Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Off Road Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 08-11-2012, 10:01 PM
omelet's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,608
Thanks: 3
Thanked 42 Times in 40 Posts
Rep Power: 448574
omelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How to wire off road lights to power the switch only when key is in ignition?

I know you already found the switches, but for the next guy here is a link:

http://www.otrattw.com/proddetail.ph...J66B-ASCN5-17U

There are two grounds because one is for the switch ground and the second is for the illumination ground (LEDs in the switch).
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-13-2012, 06:15 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 458
Thanks: 24
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 325943
mTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How to wire off road lights to power the switch only when key is in ignition?

Where did you ground your switches to?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:39 PM
omelet's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,608
Thanks: 3
Thanked 42 Times in 40 Posts
Rep Power: 448574
omelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond reputeomelet has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How to wire off road lights to power the switch only when key is in ignition?

I used a hole in one of the vertical braces under the steering wheel. The hole is already there, so all you have to do is use a screw.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-15-2012, 12:14 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 458
Thanks: 24
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 325943
mTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond reputemTBrunner83 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How to wire off road lights to power the switch only when key is in ignition?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2005JGC View Post
you can get "add-a-circuit" fuses they plug into the empty fuse location, then you can install a fuse in them for your added circuit. this way your circuit is protected and its a simple plug and play...



If you use one like this you can even use a used fuse position (one of the fuses is for the original circuit, the other is for the jumper wire).
I tried this and it would just not trigger from the ACC. But if Irigged a blade male disconnect it did the trick. I am not sure why the add-a-circuit is not working because I tested the line on other sources and it is getting power.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help replacing Ignition Switch 07GrandCherokee Grand Cherokee - WK 15 05-15-2014 01:55 PM
How do I wire my lights to shut off after the key has been removed? mTBrunner83 Technical Tips/DIY/How-To 8 08-10-2012 03:12 PM
Ignition Wire firefighterk Tech Tips/DIY/How To 0 07-12-2012 02:55 PM
Ignition Switch on 05 WK 5.7 DaGreenMile Troubleshooting/Problems 11 06-01-2012 09:36 AM
ignition switch erleep Grand Cherokee - ZJ 3 10-14-2010 09:16 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.