Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-13-2011, 07:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 834
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 7765
dmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond repute
Cleaned TB, code for idle

I installed my Billet tech catch can and cleaned the TB yesterday. I unbolted the TB but did not disonnect the wire. The crud was baked on and took some time to remove with rubbing alcohol, and now it runs great, better than it has in years, but a code came up for high idle. It seems just a litle higher than before. What is the stock setting for idle, and is there a reset procedure or way to adjust ?
__________________

__________________
2006 GC Overland QD II
5.7 Hemi, Modern Muscle 85 mm CNC ported TB, Apexi super voltage stabilizer, Billet Tech. Catch Can, Koni FSD shocks/struts, SRT8 sway bars, Cooper AT3's, Amsoil fluids, Diablosport Intune CMR tuned by Hemifever tuning.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2011, 06:02 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Home of the Mountain Blue Bird
Posts: 935
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Rep Power: 154713
jeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Cleaned TB, code for idle

Try resetting the PCM first....disconnect the battery for ~1 minute and then reconnect. If that doesn't work, there is a passage in the throttle body that is used to regulate idle speed (there is no manual adjustment), via an idle air control motor. Make sure that passage is not obstructed.
__________________

__________________
05 LX/RT & 06 WK/GCO, modded similarly, MDS "ON" Light, Vortex Gens, Debadged, DashHawk, BT Catch Can, SRT CAI W/Add Air Inlet, K&N Filter, Sonnax Trans Press Booster, SC Tuner W/Adv Trans Tuning App, DS Tuner, Cust tube headers w/3 in. catback, Bilsteins, SRT frt/rear bumpers, Eibach SRT Lwr Sprgs & Sways, FRI Sidewinder Cam Adv 2*, 6.1 valvetrain, SLP 25% UD Pulley, BBK 90mm TB, SOS Coils/.060 plug gaps. 20 in. SRT Reps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2011, 09:20 PM
4.whoa's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ks
Posts: 1,728
Thanks: 46
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 1141416
4.whoa has a reputation beyond repute4.whoa has a reputation beyond repute4.whoa has a reputation beyond repute4.whoa has a reputation beyond repute4.whoa has a reputation beyond repute4.whoa has a reputation beyond repute4.whoa has a reputation beyond repute4.whoa has a reputation beyond repute4.whoa has a reputation beyond repute4.whoa has a reputation beyond repute4.whoa has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Cleaned TB, code for idle

Is the O ring ok? If it's leaking it could cause high idle
__________________

Build thread:http://www.jeepgarage.org/f14/whoas-...ead-33075.html
Quote:
You think that's quick................heh...wait till I hit 5th! -Sir Mix-A-Lot
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2011, 02:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 834
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 7765
dmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Cleaned TB, code for idle

I just disassembled, and when i cleaned the TB, also wiped the black gunk off where the o-ring is on the intake, using isopropyl. Looks like the 0-ring may have been affected from the alcohol, so ordered a new one, coming in at the dealer tomorrow, along with a new rubber coupler; the old one has cracks and rubber is crumbling a bit on the inside under where the hose clamps are fitted.

Where is the passage located that controls the idle speed ?
__________________
2006 GC Overland QD II
5.7 Hemi, Modern Muscle 85 mm CNC ported TB, Apexi super voltage stabilizer, Billet Tech. Catch Can, Koni FSD shocks/struts, SRT8 sway bars, Cooper AT3's, Amsoil fluids, Diablosport Intune CMR tuned by Hemifever tuning.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2011, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 834
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 7765
dmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Cleaned TB, code for idle

OK, all is back to normal now with the new gasket, and resetting the PCM. Runs so much better than before, a lot smoother, with much improved tip in throttle response. THanks to all on JG for the advice on cleaning the TB, and installing the CC !
__________________
2006 GC Overland QD II
5.7 Hemi, Modern Muscle 85 mm CNC ported TB, Apexi super voltage stabilizer, Billet Tech. Catch Can, Koni FSD shocks/struts, SRT8 sway bars, Cooper AT3's, Amsoil fluids, Diablosport Intune CMR tuned by Hemifever tuning.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2011, 07:06 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mid-Michigan
Posts: 448
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2036
Walt has a reputation beyond reputeWalt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Cleaned TB, code for idle

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmsfun View Post
... What is the stock setting for idle, and is there a reset procedure or way to adjust ?
Glad it's running better for you.

