Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Off Road Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:38 PM
jlewissystem's Avatar
Fo sheezy my neezy
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 1,459
Thanks: 33
Thanked 67 Times in 61 Posts
Rep Power: 1278149
jlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond repute
Tire Pressure Sensor Question

When going to new wheels, I assume you have to move your tire pressure valve sensors to the new wheels for functionality? Can anyone confirm or deny Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2011, 06:04 PM
jeff05wk's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Boiling Springs, SC
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 0
Thanked 61 Times in 56 Posts
Rep Power: 1220871
jeff05wk has a reputation beyond reputejeff05wk has a reputation beyond reputejeff05wk has a reputation beyond reputejeff05wk has a reputation beyond reputejeff05wk has a reputation beyond reputejeff05wk has a reputation beyond reputejeff05wk has a reputation beyond reputejeff05wk has a reputation beyond reputejeff05wk has a reputation beyond reputejeff05wk has a reputation beyond reputejeff05wk has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Tire Pressure Sensor Question

Yes. You can either have your old ones put on your new wheels, or you can purchase another set of TPMS sensors... but they cost about $65 each!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2011, 10:39 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bayside, NY
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1188
2011overland is on a distinguished road
Re: Tire Pressure Sensor Question

New question. My EVIC reads 40 psi in each tire but when I measure with 3 separate manual gauges they contain 36 psi. I read a thread prior that stated that the factory overinflates the tires for transport and the dealer reduces pressure during prep. Is there a calibration function for the TPMS? Are they supposed to be accurate? I have 20" wheels.
Thanx
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2011, 12:13 AM
jdcollins86's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2009 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: fairbanks,alaska
Posts: 288
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1836
jdcollins86 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tire Pressure Sensor Question

im pretty sure you cant calibrate the sensors??? mine have never been spot on..
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
09 GC limited 5.7 hemi QD2, Spidertrax spacers 1.5", OME HD kit, 4" Bwoody CAI,painted headlight housings, 84mm throttle body, de-badged,tinted tails, strait pipe with cats and resonators. 93 powersport tune, 5000k fogs 5000k lows. more to come...
JAKE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2011, 01:45 AM
Milous's Avatar
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nottsure, Wair
Posts: 5,858
Thanks: 31
Thanked 1,578 Times in 708 Posts
Rep Power: 2391541
Milous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tire Pressure Sensor Question

I've had the TPM's on 4 different Jeep vehicles, all have been dead accurate, as measured with a quality digital gauge.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2011, 07:50 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bayside, NY
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1188
2011overland is on a distinguished road
Re: Tire Pressure Sensor Question

I must say that none of the gauges I used were good quality, they were just "part of a package". I think it's time for me to pick up a good gauge.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-14-2011, 01:49 PM
paroxysym's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Baltimore, Md
Posts: 917
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 10113
paroxysym has a reputation beyond reputeparoxysym has a reputation beyond reputeparoxysym has a reputation beyond reputeparoxysym has a reputation beyond reputeparoxysym has a reputation beyond reputeparoxysym has a reputation beyond reputeparoxysym has a reputation beyond reputeparoxysym has a reputation beyond reputeparoxysym has a reputation beyond reputeparoxysym has a reputation beyond reputeparoxysym has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tire Pressure Sensor Question

TPMS can you air down with these in place? or will you get a constant reminder that your tire pressure is too low?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-14-2011, 02:00 PM
jlewissystem's Avatar
Fo sheezy my neezy
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 1,459
Thanks: 33
Thanked 67 Times in 61 Posts
Rep Power: 1278149
jlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond reputejlewissystem has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tire Pressure Sensor Question

Yes, they will provide "live" data. As you fill up/air down, the monitor system will adjust and display, but may need a few seconds to update.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-14-2011, 07:09 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 545
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1879
netcoolery has a reputation beyond reputenetcoolery has a reputation beyond reputenetcoolery has a reputation beyond reputenetcoolery has a reputation beyond reputenetcoolery has a reputation beyond reputenetcoolery has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tire Pressure Sensor Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Milous View Post
I've had the TPM's on 4 different Jeep vehicles, all have been dead accurate, as measured with a quality digital gauge.
Anyone have a recommendation for a quality digital gauge? I've gone through a couple of cheap ones. A good one should have a bleed valve for taking tires down to a set pressure, and should be easy to read in a lighting conditions.
__________________

__________________
2011 Overland Summit
Rugged Brown
Off Road Group II
Michelin LTX A/T2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire pressure sensor wkjeepgirl86 Grand Cherokee - WK 8 02-25-2011 01:56 PM
Tire Pressure Sensor 06HemiLtd Grand Cherokee - WK 8 12-03-2010 02:19 PM
Tire pressure vnbWK2 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 12 11-09-2010 12:25 AM
=== Tire pressure sensor from WK '08 on WK '05 Hac_PTR Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 2 10-13-2010 08:02 PM
Tire Pressure for the winter! 5.7Unlimited Grand Cherokee - WK 13 12-15-2009 02:53 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community