Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #73  
Old 05-13-2014, 01:45 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Codyturgeon is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by STANG678 View Post
Tuning boxes are crude and can only go so high before limiters kick in and put you in a limp home mode, they also do not accommodate boost control.

We have not done anything with the Ram diesel yet. It's the same engine, same ECU though.

Is there a difference? There is a HUGE difference. When I picked up the truck I was shocked at how slow it was and in the amount of turbo lag. My shop Sprinter was quicker than the Jeep. After the tune, it feels exactly like what I wanted and expected. It's quick and you definitely feel the increase in torque while towing. I use the Jeep for every purpose it's designed for.

I currently have 3,000 miles. We have tweaked it to be exactly where we want it.

Before you hollow this exhaust you have to have the DEF system turned off in the ECU.

I do not recommend blue spark and the Celtic tune in conjunction.

Feel free to ask any questions.
I put the bluespark on before my still evolving learning curve on the DPF & EGR delete benefits, go figure. Tuning diesels is all new to me. 1400 miles stock and 600 with the bluespark. It helps for now But I now want the full deletes so it will have to go. I'm planning on going your route if you are willing to tune my ecu and give me a little help haha. I have googled its location but haven't found a straight forward answer yet. I looked under the driver side dash and see some parts that could be it but I'm uncertain. Where is it exactly? Is it also referred to as the PCM? Can I just buy a new ecu from somewhere and send that back and forth to you for tuning. If so do you know where at, it's hard to find any info at all on this as they are so new. I need my truck as it's a daily driver so swapping between the ECU's would be best for me. Also I wouldn't be hollowing out my exhaust until this winter when the farm slows down. Sorry for all the noob questions I just can't seem to find any info anywhere
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 05-14-2014, 11:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 745
STANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond reputeSTANG678 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEB1 View Post
Question for you, Stang. I had an Audi some years back that I had tuned with great results. But I was concerned with warranty issues so I bought a new ECU, had it tuned, and kept my stock ECU in reserve. Whenever I went to the dealer for warranty work, I put the old ECU back in. Do you by chance know what a new ECU costs, and does the act of pulling the ECU leave a trail of fault codes that sort of defeats the purpose?







Sent from my iPad using JeepGarage
As for warranty issues, the dealer software, wiTech, is not capable of accessing or extracting tables that were changed for tuning in the ECU. The only way the dealer will know if something has changed is if they're watching engine parameters for a running condition. I brought mine in for service, they claimed that they reprogrammed the engine ecu, air suspension ecu, but really never did because it was still tuned and still lowered. No one mentioned anything.

So, the answer to your question about swapping ECU's. I am answering this based on my current knowledge on this ECU. We would have to purchase a new ecu, approx $600. You send me your ECU, I transfer the file and install the tune. Then transfer this file to the NEW ecu.

** I have to make sure that all tables will be able to be transferred. I will get back to you today or early tomorrow on this. Yes, the act of pulling the ecu does leave a trail. It leaves a "Loss of communication with BCM and low voltage to ECU". When vehicles have dead batteries, these codes also can appear. At our shop, we overlook these majority of the time because its 1 in 1,000 that the ecu has an actual loss of communication. Long story short, I don't think this will cause a red flag.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Codyturgeon View Post
I put the bluespark on before my still evolving learning curve on the DPF & EGR delete benefits, go figure. Tuning diesels is all new to me. 1400 miles stock and 600 with the bluespark. It helps for now But I now want the full deletes so it will have to go. I'm planning on going your route if you are willing to tune my ecu and give me a little help haha. I have googled its location but haven't found a straight forward answer yet. I looked under the driver side dash and see some parts that could be it but I'm uncertain. Where is it exactly? Is it also referred to as the PCM? Can I just buy a new ecu from somewhere and send that back and forth to you for tuning. If so do you know where at, it's hard to find any info at all on this as they are so new. I need my truck as it's a daily driver so swapping between the ECU's would be best for me. Also I wouldn't be hollowing out my exhaust until this winter when the farm slows down. Sorry for all the noob questions I just can't seem to find any info anywhere

Don't be sorry! It's a learning curve. You'll quickly catch on. I will give you as much help as you need and I can offer. We have enough knowledge on this ECU to answer most questions.

ECU Location : Right front of engine compartment. If you open the hood, when looking at engine, it's on the left. Mounted vertically.

Removal - Fairly simple

1. remove 2 ecu connectors from ecu.
2. One 8 mm bolt on the bottom of the ecu, 2 on top.
3. Lift out of vehicle.



