Tuning your EcoDiesel - Page 14 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #157  
Old 06-02-2015, 05:50 PM
zzkazu's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canberra, ACT
Posts: 500
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 2596
zzkazu has a reputation beyond reputezzkazu has a reputation beyond reputezzkazu has a reputation beyond reputezzkazu has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

I assume from this its all about working through the ECM encryption to obtain access?



Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenDiesel View Post
We have been working with the flash tool manufacturer for the past 5 months to push the development. They told us no more updates until they reach a breakthrough. The tool could be functional in a month or maybe a year. We just have to wait and see how it progresses on their end.

For US and Canada market, we will be cloning ecms for customer install and return shipping of stock ecm (core deposit).

The export market will not be available until the flash tool is functional. Shipping ecms around the world is very time consuming and would add significant costs.

Thanks for the interest in our tunes. GDE

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #158  
Old 06-03-2015, 07:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 54 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 4082
GreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

To flash through the OBD a handshake and unlock is required, this is missing at this time. Flashing the board directly bypasses all that, just more time consuming and labor instensive.
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 06-03-2015, 11:33 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Austin
Posts: 94
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 810
Suns_PSD is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

What's involved in swapping the ECUs. The wrenching side of it I mean.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 06-03-2015, 12:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 54 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 4082
GreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

We will add ecm removal/install instructions on our website next week. It is less than 20 minutes on the WK2.
Reply With Quote
  #161  
Old 06-03-2015, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 566
Thanks: 52
Thanked 104 Times in 71 Posts
Rep Power: 1350
farfromovin has a reputation beyond reputefarfromovin has a reputation beyond reputefarfromovin has a reputation beyond reputefarfromovin has a reputation beyond reputefarfromovin has a reputation beyond reputefarfromovin has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenDiesel View Post
We will add ecm removal/install instructions on our website next week. It is less than 20 minutes on the WK2.
I'd like to ask about making necessary changes to support tires larger than 265/50r20. The WK2 can't be adjusted by the dealer correctly for anything other than stock sizes, unlike other Jeeps. I've heard other tuners have tried this but it kills the ABS. Does the ECU have no bearing on this whole equation and it's all in the body computer? If so, I'd like to see a body computer swap option for 32" tires if that's possible. There are many WK2 owners who step up to this size as it seems to fit very well but it throws off the speedo/odo. The wheel speed is what drives all the various traction control services as well and it'd be nice to have that working like stock, even though some of us toss bigger tires on.
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 06-03-2015, 04:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 54 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 4082
GreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by farfromovin View Post
I'd like to ask about making necessary changes to support tires larger than 265/50r20. The WK2 can't be adjusted by the dealer correctly for anything other than stock sizes, unlike other Jeeps. I've heard other tuners have tried this but it kills the ABS. Does the ECU have no bearing on this whole equation and it's all in the body computer? If so, I'd like to see a body computer swap option for 32" tires if that's possible. There are many WK2 owners who step up to this size as it seems to fit very well but it throws off the speedo/odo. The wheel speed is what drives all the various traction control services as well and it'd be nice to have that working like stock, even though some of us toss bigger tires on.
Tire info is not in the engine ecm we are tuning. We have not investigated the BCM on this vehicle. Other companies are better suited for that, we tend to focus on diesel combustion tuning.
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 06-03-2015, 05:24 PM
Zybane's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 551
Thanks: 1
Thanked 54 Times in 37 Posts
Rep Power: 3016
Zybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by farfromovin View Post
I'd like to ask about making necessary changes to support tires larger than 265/50r20. The WK2 can't be adjusted by the dealer correctly for anything other than stock sizes, unlike other Jeeps. I've heard other tuners have tried this but it kills the ABS. Does the ECU have no bearing on this whole equation and it's all in the body computer? If so, I'd like to see a body computer swap option for 32" tires if that's possible. There are many WK2 owners who step up to this size as it seems to fit very well but it throws off the speedo/odo. The wheel speed is what drives all the various traction control services as well and it'd be nice to have that working like stock, even though some of us toss bigger tires on.
Have you noticed any odd behavior? I have 33" tires on my WK2 with no issues. The speedometer reading 8% slower really isn't that big of a deal to me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 06-03-2015, 06:28 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 174
Thanks: 74
Thanked 32 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 4403
JGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenDiesel View Post
We will add ecm removal/install instructions on our website next week. It is less than 20 minutes on the WK2.
Can you also let us know the process for sending in the ECU and the process? Do we send someone an email? Fill out a form? How do we get started? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 06-03-2015, 10:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 165
Thanks: 71
Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 1319
dsears00 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suns_PSD View Post
What's involved in swapping the ECUs. The wrenching side of it I mean.

Thanks

Three bolts and two wiring harnesses. There is nothing to remove like there is on the Ram. I removed the wiring harnesses, then the one bolt on the bottom of the ECM, and finally the two on top. Then it lifts right out.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old 06-12-2015, 03:47 AM
cptslobodan's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Hills District, Sydney OZ
Posts: 289
Thanks: 25
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 2250
cptslobodan has a reputation beyond reputecptslobodan has a reputation beyond reputecptslobodan has a reputation beyond reputecptslobodan has a reputation beyond reputecptslobodan has a reputation beyond reputecptslobodan has a reputation beyond reputecptslobodan has a reputation beyond reputecptslobodan has a reputation beyond reputecptslobodan has a reputation beyond reputecptslobodan has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zybane View Post
Have you noticed any odd behavior? I have 33" tires on my WK2 with no issues. The speedometer reading 8% slower really isn't that big of a deal to me.
33" Tyres? Your Jepp must look great! What are the exact tyre specs? Are you using 20 or 18" rims?

I'd love to know.
__________________
.
Unashamed Bald Headed Jeep Driver

Proud owner of:
MY15 Overland CRD
Bright White with Frost interior and ORA II Pack
Luvin-it!!
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old 06-12-2015, 08:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 147
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 1478
LaNcE10 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

how will this be for o/s customers? or we would have to stick on on board chips?
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old 06-12-2015, 08:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 54 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 4082
GreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeGreenDiesel has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by LaNcE10 View Post
how will this be for o/s customers? or we would have to stick on on board chips?
Not sure if this is directed to GDE, but we are bench flashing ecms, so mac or pc is not used on the customer end.

The eventual flash tool will most likely only support windows based pc as it is designed in Europe where the mac presence is miniscule. If you have a windows shell program it would work. Or just borrow a pc for 15 minutes to complete that portion of the setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New ecodiesel ordered kpow 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 8 01-09-2014 09:16 PM
New ecodiesel owner : ) Somewhereinla 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 3 01-05-2014 11:11 AM
Bargaining for an EcoDiesel mack0092 Diesel Powered 2012+ Export Grand Cherokee 28 11-10-2013 09:42 AM
2014 EcoDiesel Regens Trigger Diesel Powered 2012+ Export Grand Cherokee 0 09-01-2013 06:32 PM
2014 3.0l EcoDiesel Actually Available Yet? mokotoks Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 2 05-01-2013 03:16 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.