Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #85  
Old 05-28-2014, 03:14 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Motoman006 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

How does the egr work, are there blocker plates or does it need removed? Or simply just shut off?

The Dpf I know if can be removed, does the def tank have to be removed or how is it shut off does it have to be unplugged? Or it will keep dumping DEF fluid

Are there any delete pipe for the Dpf or would something have to be dabbed up or flex pipe put in?

Can you tune 2014 dodge ram 3.0
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 06-07-2014, 06:56 AM
DarkKn1ght's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Boonton Township, NJ
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 365
DarkKn1ght has a reputation beyond reputeDarkKn1ght has a reputation beyond reputeDarkKn1ght has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to DarkKn1ght
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by STANG678 View Post
The ecu gets sent to me. I don't need the vehicle.

The turbo lag is almost nonexistent.
What about throttle response? Sometimes it takes a couple seconds before the car responds to me flooring it. Have you run your Jeep at the track? I want to know how it compares to the Hemi. I know you said you think it is almost as fast but I want numbers. lol
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 06-07-2014, 07:55 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 215
Thanks: 8
Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 644
philbytx has a reputation beyond reputephilbytx has a reputation beyond reputephilbytx has a reputation beyond reputephilbytx has a reputation beyond reputephilbytx has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

IMHO, having gone through an engine warranty issue, unless you have spare cash lying around I wouldn't mess with ANYTHING during the warranty period.

However, AFTER the warranty expires is a whole 'nuther thing .

My MkIII Supra Turbo "magically" went to 350RWHP after the manufacturers warranty expired !
__________________
Phil C.
2014 GC Overland 4x4, 3.0CRD, ATG, ORAII ("Smiffy")
2011 Kia Optima EX-L ("MC"
2003 BMW R1150RT "Darth"
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 06-07-2014, 12:28 PM
ExcursionDiesel's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: W. TN.
Posts: 1,826
Thanks: 15
Thanked 277 Times in 191 Posts
Rep Power: 3263
ExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkKn1ght View Post
What about throttle response? Sometimes it takes a couple seconds before the car responds to me flooring it. Have you run your Jeep at the track? I want to know how it compares to the Hemi. I know you said you think it is almost as fast but I want numbers. lol
0-60 mph should be in the 6.6-6.8s range with a tuner. Throttle response will always have lag compared to a gasser. If your diesel is in regen, there is noticeably more lag. A tune reduces lag significantly.....but its a turbo so its always going to take time to spool up. At the track, this isn't an issue. Power braking at the line gives you boost instantly in launch.
__________________
----------------------
The founder of JeepGarage.org, Scottina06, has a son Max who is in need of corrective surgery from an infection at birth that left one leg 4 inches short. We need to support our Jeep brothers. His family has started a fund on giveforward.com. If you have ever been helped by someone else, now is a good time to pay it forward. Here is a link to that page. God bless you! http://gfwd.at/1rz33PW
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ExcursionDiesel For This Useful Post:
  #89  
Old 06-09-2014, 09:38 PM
jaje's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 122
Thanks: 1
Thanked 17 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 323
jaje is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExcursionDiesel View Post
0-60 mph should be in the 6.6-6.8s range with a tuner. Throttle response will always have lag compared to a gasser. If your diesel is in regen, there is noticeably more lag. A tune reduces lag significantly.....but its a turbo so its always going to take time to spool up. At the track, this isn't an issue. Power braking at the line gives you boost instantly in launch.
I'm a two foot driver (gas with right and brake with left). I found I'd get a service electronic throttle code sometimes if I'm on both pedals at the same time (like a go kart). Once I stopped this it went away (it would give me about 5 seconds of no throttle).
__________________
'13 BRZ
#74 Exomotive Exocet NASA ST3 / E0
'14 WK2 EcoDiesel (replaces '07 WK CRD)
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 06-09-2014, 10:21 PM
ExcursionDiesel's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: W. TN.
Posts: 1,826
Thanks: 15
Thanked 277 Times in 191 Posts
Rep Power: 3263
ExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeExcursionDiesel has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaje View Post
I'm a two foot driver (gas with right and brake with left). I found I'd get a service electronic throttle code sometimes if I'm on both pedals at the same time (like a go kart). Once I stopped this it went away (it would give me about 5 seconds of no throttle).
I'm aware that the jeep has anti-tie down logic on the throttle and I've heard others say it'll override if the brake is pressed.... but it doesn't do it on a power brake launch. Maybe at zero speed, it ignores the safety stuff?
__________________
----------------------
The founder of JeepGarage.org, Scottina06, has a son Max who is in need of corrective surgery from an infection at birth that left one leg 4 inches short. We need to support our Jeep brothers. His family has started a fund on giveforward.com. If you have ever been helped by someone else, now is a good time to pay it forward. Here is a link to that page. God bless you! http://gfwd.at/1rz33PW
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 06-10-2014, 07:22 AM
DarkKn1ght's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Boonton Township, NJ
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 365
DarkKn1ght has a reputation beyond reputeDarkKn1ght has a reputation beyond reputeDarkKn1ght has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to DarkKn1ght
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by STANG678 View Post
I apologize for not getting back to you.