Any other questions?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to STANG678 For This Useful Post:
  #75  
Old 05-15-2014, 05:03 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 264
iced98lx is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Can you PM Me some pricing info?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 05-15-2014, 05:42 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 93
Thanks: 38
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 276
JGCDieselPowered is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by iced98lx View Post
Can you PM Me some pricing info?
I'm interested in pricing as well. Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 05-15-2014, 05:53 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 93
Thanks: 38
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 276
JGCDieselPowered is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExcursionDiesel View Post
What restrictions? Mine has been flawless and I'm running the BlueSpark tuner. 0-60 is sub 7 second and fuel economy is excellent. Admittedly, if you are a short haul city only driver, any modern diesel is probably not the best choice. DPF regen requirements are a fact of life with new diesels.
Have you run on a dyno? How much did the tuner cost and does it void warranty?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 05-15-2014, 10:01 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Codyturgeon is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Stang
Thanks for all the help and I will pm you again before I send the ecu sometime probably close to the beginning of next month.
I often have an ongoing battle using my quadra lift suspension due to it always lowering from OFF ROAD 1&2 at set speeds. Is this also controlled by the ecu? Is it possible to have these speed limits removed?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 05-16-2014, 07:52 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 182
Thanks: 13
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 581
chocco is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Stang,

Do you have access to the Fan PID's and if so how is the fan operation setup.

What temp does it cut in ??

When it cuts in is at a %, if it is at a % what % and what are the variables.

Looking at this from a towing perspective and hills in Summer.

I have also asked my tuner I am planning on using and awaiting a response but as I am in Oz you have been so helpful getting me to a stage I can trust a tuner.

Cheers
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 05-21-2014, 01:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 176
bluestar is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Subbed. I'll be watching this closely as I have no intention of leaving this junk on the vehicle when delivered.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 05-23-2014, 07:00 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 182
Thanks: 13
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 581
chocco is on a distinguished road
Celtic advised me today of their tuner in Oz.

will call them in the morning.


Thank you for your email.

*We now have a dealer located in Queensland.*

*He can be contacted via email on dieselpowerunlimited@live.com.au.

*Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

*

Regards

*Luke

Customer Advisor

*
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 05-23-2014, 08:53 AM
SNUKE's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sydney, Aus
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 76
Thanked 289 Times in 235 Posts
Rep Power: 5697
SNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

They don't seem to have a website, but they have a FB page - https://www.facebook.com/pages/Diese...05827339435516
__________________
I'm just want it for the "shorter headlamps".

MY14 GC Limited, 3.0 CRD, Lux II, Granite Crystal, 18" Wheels, Tubular Side Steps.
Could I get my avatar much larger?
Ordered: July 7 2013 Delivered Nov 25th
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 05-24-2014, 10:55 AM
ExcursionDiesel's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: W. TN.
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 11
Thanked 245 Times in 170 Posts
Rep Power: 3106
ExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Posted this in the export tuning thread by mistake....

For anyone wondering, the GC Diesel WILL break the tires lose on dry pavement in Sport mode with a Bluespark tuning box. Turn traction control off, break HARD, floor it, release the break. This thing launches HARD.

With proper ECU tuning instead, I suspect we could get down to a 6.0s 0-60mph.
__________________
----------------------
The founder of JeepGarage.org, Scottina06, has a son Max who is in need of corrective surgery from an infection at birth that left one leg 4 inches short. We need to support our Jeep brothers. His family has started a fund on giveforward.com. If you have ever been helped by someone else, now is a good time to pay it forward. Here is a link to that page. God bless you! http://gfwd.at/1rz33PW
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 05-25-2014, 01:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 205
jcroman73 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Stang,
I don't hear anything about the transmission being programmed. Do the tunes raise line pressure, remove any of the torque management or alter the shift schedule? Without raising line pressure the tranny surely will not last with the higher power levels. I have been tuning diesels for years and engine tuning and tranny tuning go hand in hand and must both be done together for longevity.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New ecodiesel ordered kpow 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 8 01-09-2014 09:16 PM
New ecodiesel owner : ) Somewhereinla 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 3 01-05-2014 11:11 AM
Bargaining for an EcoDiesel mack0092 Diesel Powered 2012+ Export Grand Cherokee 28 11-10-2013 09:42 AM
2014 EcoDiesel Regens Trigger Diesel Powered 2012+ Export Grand Cherokee 0 09-01-2013 05:32 PM
2014 3.0l EcoDiesel Actually Available Yet? mokotoks Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 2 05-01-2013 02:16 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community