Oil Change - By Computer or Mileage? - Page 2 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 01-23-2015, 07:53 AM
Morax's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: QC, CANADA
Posts: 410
Thanks: 6
Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
Rep Power: 1500
Morax is on a distinguished road
Re: Oil Change - By Computer or Mileage?

Hummmm, I am seriously thinking of doing it myself now...where would I find the official written procedures which you are talking about?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #14  
Old 01-23-2015, 11:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 101
Thanks: 9
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 1293
Timo13 is on a distinguished road
Re: Oil Change - By Computer or Mileage?

Here you go

First oil change some info and comments
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-23-2015, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,312
Thanks: 49
Thanked 164 Times in 132 Posts
Rep Power: 2884
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Yes, that thread is the one you want.

Also, premium members have access to the diesel engine service tech manual in the VIP area.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-23-2015, 02:02 PM
Morax's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: QC, CANADA
Posts: 410
Thanks: 6
Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
Rep Power: 1500
Morax is on a distinguished road
Re: Oil Change - By Computer or Mileage?

Yeah, I'm currently reading into it now, thanks guys, appreciate the link... I called Shell Canada to find out where I could buy the Pennzoil Ultra Euro L, seems that it has been discontinued for the Pennzoil Platinum Ultra Euro... ( No L ) and when I look up this new ''model'' I don't see the MS-11106 spec attached to it... So, yes, I am reading through the whole tread, maybe there is mention of this in it, I'm at the Jan 2014 posts... Also, looking for a good place ONLINE to buy the filter from, local dealers here are asking $60 for it....found many places in the states for $40 somewhat, but $15 or more shipping, which brings me back to that $60 bucks local buy, which I find totally insane... Well, I'll keep searching and reading!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-23-2015, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,312
Thanks: 49
Thanked 164 Times in 132 Posts
Rep Power: 2884
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
If you can't get the less expensive Pennzoil Ultra Euro L 5W-30 from Amazon shipped to you (it's in stock on the Amazon.com site) then I'd go with the Mobil 1 ESP 5W-30 that we know has the MS-11106 certification.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-23-2015, 04:41 PM
Morax's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: QC, CANADA
Posts: 410
Thanks: 6
Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
Rep Power: 1500
Morax is on a distinguished road
Re: Oil Change - By Computer or Mileage?

Thanks, I finally hunted down the Shell distributor around here and got them to sell me directly the Pennzoil Ultra EURO L, best price I found here was 9.95/L, so that will be it! Mobile 1 ESP here sells in stores for $16.99/L ...after reading all the mishaps from the dealers, no way in hell am I going to take the chance. I might be over killing it, but hey, I take care of my stuff... Engine bay and truck are in demo room condition, want it to stay that way.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-23-2015, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,312
Thanks: 49
Thanked 164 Times in 132 Posts
Rep Power: 2884
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Be aware that the specs call for 8 quarts, though if you're using liters the error is only about half a liter. Naturally, you won't be able to get an accurate reading with the dipstick until after you wait the prescribed 15+ minutes for the sump to fill.

I will note that it took 45 minutes for my Jeep to drain the oil from that filter housing inlet. For the first 30+ minutes the level didn't go down visibly, but it continued to drip down into the pan. Also, no doubt you already found the torque specs for the filter housing.

You might consider doing a Blackstone UOA+TBN while you're at it.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-23-2015, 05:44 PM
ssgunner's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: So Cal
Posts: 964
Thanks: 19
Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 2004
ssgunner has a reputation beyond reputessgunner has a reputation beyond reputessgunner has a reputation beyond reputessgunner has a reputation beyond reputessgunner has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Oil Change - By Computer or Mileage?

Does everyone here who goes by the computer % use regular oil or do any of you use synthetic?
__________________
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4x2 5.7 HEMI MAX Steel>Build Date:Oct/13-Mods: Billet CC Blue, Searching for best exhaust option...
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01-23-2015, 06:28 PM
WK2Kev's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 125
Thanks: 1
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 970
WK2Kev is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: Oil Change - By Computer or Mileage?

I would do mileage or computer, which ever is first.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-23-2015, 08:37 PM
Morax's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: QC, CANADA
Posts: 410
Thanks: 6
Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
Rep Power: 1500
Morax is on a distinguished road
Re: Oil Change - By Computer or Mileage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadkill View Post
Be aware that the specs call for 8 quarts, though if you're using liters the error is only about half a liter. Naturally, you won't be able to get an accurate reading with the dipstick until after you wait the prescribed 15+ minutes for the sump to fill.

I will note that it took 45 minutes for my Jeep to drain the oil from that filter housing inlet. For the first 30+ minutes the level didn't go down visibly, but it continued to drip down into the pan. Also, no doubt you already found the torque specs for the filter housing.

You might consider doing a Blackstone UOA+TBN while you're at it.

Yes, I need 7.7L to fill her up. as for the time, hey, I have tones of chores to do in the garage, so it will be a good part of the day process for me...so, I am not pressed for time, I'll look at it drip while a chug a few brewskies... And yes BLKSTONE for sure...and yup for the torque! Thanks again guys for your links and help...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-23-2015, 11:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,312
Thanks: 49
Thanked 164 Times in 132 Posts
Rep Power: 2884
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssgunner View Post
Does everyone here who goes by the computer % use regular oil or do any of you use synthetic?
Anyone with an EcoDiesel using oil that doesn't meet the MS-11106 specification is risking voiding their warranty and permanently reducing their fuel economy.

So, practically speaking, that means North American owners have a choice of whether they want to use Mobil 1 ESP 5W-30 or Pennzoil Ultra Euro L 5W-30. That's it... one or the other.

Hope this helps to dispel this oddly persistent misconception.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to set mileage in replacement instrument cluster to ACTUAL mileage? The Godfather Grand Cherokee - WJ 6 01-01-2015 04:43 AM
Change oil or wait for "change oil" message spinxt Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 13 11-29-2013 06:17 PM
Synthetic Oil Change ,,, Change Oil Light ??? Bart Man Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 2 06-07-2013 09:46 AM
Can I mix High mileage Full synthetic with regular High Mileage? sergioad89 Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust 8 06-30-2012 07:38 AM
99 wrangler computer has oil leak??? bobbyceleste Wrangler-YJ, TJ & JK 5 02-16-2010 10:25 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.