do it. There's not the normal down time associated with this fix and a lot of them are being changed preemptively to avoid it being a "zomg my car can't drive its in the dealer for 40 days and 40 nights type of thing". The hardware isn't perfect and a lot of people really lose perspective on the fact that a first year model of ANY kind of car is going to have design issues.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-14-2015, 06:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 44
Thanks: 7
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 986
timmy_ is on a distinguished road
Re: New CAT without any codes

Quote:
Originally Posted by definn12 View Post
Yea but the posts are months and months old going back two years. It's an RRT - a rapid response type technical service bulletin. Like they have to do it. There's not the normal down time associated with this fix and a lot of them are being changed preemptively to avoid it being a "zomg my car can't drive its in the dealer for 40 days and 40 nights type of thing". The hardware isn't perfect and a lot of people really lose perspective on the fact that a first year model of ANY kind of car is going to have design issues.
I brought in a copy of the RRT and the dealership acted like they didn't know about it. I had the CEL come on a third time and immediately took it in to have them check. They claim to have ordered the new cat and so far I have been waiting two weeks to hear back. It all depends on the dealership.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-16-2015, 06:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 34
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 614
AJMorris343 has a reputation beyond reputeAJMorris343 has a reputation beyond reputeAJMorris343 has a reputation beyond reputeAJMorris343 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: New CAT without any codes

Hmm.. I think the dealer should definitely know about this problem, especially at this stage in the game. My dealer also had the CAT in stock and had they not broken a sensor I would have had my jeep back in 2 hours and I live in an area wedged I have never even seen another ecodiesel driving around. I don't trust dealers any more than politicians so but these guys have always been good to me so I make the hour dive to take my Jeep to them. I even wrote them a nice review on Google. It might be worth looking around for another option if possible. Just don't let them screw around on you.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-17-2015, 04:33 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern MN.
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 1145
pineluretom has a reputation beyond reputepineluretom has a reputation beyond reputepineluretom has a reputation beyond reputepineluretom has a reputation beyond repute
Re: New CAT without any codes

Had my CAT installed today. Took about 2.5 hr. They lost $ since the RRT shows it taking 0.7 hr. There was a flash that went with it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there any feature you can do without or a must have! cherryredjeep Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 72 11-13-2015 01:38 PM
transmission problem - no codes, any advice greatly appreciated! jrwpmw Grand Cherokee - WJ 8 02-28-2015 01:02 PM
Curious - any way to get qdII without quadra lift on the wk2? beepbeepimajeep Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 6 11-23-2012 07:50 PM
comp testing - how 2 disable fuel and ignition without setting codes xc8great Tech Tips/DIY/How To 6 12-11-2011 09:58 PM
Any California new owners want a custom cat back for free? QuickOne Grand Cherokee SRT - WK2 14 09-29-2011 02:06 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.