Torque app & regen - Page 2 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 03-30-2015, 10:44 AM
wraab's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2016 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 386
Thanks: 140
Thanked 71 Times in 53 Posts
Rep Power: 1676
wraab is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by netboy View Post
I've been getting about 650C-700C, but as far as I can recall, Roadkill stated at some point that he has some doubts about the validity of this temperature. Also, the DPF temp custom Torque PID Roadkill listed in the PIDs thread does not include the -40 degree offset that is listed in Steve1307's excellent export PID list. Maybe Roadkill can shed some light on this too.

Thanks netboy...it was showing that it was in the mid 600's the entire time. Just curious what others are getting during regens.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #14  
Old 03-30-2015, 03:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 98
Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 955
Ampt is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by wraab View Post
Thanks netboy...it was showing that it was in the mid 600's the entire time. Just curious what others are getting during regens.
I saw mine go as high as 700C even, but like others, I have my doubts as to whether this is accurate or not.... The only ones who truly know what temps the CAN messages convert to for are the engineers at Chrysler who put the thing together... we can only guess, or, take the thing apart and stick a thermometer in there to see how hot it *does* get...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-30-2015, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 49
Thanked 176 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 17579
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by wraab View Post
Hey roadkill - so I set up this PID (along with the DPF temp one) and I actually was paying attention when it started (3 popped up). What temp(s) were you getting during the regen?
Sweet. That was regen. You're the second confirmation (i.e. besides my own), so I think we can definitely rely on it being valid now. 600 to 700 °C Cat1B1 is typical for mine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by netboy View Post
Roadkill stated at some point that he has some doubts about the validity of this temperature. Also, the DPF temp custom Torque PID Roadkill listed in the PIDs thread does not include the -40 degree offset that is listed in Steve1307's excellent export PID list. Maybe Roadkill can shed some light on this too.
Well, while we have DPF regen mode PID confirmed at this point, I think this effectively kills the DPF temp PID. I translated that from a ScanGauge XGauge code that was shared. However, after using it I noticed it is consistently 40 °C above Cat1B1. Hence my suspicion that one reading or the other was virtual. I think this probably settles the matter.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #16  
Old 03-30-2015, 06:58 PM
netboy's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: CT
Posts: 407
Thanks: 47
Thanked 92 Times in 56 Posts
Rep Power: 581938
netboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadkill View Post
Well, while we have DPF regen mode PID confirmed at this point, I think this effectively kills the DPF temp PID. I translated that from a ScanGauge XGauge code that was shared. However, after using it I noticed it is consistently 40 °C above Cat1B1. Hence my suspicion that one reading or the other was virtual. I think this probably settles the matter.
"Effectively killing" seems to be a bit of an overstatement. One can still observe some interesting stuff that can not be seen on a binary indicator. Did anyone notice the way DPF temps hop to the 400's a few minutes after a cold start, then go back to the normal 200's. Might that be a post-injection cycle to get the SCR nice and hot?
__________________
Summit 4x4 Turbo-Diesel, Black / Jeep Brown.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-30-2015, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 49
Thanked 176 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 17579
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by netboy View Post
"Effectively killing" seems to be a bit of an overstatement. One can still observe some interesting stuff that can not be seen on a binary indicator.
No, you misunderstand: the ScanGauge XGauge-derived DPF temp PID is dead because the published ScanGauge code I translated was just a misimplementation of the Cat1B1 PID in Torque. I apologize for the confusion—and trust me when I say I am quite embarrassed—but ultimately the problem derives from ScanGauge's apparent lack of quality control over their published XGauge codes.

To restate: the ScanGauge XGauge-derived DPF temp PID dead because the data it reports is wrong and people should just use the built-in Cat1B1 PID temps instead. Sorry.

For people who care enough to monitor things anyway, DPF regen mode PID is a great partner for the Cat1B1 PID but does not replace it. The regen mode PID will change before the temps do and therefore helps if you are analyzing your logged data later. The regen mode PID also answers the "is my fuel economy sucking due to a regen" question at a glance, unlike Cat1B1.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-30-2015, 08:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 98
Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 955
Ampt is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadkill View Post
No, you misunderstand: the ScanGauge XGauge-derived DPF temp PID is dead because the published ScanGauge code I translated was just a misimplementation of the Cat1B1 PID in Torque. I apologize for the confusion—and trust me when I say I am quite embarrassed—but ultimately the problem derives from ScanGauge's apparent lack of quality control over their published XGauge codes.

To restate: the ScanGauge XGauge-derived DPF temp PID dead because the data it reports is wrong and people should just use the built-in Cat1B1 PID temps instead. Sorry.

