Tuning your EcoDiesel - Page 13 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #145  
Old 05-29-2015, 09:07 AM
mazster43's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 343
Thanks: 64
Thanked 77 Times in 42 Posts
Rep Power: 72401
mazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by farfromovin View Post

You have the eco or the hot tune?
This is the hot tune.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #146  
Old 05-29-2015, 09:09 AM
mazster43's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 343
Thanks: 64
Thanked 77 Times in 42 Posts
Rep Power: 72401
mazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond reputemazster43 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zybane View Post

Did it cure some of the turbo lag?
I have been running the Jeep to test mileage as that is my main interest. The one time I jumped on the throttle from a traffic light the Jeep up and went and I was doing 80 much sooner then I expected.
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 05-29-2015, 10:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 168
Thanks: 73
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
Rep Power: 1326
dsears00 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Just installed the GDE Eco tune. Too early to really report anything yet, but my test loop saw a considerably larger increase in MPG than the advertised 3 to 4 MPG. Turbo spool up is a little quicker and the power deliver is smooth as silk.

At least for me, the biggest problem with the GC is the trans. Especially when rolling back on the throttle after slowing down or coasting. The turbo spools up at just about the same time it finally decides to downshift. It's particularly bad at the 2nd to 1st roll-on, like at a yield. However, this was a problem stock and has nothing to do with the GDE tune. Hopefully, they will be able to do something about this too. Gawd, I miss my manuals.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 05-30-2015, 05:58 PM
zzkazu's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canberra, ACT
Posts: 500
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 2600
zzkazu has a reputation beyond reputezzkazu has a reputation beyond reputezzkazu has a reputation beyond reputezzkazu has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Out of interest are you US customers taking your vehicles to GDE for the flash? Hence why us international guys need to wait for the flash tool?
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 05-30-2015, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 168
Thanks: 73
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
Rep Power: 1326
dsears00 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by zzkazu View Post
Out of interest are you US customers taking your vehicles to GDE for the flash? Hence why us international guys need to wait for the flash tool?

It's only in Beta testing right now. Should be GA around mid to late June.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 05-30-2015, 10:11 PM
zzkazu's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canberra, ACT
Posts: 500
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 2600
zzkazu has a reputation beyond reputezzkazu has a reputation beyond reputezzkazu has a reputation beyond reputezzkazu has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

I understand it might be a little later than that. My question really was why this tool isnt required for US flashes.
Reply With Quote
  #151  
Old 05-30-2015, 10:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,307
Thanks: 46
Thanked 164 Times in 132 Posts
Rep Power: 2876
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by zzkazu View Post
I understand it might be a little later than that. My question really was why this tool isnt required for US flashes.
Isn't it because they are physically removing and sending the ECU to GDE for the flash? Maybe I misunderstood, though.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Roadkill For This Useful Post:
  #152  
Old 05-30-2015, 11:53 PM
zzkazu's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canberra, ACT
Posts: 500
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 2600
zzkazu has a reputation beyond reputezzkazu has a reputation beyond reputezzkazu has a reputation beyond reputezzkazu has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

That could be it....
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 05-31-2015, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 168
Thanks: 73
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
Rep Power: 1326
dsears00 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Yeah, the flash tool isn't available/working yet. Until then, they send you a core ECM then you send your ECM in to get flashed.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 06-02-2015, 08:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 77
Thanks: 0
Thanked 57 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 4087
GreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

We have been working with the flash tool manufacturer for the past 5 months to push the development. They told us no more updates until they reach a breakthrough. The tool could be functional in a month or maybe a year. We just have to wait and see how it progresses on their end.

For US and Canada market, we will be cloning ecms for customer install and return shipping of stock ecm (core deposit).

The export market will not be available until the flash tool is functional. Shipping ecms around the world is very time consuming and would add significant costs.

Thanks for the interest in our tunes. GDE
Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to GreenDiesel For This Useful Post:
  #155  
Old 06-02-2015, 09:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 120
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 1172
C175 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenDiesel View Post
For US and Canada market, we will be cloning ecms for customer install and return shipping of stock ecm (core deposit).
What if we're travelling through SE Michigan, could you schedule an appointment to have the ECM flashed?
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 06-02-2015, 11:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 77
Thanks: 0
Thanked 57 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 4087
GreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by C175 View Post
What if we're travelling through SE Michigan, could you schedule an appointment to have the ECM flashed?

We would still have to setup a clone ecm with your vehicle info beforehand. You can drive in and we do the swap. Pulling your ecm out and bench flashing is time consuming and we do not want the customer sitting around for a few hours with nothing to do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New ecodiesel ordered kpow 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 8 01-09-2014 09:16 PM
New ecodiesel owner : ) Somewhereinla 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 3 01-05-2014 11:11 AM
Bargaining for an EcoDiesel mack0092 Diesel Powered 2012+ Export Grand Cherokee 28 11-10-2013 09:42 AM
2014 EcoDiesel Regens Trigger Diesel Powered 2012+ Export Grand Cherokee 0 09-01-2013 06:32 PM
2014 3.0l EcoDiesel Actually Available Yet? mokotoks Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 2 05-01-2013 03:16 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.