Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #61  
Old 04-20-2014, 10:23 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1586
falcon2017 is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Has the Celtic tuning eliminated the turbo lag? Interested in tuning my EcoDiesel but NY is a long way from Texas.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 04-20-2014, 11:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 746
STANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExcursionDiesel View Post
Stang, are you running your 14 GC Diesel with DPF and/or EGR deletes? Thanks!

I currently am running my jeep with the dpf in tact. I want to see what the difference will be in mpg. Currently I have 1500 miles on my tune and was able to get even more power out of it. This thing really pulls hard now. I think it'll keep up with my brothers 14' Hemi.

I will remove dpf in a couple of months.

So far I'm getting 30mpg highway 65-70 mph which I think is great with Long Island traffic.




Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 05-01-2014, 03:25 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 182
Thanks: 13
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 582
chocco is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Stang,

With the Celtic Tune are you flashing a premade Tune or do you have the ability to tweak the tune in real time on the dyno to allow for minor differences between motors.

If the above is true what PIDs/settings do you have a actual control off?

Have you got a exhaust and /or CAI as well ?

Has it been on the dyno?

Cheers
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 05-03-2014, 07:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 746
STANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcon2017 View Post
Has the Celtic tuning eliminated the turbo lag? Interested in tuning my EcoDiesel but NY is a long way from Texas.

The ecu gets sent to me. I don't need the vehicle.

The turbo lag is almost nonexistent.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 05-13-2014, 01:45 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Codyturgeon is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by STANG678 View Post
I am a dealer for Celtic in the us.

Dpf can be tuned out
Egr system can be tuned out

Dpf removal- the best way would be to guy the dpf filter. This way you retain the double walled pipe that is along the firewall.

I have had the Celtic tune in my personal jeep for about a week now. It's been great. Any questions, pls email me. I also can get you back your Ecu with a 24 hour turnaround time.
Stang, I see your the man for tuning these new ecodiesels . Have you done any mods to the ram ecodiesel. Is there really a difference. I've already put a bluespark pro + boost control on my pickup and am wondering if it's possible to still tune out the egr and dpf with everything playing nicely. I plan on hollowing out the dpf filter in the exhaust also.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 05-13-2014, 06:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 746
STANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Codyturgeon View Post
Stang, I see your the man for tuning these new ecodiesels . Have you done any mods to the ram ecodiesel. Is there really a difference. I've already put a bluespark pro + boost control on my pickup and am wondering if it's possible to still tune out the egr and dpf with everything playing nicely. I plan on hollowing out the dpf filter in the exhaust also.


Tuning boxes are crude and can only go so high before limiters kick in and put you in a limp home mode, they also do not accommodate boost control.

We have not done anything with the Ram diesel yet. It's the same engine, same ECU though.

Is there a difference? There is a HUGE difference. When I picked up the truck I was shocked at how slow it was and in the amount of turbo lag. My shop Sprinter was quicker than the Jeep. After the tune, it feels exactly like what I wanted and expected. It's quick and you definitely feel the increase in torque while towing. I use the Jeep for every purpose it's designed for.

I currently have 3,000 miles. We have tweaked it to be exactly where we want it.

Before you hollow this exhaust you have to have the DEF system turned off in the ECU.

I do not recommend blue spark and the Celtic tune in conjunction.

Feel free to ask any questions.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 05-13-2014, 06:48 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 182
Thanks: 13
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 582
chocco is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by STANG678 View Post
Tuning boxes are crude and can only go so high before limiters kick in and put you in a limp home mode, they also do not accommodate boost control.

We have not done anything with the Ram diesel yet. It's the same engine, same ECU though.

Is there a difference? There is a HUGE difference. When I picked up the truck I was shocked at how slow it was and in the amount of turbo lag. My shop Sprinter was quicker than the Jeep. After the tune, it feels exactly like what I wanted and expected. It's quick and you definitely feel the increase in torque while towing. I use the Jeep for every purpose it's designed for.

I currently have 3,000 miles. We have tweaked it to be exactly where we want it.

Before you hollow this exhaust you have to have the DEF system turned off in the ECU.

I do not recommend blue spark and the Celtic tune in conjunction.

Feel free to ask any questions.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chocco View Post
Stang,

With the Celtic Tune are you flashing a premade Tune or do you have the ability to tweak the tune in real time on the dyno to allow for minor differences between motors.