For people who care enough to monitor things anyway, DPF regen mode PID is a great partner for the Cat1B1 PID but does not replace it. The regen mode PID will change before the temps do and therefore helps if you are analyzing your logged data later. The regen mode PID also answers the "is my fuel economy sucking due to a regen" question at a glance, unlike Cat1B1.
Since we're going over the Regen mode PID, I'll jump in and confirm that I saw it in mode 3 during a 700C regen as well. I'll summarize my first monitored regen for everyone.

On the interstate for ~250 miles yesterday, so I had plenty of time to watch my DPF % Full rise, and rise... and rise. I started out at ~40% and it got up to over 65% without any change in DPF temp (I stayed between 350 and 400 by the now obsolete DPF Temp).

Then, I hit 70% and it jumped to 100% with no other changes (Regen mode was still 0, DPF temp was still 400ish). After about 30 seconds of this, the temp on the DPF started to rise, and the mode went to 3 (I don't recall which happened first... sorry) then it stayed at ~700C for a while before I had to get off the interstate (of course). It *continued* the regen even while I was scooting around town, at >40, and it appears that any time I dropped below that, it would pause the regen (I saw the temps start to drop anytime I got below that) but the mode was still 3.

Even through start and stop traffic, the mode was 3, and as soon as I got going fast enough, the DPF Temp would shoot up to 700C. Eventually it stopped and left me at 6.9% DPF Capacity and the mode went back to 0, and my DPF temps dropped back down to normal.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-30-2015, 11:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 49
Thanked 176 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 17579
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Nice case report. You can always setup automatic Torque logging and get a CSV spreadsheet to pore over later. Even logging many PIDs once per second, it still only adds up to a few MB after hours of driving.

The DPF mode switch should precede the temperature excursion/return to normal, as the system is diverting fuel into the DPF to combust the soot. Before the mode PID was available, gauging regens in a spreadsheet log was like trying to analyze historical stock market data to determine when a recession ended (i.e. it involved squinting at the data).

A few weeks back I drove about 600 km at highway speeds on a 100% full DPF before the system elected to trigger a regen. I thought that was very strange. No warnings, no complaints from the system, it just was happy to chug along while reporting a full DPF when it could have easily chosen to burn it off anytime over multiple hours of steady driving. This leads me to believe there is "real" DPF status data elsewhere outside Mode 01.

My biggest complaint about Torque so far is how much crack cocaine it is smoking when it comes to its fuel economy PIDs.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-31-2015, 08:06 AM
wraab's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2016 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 386
Thanks: 140
Thanked 71 Times in 53 Posts
Rep Power: 1676
wraab is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadkill View Post
Sweet. That was regen. You're the second confirmation (i.e. besides my own), so I think we can definitely rely on it being valid now. 600 to 700 °C Cat1B1 is typical for mine.



Well, while we have DPF regen mode PID confirmed at this point, I think this effectively kills the DPF temp PID. I translated that from a ScanGauge XGauge code that was shared. However, after using it I noticed it is consistently 40 °C above Cat1B1. Hence my suspicion that one reading or the other was virtual. I think this probably settles the matter.

Thanks Roadkill for the PID

I'm not near as technically sound on all of this as you, but it's nice to have some data that I do understand for the Jeep.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03-31-2015, 08:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 98
Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 955
Ampt is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadkill View Post
Nice case report. You can always setup automatic Torque logging and get a CSV spreadsheet to pore over later. Even logging many PIDs once per second, it still only adds up to a few MB after hours of driving.
Good point! I'll do this on my return trip on thursday. I drive down here for work, putz around town for a week, then do another 250 miles back, so I'm sure it'll trigger a regen at some point. I'll post the data here when I get it.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-13-2015, 06:19 PM
Benn0's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,180
Thanks: 116
Thanked 361 Times in 278 Posts
Rep Power: 18980
Benn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadkill View Post
No problem. Please let us know how it works. Steve1307 said this particular data field didn't work on his export model when he tested it a while ago. That seems quite odd given that it certainly works on my NA 2014.
Yeah, didn't work.
__________________
MY14 Grand Cherokee LTD CRD - ORA2 & QL | Mopar 18" Night Fever Rims & Rock Rails | Chief Recovery Hooks & Sump Skid Plate | STMaxx 275/65R18
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVIC Regen/service electronic throttle msg talltale 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 2 06-07-2014 09:38 AM
Regen at low speeds info Magnetworks 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 6 05-15-2014 05:54 PM
Does the DPF regen system make Diesel unusable as a full time work vehicle? gme2815 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 40 05-07-2014 06:02 PM
Regen question jtwoodiii 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 3 02-05-2014 10:06 AM
Torque phone app capabilities Goonbash Audio/Visual/Navigation 1 12-18-2013 10:37 AM

» Premium Vendor Showcase
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.