There is no set idle speed on these HEMI engines. I searched the owner's manual, FSM, and looked for it on the emissions label. Final went to the dealer's service dept.

Idle will be where the PCM decides it should be, based on ambient conditions. Mine tends to run 600-700rpm in Drive. No adjustment capability is provided (at least on the '08's).
__________________
'08 WK Limited, 5.7L HEMI, Quadra-Trac II, Bright Silver Metallic, Class IV Hitch, Michelin LTX M/S tires, Billet Technology oil catch can, Fumoto oil drain valve.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2011, 10:42 AM
05WK's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,304
Thanks: 23
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Rep Power: 14771
05WK has a reputation beyond repute05WK has a reputation beyond repute05WK has a reputation beyond repute05WK has a reputation beyond repute05WK has a reputation beyond repute05WK has a reputation beyond repute05WK has a reputation beyond repute05WK has a reputation beyond repute05WK has a reputation beyond repute05WK has a reputation beyond repute05WK has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Cleaned TB, code for idle

To reset PCM, disconnect the POS battery terminal then turn the key to ON for aprox 15 secs. Then turn key to off and replace the POS battery terminal.
__________________
05 Jeep GC WK, 3.7L, SCT programmer, K&N CAI, FASTMAN ported TB, Flowmaster Super 44 cat-back exhaust (Dumped), HD Bilstien's, 6000K HIDs, 5% Tint ALL the way around, Full Infiniti speaker system with an Alpine HU, TOBY Subwoofer(THE GREATEST), Plasti-diped Rims
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-17-2011, 12:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 834
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 7765
dmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Cleaned TB, code for idle

I disconnected the neg terminal for about 10 minutes, reconnected, and the pcm reset itself, as that fixed the high idle, no code now, and all the display paramaters reset.
__________________
2006 GC Overland QD II
5.7 Hemi, Modern Muscle 85 mm CNC ported TB, Apexi super voltage stabilizer, Billet Tech. Catch Can, Koni FSD shocks/struts, SRT8 sway bars, Cooper AT3's, Amsoil fluids, Diablosport Intune CMR tuned by Hemifever tuning.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-17-2011, 07:09 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mid-Michigan
Posts: 448
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2036
Walt has a reputation beyond reputeWalt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Cleaned TB, code for idle

Quote:
Originally Posted by 05WK View Post
To reset PCM, disconnect the POS battery terminal then turn the key to ON for aprox 15 secs. Then turn key to off and replace the POS battery terminal.
It's much safer (for you) to do the negative terminal, rather than the positive terminal. Generally, there are no sparks with the negative terminal and there are no chances that you will short the positive lead.

Both will work though.
__________________
'08 WK Limited, 5.7L HEMI, Quadra-Trac II, Bright Silver Metallic, Class IV Hitch, Michelin LTX M/S tires, Billet Technology oil catch can, Fumoto oil drain valve.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2011, 08:50 AM
sanitarium16's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1942
sanitarium16 is on a distinguished road
Re: Cleaned TB, code for idle

Make sure you connected the rubber hose that connects to the sensor in the intake. Forgot to do that when i changed plugs on my wife's 3.7 and it threw a code.
__________________

__________________
2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo X, 5.7L HEMI, MYGIG 730 Nav, LED interior/License Plate/Reverse bulbs, Mopar CAI w/Amsoil Synthetic Filter, Gibson 3'' Catback Exhaust, SRT8 Front and Rear Swaybars, BT Black anodized PCV Catch Can, Diablosport Predator Tuned
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Won't idle code P0308 westcoast Troubleshooting/Problems 1 01-30-2011 01:26 PM
Cleaned my reps... White WK Swagga Detailing 23 04-27-2010 10:33 PM
Cleaned the interior today. 1 GRAND Detailing 16 11-14-2009 12:40 PM
Cleaned her up today mzh29 Members Rides 14 11-09-2009 12:38 PM
Have you cleaned your throttle body lately? Joe in PA Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust 27 10-12-2009 11:15 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community