If the above is true what PIDs/settings do you have a actual control off?

Have you got a exhaust and /or CAI as well ?

Has it been on the dyno?

Cheers
Excuse my ignorance in regards to my above earlier post if the ECU has to be removed for the tune to be uploaded how exactly do you tweak the tune, do you have to remove the ECU each time you want to make a change ??? I was under the impression that OBD tuning was blocked and there was no hack available yet ???
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 05-13-2014, 06:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 746
STANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by chocco View Post
Stang,

With the Celtic Tune are you flashing a premade Tune or do you have the ability to tweak the tune in real time on the dyno to allow for minor differences between motors.

If the above is true what PIDs/settings do you have a actual control off?

Have you got a exhaust and /or CAI as well ?

Has it been on the dyno?

Cheers

I apologize for not getting back to you.

You can not ‘live tune’ an EDC17 ECU… this is a myth people seem to think is true but isn’t.

It’s a dyno developed tune but we can adjust to suit any requirements, even more so if we are provided with logs from the engine. The ecu has to be on a bench to connect equipment to it, then I unlock the ecu to be able to copy the software from your vehicles ECU. I then work in conjunction with Celtic.

You would be able to send your ECU back after putting some mileage on it, we can then tweak it further if possible.

No, it has not been on a dyno. I will get it on one soon, just have been extremely busy. I can tell you that I hit the 512 ft lb of torque programmed limiter in my Jeep. We have removed this limiter that will put you into a limp mode, which is something you can't do with Bluespark.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 05-13-2014, 06:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 746
STANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by chocco View Post
Excuse my ignorance in regards to my above earlier post if the ECU has to be removed for the tune to be uploaded how exactly do you tweak the tune, do you have to remove the ECU each time you want to make a change ??? I was under the impression that OBD tuning was blocked and there was no hack available yet ???
No ignorance here. These are great questions and was a learning curve for all.
We worked with a company to unlock the ECU.

The downside is yes, you do have to mail the ECU to me to tune. I usually can have it mailed back same day. So if overnighted on a Monday, I would receive it on Tuesday. You'd probably have it back by Thursday. This is by no means convenient for you but is the only way to tune them. The reason to send it in is to see exactly what YOUR vehicle is doing, this is not just a pre made tune.

OBD tuning will be a thing of the past. Ecu's are being locked by the manufacture.

The ECU *was* blocked. Was not easy to unlock at first but we have it down.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 05-13-2014, 07:11 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 182
Thanks: 13
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 582
chocco is on a distinguished road
Thankyou Stang,

You have been extremely helpful and forthcoming. I am in Australia and there are alot of myths being floated around at the moment down here.

I am eagerly awaiting the Celtic distributor for Oz coming soon.

What type of data logging does the Celtic like for easy importing if the owner wishes to data log while towing (me) and then have tune tweaked ??

What exactly does the Celtic tune have control over example can you change the fan cut in temp and % power ??

Keep up the good work

Cheers
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 05-13-2014, 08:39 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 556
JEB1 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Question for you, Stang. I had an Audi some years back that I had tuned with great results. But I was concerned with warranty issues so I bought a new ECU, had it tuned, and kept my stock ECU in reserve. Whenever I went to the dealer for warranty work, I put the old ECU back in. Do you by chance know what a new ECU costs, and does the act of pulling the ECU leave a trail of fault codes that sort of defeats the purpose?


Sent from my iPad using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 05-13-2014, 10:37 AM
jaje's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 111
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 274
jaje is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

I had a tune for my WK CRD and used a data logger which came with the tune itself (you downloaded the stock odi and sent it to them and w/in a couple hours during the day it would come back). The nice thing is you could go back to stock tune when needed (such as bringing it in for warranty work).
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New ecodiesel ordered kpow 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 8 01-09-2014 09:16 PM
New ecodiesel owner : ) Somewhereinla 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 3 01-05-2014 11:11 AM
Bargaining for an EcoDiesel mack0092 Diesel Powered 2012+ Export Grand Cherokee 28 11-10-2013 09:42 AM
2014 EcoDiesel Regens Trigger Diesel Powered 2012+ Export Grand Cherokee 0 09-01-2013 05:32 PM
2014 3.0l EcoDiesel Actually Available Yet? mokotoks Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 2 05-01-2013 02:16 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community