Torque app & regen - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-25-2015, 06:53 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 378
Thanks: 115
Thanked 27 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 1234
chadg2 is on a distinguished road
Torque app & regen

How or is it possible to see soot level or regen mode with my cell phone, OBD2, and Torque App?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-25-2015, 07:14 PM
Benn0's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,061
Thanks: 100
Thanked 326 Times in 255 Posts
Rep Power: 18657
Benn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Torque app & regen

Yes, we are doing this now with export model in Oz. Some details in this thread:

Is DPF issue for 2014 CRD fixed now?
__________________
MY14 Grand Cherokee LTD CRD - ORA2 & QL | Mopar 18" Night Fever Rims & Rock Rails | Chief Recovery Hooks & Sump Skid Plate | STMaxx 275/65R18
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2015, 07:51 PM
Benn0's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,061
Thanks: 100
Thanked 326 Times in 255 Posts
Rep Power: 18657
Benn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Torque app & regen

Here's the details:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benn0 View Post
So far here is a list of what is working and the settings being used:

Steve1307:
paid Torque App for Android
settings > Manage available ODB2 PIDs
"add custom PID"
PID: 018B
Short Name: DPF % full
min: 0.0
max: 100.0
Scale factor: x1
unit type : %
Equation: C*100/255
edit: I've got this setup in my car now, saw my first regen at 77%. The reading doesn't update until its complete, it dropped to 8% once it was done. CAT temps went to 600C even in stop start traffic.
__________________
MY14 Grand Cherokee LTD CRD - ORA2 & QL | Mopar 18" Night Fever Rims & Rock Rails | Chief Recovery Hooks & Sump Skid Plate | STMaxx 275/65R18
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2015, 12:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,287
Thanks: 46
Thanked 155 Times in 126 Posts
Rep Power: 2808
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by chadg2 View Post
How or is it possible to see soot level or regen mode with my cell phone, OBD2, and Torque App?
As requested, DPF regen mode PID. You may want to subscribe to that Ecodiesel specific PIDs thread, as salient discoveries typically wind up there.

For example, there you will also find the DPF capacity % PID referenced by Benn0. Also, I translated the DPF temp PID from the XGauge and posted it there (but after testing it I'm not certain it's a "real" reading).
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Roadkill For This Useful Post:
  #5  
Old 03-26-2015, 07:23 PM
Benn0's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,061
Thanks: 100
Thanked 326 Times in 255 Posts
Rep Power: 18657
Benn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Torque app & regen

Thanks Roadkill, I'll need to add that regen mode PID to Torque.
__________________
MY14 Grand Cherokee LTD CRD - ORA2 & QL | Mopar 18" Night Fever Rims & Rock Rails | Chief Recovery Hooks & Sump Skid Plate | STMaxx 275/65R18
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2015, 08:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,287
Thanks: 46
Thanked 155 Times in 126 Posts
Rep Power: 2808
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benn0 View Post
Thanks Roadkill, I'll need to add that regen mode PID to Torque.
No problem. Please let us know how it works. Steve1307 said this particular data field didn't work on his export model when he tested it a while ago. That seems quite odd given that it certainly works on my NA 2014.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2015, 08:56 PM
Benn0's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,061
Thanks: 100
Thanked 326 Times in 255 Posts
Rep Power: 18657
Benn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Torque app & regen

I've added it to torque, just need to wait for a regen to kick off. Only 33% at the moment.
__________________
MY14 Grand Cherokee LTD CRD - ORA2 & QL | Mopar 18" Night Fever Rims & Rock Rails | Chief Recovery Hooks & Sump Skid Plate | STMaxx 275/65R18
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-28-2015, 01:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 98
Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 751
Ampt is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benn0 View Post
I've added it to torque, just need to wait for a regen to kick off. Only 33% at the moment.
I was amazed at how quickly the DPF fills up! I went from 15.3% to 18% over ~10 miles. granted it was stop and go, and my engine was cold, but it was amazing how quickly it filled up.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-28-2015, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,287
Thanks: 46
Thanked 155 Times in 126 Posts
Rep Power: 2808
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ampt View Post
I was amazed at how quickly the DPF fills up! I went from 15.3% to 18% over ~10 miles. granted it was stop and go, and my engine was cold, but it was amazing how quickly it filled up.
I know what you mean... I've seen it too. I think this is one reason they don't put the DPF soot level or regen info in EVIC... I think it would freak regular owners out or make them obsess about things that are perfectly normal.

The joke's on Chrysler, of course, because I was going to be obsessive regardless. Ha!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-28-2015, 04:11 PM
Morax's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: QC, CANADA
Posts: 410
Thanks: 6
Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
Rep Power: 1449
Morax is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadkill View Post
The joke's on Chrysler, of course, because I was going to be obsessive regardless. Ha!
too funny!
__________________
Phil - JGC 2014 Eco Diesel - 2013 Sept build - NEW CAT INSTALLED! 11K miles.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-30-2015, 10:00 AM
wraab's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2016 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 305
Thanks: 60
Thanked 33 Times in 28 Posts
Rep Power: 1391
wraab is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadkill View Post
As requested, DPF regen mode PID. You may want to subscribe to that Ecodiesel specific PIDs thread, as salient discoveries typically wind up there.

For example, there you will also find the DPF capacity % PID referenced by Benn0. Also, I translated the DPF temp PID from the XGauge and posted it there (but after testing it I'm not certain it's a "real" reading).

Hey roadkill - so I set up this PID (along with the DPF temp one) and I actually was paying attention when it started (3 popped up). What temp(s) were you getting during the regen?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-30-2015, 11:42 AM
netboy's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: CT
Posts: 386
Thanks: 44
Thanked 86 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 581713
netboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Torque app & regen

Quote:
Originally Posted by wraab View Post
Hey roadkill - so I set up this PID (along with the DPF temp one) and I actually was paying attention when it started (3 popped up). What temp(s) were you getting during the regen?
I've been getting about 650C-700C, but as far as I can recall, Roadkill stated at some point that he has some doubts about the validity of this temperature. Also, the DPF temp custom Torque PID Roadkill listed in the PIDs thread does not include the -40 degree offset that is listed in Steve1307's excellent export PID list. Maybe Roadkill can shed some light on this too.
__________________
Summit 4x4 Turbo-Diesel, Black / Jeep Brown.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to netboy For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVIC Regen/service electronic throttle msg talltale 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 2 06-07-2014 10:38 AM
Regen at low speeds info Magnetworks 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 6 05-15-2014 06:54 PM
Does the DPF regen system make Diesel unusable as a full time work vehicle? gme2815 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 40 05-07-2014 07:02 PM
Regen question jtwoodiii 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 3 02-05-2014 11:06 AM
Torque phone app capabilities Goonbash Audio/Visual/Navigation 1 12-18-2013 11:37 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.