You can not ‘live tune’ an EDC17 ECU… this is a myth people seem to think is true but isn’t.

It’s a dyno developed tune but we can adjust to suit any requirements, even more so if we are provided with logs from the engine. The ecu has to be on a bench to connect equipment to it, then I unlock the ecu to be able to copy the software from your vehicles ECU. I then work in conjunction with Celtic.

You would be able to send your ECU back after putting some mileage on it, we can then tweak it further if possible.

No, it has not been on a dyno. I will get it on one soon, just have been extremely busy. I can tell you that I hit the 512 ft lb of torque programmed limiter in my Jeep. We have removed this limiter that will put you into a limp mode, which is something you can't do with Bluespark.
The 8HP70 has a 516 ft-lb torque limit. Are you guys going to look at beefing it up too? Maybe even a 8HP90 swap? It can handle 737 ft-lbs with a diesel and 663 ft-lbs with a gas engine.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 07-13-2014, 11:00 AM
New Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Racerx1989 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

The ZF 8HP70 has a 700 ft/lb rating for diesel application. DarkKn1ght where did you get your info?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 07-13-2014, 11:56 AM
SNUKE's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sydney, Aus
Posts: 3,076
Thanks: 78
Thanked 306 Times in 249 Posts
Rep Power: 5829
SNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Tuning your EcoDiesel

The 8HP70 has a 700 N-m torque rating, that is what the "70" relates to. The 8HP90 is 900 N-m.
It's a German box, they use N-m, not that crazy imperial system.

700 N-m = 516 ft-lb.
900 N-m = 663 ft-lb.

Racerx, google "8HP70 700N-m" and you will see a ton of results.
__________________
I'm just want it for the "shorter headlamps".

MY14 GC Limited, 3.0 CRD, Lux II, Granite Crystal, 18" Wheels, Tubular Side Steps.
Could I get my avatar much larger?
Ordered: July 7 2013 Delivered Nov 25th
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 07-15-2014, 08:19 AM
Jason911's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 250
Thanks: 34
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 1421
Jason911 has a reputation beyond reputeJason911 has a reputation beyond reputeJason911 has a reputation beyond reputeJason911 has a reputation beyond reputeJason911 has a reputation beyond reputeJason911 has a reputation beyond reputeJason911 has a reputation beyond reputeJason911 has a reputation beyond reputeJason911 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNUKE View Post
The 8HP70 has a 700 N-m torque rating, that is what the "70" relates to. The 8HP90 is 900 N-m.
It's a German box, they use N-m, not that crazy imperial system.

700 N-m = 516 ft-lb.
900 N-m = 663 ft-lb.

Racerx, google "8HP70 700N-m" and you will see a ton of results.

What the heck is a N-m? Why can't they use the normal-makes-more-logical-sense-imperial-system?


Sent from NSA Surveillance Van #574
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 07-15-2014, 08:42 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Conway,SC
Posts: 42
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 412
dsent is on a distinguished road
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Hello guys

1 nm (Newton meter) = .7 foot lbs
__________________
Regards
Don

Due to economic hard times the light at the end of the tunnel will be turned off until further notice!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 07-15-2014, 06:48 PM
SNUKE's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sydney, Aus
Posts: 3,076
Thanks: 78
Thanked 306 Times in 249 Posts
Rep Power: 5829
SNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Tuning your EcoDiesel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason911 View Post
What the heck is a N-m? Why can't they use the normal-makes-more-logical-sense-imperial-system?
Your rhetorical question has merit, we should all switch back to imperial.

__________________

__________________
I'm just want it for the "shorter headlamps".

MY14 GC Limited, 3.0 CRD, Lux II, Granite Crystal, 18" Wheels, Tubular Side Steps.
Could I get my avatar much larger?
Ordered: July 7 2013 Delivered Nov 25th
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to SNUKE For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New ecodiesel ordered kpow 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 8 01-09-2014 09:16 PM
New ecodiesel owner : ) Somewhereinla 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 3 01-05-2014 11:11 AM
Bargaining for an EcoDiesel mack0092 Diesel Powered 2012+ Export Grand Cherokee 28 11-10-2013 09:42 AM
2014 EcoDiesel Regens Trigger Diesel Powered 2012+ Export Grand Cherokee 0 09-01-2013 05:32 PM
2014 3.0l EcoDiesel Actually Available Yet? mokotoks Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 2 05-01-2013 02:16 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.