Tpms position reset - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-15-2016, 04:49 PM
wireman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 19 Posts
Rep Power: 14958
wireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Tpms position reset

I tried a search but got no definitive answer. I plan on rotating my tires on my 2015 JGC Limited ECO. I will do front to back only.

Do you have to reset the TPMS position or is that done automatically while driving?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-15-2016, 04:52 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 946
Thanks: 41
Thanked 45 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 1232779
2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms position reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by wireman View Post
I tried a search but got no definitive answer. I plan on rotating my tires on my 2015 JGC Limited ECO. I will do front to back only.

Do you have to reset the TPMS position or is that done automatically while driving?
No reset necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2016, 06:12 PM
wireman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 19 Posts
Rep Power: 14958
wireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Tpms position reset

Is a 2015 different than your year? My dealer says it has to be reset but I was questioning his statement with this post.


I guess I could inflate the 2 rear tires to a different PSI and rotate them and see if it automatically recognizes the new position after driving for awhile.

Just wondering if anyone with a 2015 has a answer for this model year.

Thanks for your response.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2016, 07:49 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 946
Thanks: 41
Thanked 45 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 1232779
2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms position reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by wireman View Post
Is a 2015 different than your year? My dealer says it has to be reset but I was questioning his statement with this post.


I guess I could inflate the 2 rear tires to a different PSI and rotate them and see if it automatically recognizes the new position after driving for awhile.

Just wondering if anyone with a 2015 has a answer for this model year.

Thanks for your response.
I don't think the 2015 is different. Once you drive, above 15 MPH, for several minutes the TPMS will update.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2016, 09:30 PM
nookie's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 332
Thanks: 3
Thanked 54 Times in 39 Posts
Rep Power: 6825
nookie has a reputation beyond reputenookie has a reputation beyond reputenookie has a reputation beyond reputenookie has a reputation beyond reputenookie has a reputation beyond reputenookie has a reputation beyond reputenookie has a reputation beyond reputenookie has a reputation beyond reputenookie has a reputation beyond reputenookie has a reputation beyond reputenookie has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Tpms position reset

It's Automatic.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2016, 07:38 AM
wireman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 19 Posts
Rep Power: 14958
wireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond reputewireman has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Tpms position reset

Thanks. Another service advisor F. O. S.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-16-2016, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,336
Thanks: 49
Thanked 169 Times in 135 Posts
Rep Power: 2966
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by nookie View Post
It's Automatic.
I can confirm it's automatic on the 2014's as well.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2016, 12:09 PM
Shots's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: N.E.Ohio
Posts: 342
Thanks: 6
Thanked 101 Times in 76 Posts
Rep Power: 16403
Shots has a reputation beyond reputeShots has a reputation beyond reputeShots has a reputation beyond reputeShots has a reputation beyond reputeShots has a reputation beyond reputeShots has a reputation beyond reputeShots has a reputation beyond reputeShots has a reputation beyond reputeShots has a reputation beyond reputeShots has a reputation beyond reputeShots has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms position reset

I've never had to "reset" the position. I just upgraded the tires on my Jeep, and the guy at the tire shop said they'd have to "release the position of the sensors" so they would display the correct place and wanted me to bring the Jeep in for that once I put the tires on it. Um... No. I put them on, and set each tire at a different PSI (only 4 PSI difference between them all for the "test"). Guess what, they all matched the position. Either I got really lucky and I just happened to put them in the exact position each sensor already thought it was in, or it's automatic. I'm going with them being automatic since I've never had to adjust my Chargers or Rams either. No way have I been lucky enough to put them in the exact right position on multiple vehicles.
__________________
The sheep generally do not like the sheepdog. He looks a lot like the wolf. They would prefer the sheepdog cash in his fangs, spray paint himself white, and go, “Baa.”
Until the wolf shows up. Then the entire flock tries desperately to hide behind one lonely sheepdog.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-16-2016, 04:13 PM
JTS97Z28's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 3,877
Thanks: 90
Thanked 626 Times in 458 Posts
Rep Power: 28796
JTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms position reset

Also, just an FYI, why post this in the Eco diesel only section? Engine has nothing to do with TPMS systems in these vehicles. Would be much better suited in the wheel/tire/suspension forum.
__________________
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee High Altitude, Bright White, V6, HK audio
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JTS97Z28 For This Useful Post:
  #10  
Old 07-16-2016, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,336
Thanks: 49
Thanked 169 Times in 135 Posts
Rep Power: 2966
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTS97Z28 View Post
Also, just an FYI, why post this in the Eco diesel only section? Engine has nothing to do with TPMS systems in these vehicles. Would be much better suited in the wheel/tire/suspension forum.
Just report the post and the mods will move the thread.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS #56029398AB vs TPMS #68241067AB Laser-9 Wheels and Tires 4 02-02-2016 07:57 AM
Brand new 2015 jeep, oil reset lights says "last reset 40631 mi" wk2project Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 19 12-31-2015 09:25 PM
2011 Cherokee TPMS wont reset mackman107 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 9 11-14-2012 01:23 PM
reset tpms TonyTJ Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 1 10-07-2012 12:39 PM
New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors? elp_jc Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 05-20-2012 03:03 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.