Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-08-2011, 09:15 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1478
ech0sh4y is on a distinguished road
HIDs Cause Poor Radio output??!

I've been messing with this for a week or so and i thought I'd ask you guys. Installed the digital slim ballasts HIDs from a vendor on here and I've noticed that when I flip my lights on my radio get static. Some stations are worse than others but they all seem to be a little fuzzy. At first I had my ground hooked up to the same one as the radio antenna or so I thought. So I switched that. But now I'm thinking it must have something to do with frequencies? I've never had this problem before. Any ideas?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
~ Brian
'08 Jeep WK - Overland - Ya... it's got a hemi!
'96 Bronco 5.8 - Work in progress.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2011, 09:55 AM
White Chocolate's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 8,336
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 0
White Chocolate is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: HIDs Cause Poor Radio output??!

Where exactly do you have your grounds located? And also do you have 1 relay or 2?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2011, 10:09 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1478
ech0sh4y is on a distinguished road
Re: HIDs Cause Poor Radio output??!

I have two relays and they are at factory grounds on the fenders/engine bay.
__________________
~ Brian
'08 Jeep WK - Overland - Ya... it's got a hemi!
'96 Bronco 5.8 - Work in progress.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2011, 10:34 AM
Chaoul1's Avatar
The Original

My Jeep: 2010 6.1L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fairfax, Virginia
Posts: 6,913
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 63379
Chaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: HIDs Cause Poor Radio output??!

Which vendor did you buy them from? Some HID's do this sometimes when you turn them on. Do you sometimes hear a "pop" static from the radio when you turn on your lights?
__________________
-Paul-
2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8

PaulsProfessional Automotive Detailing

PPAD's Custom Headlights

Contact for both DetailingPPADscustomwork@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2011, 10:49 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1478
ech0sh4y is on a distinguished road
Re: HIDs Cause Poor Radio output??!

I believe it was the xenon depot guy. I'll have to check for the pop when i shut them off. It wouldn't be because these are supposedly "digital" ballasts would it?
__________________
~ Brian
'08 Jeep WK - Overland - Ya... it's got a hemi!
'96 Bronco 5.8 - Work in progress.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2011, 11:28 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 431
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 2030
swing4terps is on a distinguished road
Re: HIDs Cause Poor Radio output??!

I have the same problem. 1 relay (yes I know it should be two, I'm working on it) and no relays for the fogs. When I turn on the lows you can hear some static and then when I switch the fogs it gets worse. I figured it was unavoidable.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-08-2011, 12:36 PM
Scottina06's Avatar
JeepGarage Founder
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Berea, Kentucky
Posts: 49,111
Thanks: 859
Thanked 939 Times in 670 Posts
Rep Power: 7717729
Scottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: HIDs Cause Poor Radio output??!

if you have the xenondepot kit....it is not that. They have built in filters and such.
__________________
SCOTT
The HARDER you work...the LUCKIER you are!
2014 REDLINE red Jeep SRT "BLOODIED Edition" 1 of 1
2013 JKU Wrangler 10A-stormtrooper'ed, JW Speaker and more!
Previous JEEP rides-
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT-deep cherry
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo-inferno red



Twitter-The_Jeep_Guy
Instagram-thejeep_guy

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-2011, 01:04 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1478
ech0sh4y is on a distinguished road
Re: HIDs Cause Poor Radio output??!

So... any other ideas? lol i'm confused I never had this problem with HID kits and radios.
__________________
~ Brian
'08 Jeep WK - Overland - Ya... it's got a hemi!
'96 Bronco 5.8 - Work in progress.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2011, 01:19 PM
JonJon's Avatar
Member
Photobucket
My Jeep: 2006 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 739
Thanks: 6
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 171819
JonJon has a reputation beyond reputeJonJon has a reputation beyond reputeJonJon has a reputation beyond reputeJonJon has a reputation beyond reputeJonJon has a reputation beyond reputeJonJon has a reputation beyond reputeJonJon has a reputation beyond reputeJonJon has a reputation beyond reputeJonJon has a reputation beyond reputeJonJon has a reputation beyond reputeJonJon has a reputation beyond repute
Re: HIDs Cause Poor Radio output??!

I actually posted my install of this a few months ago and had the same complaint. When I turn the headlights on, a radio station that is clear becomes static. I know they have the filters in them but could it be the ground? I have my grounds in the same stock location.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-2011, 01:24 PM
Scottina06's Avatar
JeepGarage Founder
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Berea, Kentucky
Posts: 49,111
Thanks: 859
Thanked 939 Times in 670 Posts
Rep Power: 7717729
Scottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: HIDs Cause Poor Radio output??!

could be the grounds. Did you guys add the grounds under the other grounds? In between? on top of the others?
__________________
SCOTT
The HARDER you work...the LUCKIER you are!
2014 REDLINE red Jeep SRT "BLOODIED Edition" 1 of 1
2013 JKU Wrangler 10A-stormtrooper'ed, JW Speaker and more!
Previous JEEP rides-
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT-deep cherry
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo-inferno red



Twitter-The_Jeep_Guy
Instagram-thejeep_guy

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-08-2011, 03:08 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1478
ech0sh4y is on a distinguished road
Re: HIDs Cause Poor Radio output??!

I had them on top of other grounds. Then i made new locations. I don't think it's the ground. Maybe it's the direct connect to the battery some how?
__________________
~ Brian
'08 Jeep WK - Overland - Ya... it's got a hemi!
'96 Bronco 5.8 - Work in progress.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-08-2011, 03:14 PM
SvenskaJeepGuy's Avatar
Let's Roll
My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scranton PA
Posts: 13,091
Thanks: 140
Thanked 163 Times in 153 Posts
Rep Power: 1255364
SvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: HIDs Cause Poor Radio output??!

you should use the factory grounds
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to increase power output on a stock 3.7 V6 Nick.Nevada Grand Cherokee - WK 58 06-29-2014 10:51 PM
Location for Transmission Output/input Sensors t2arrington Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 4 02-12-2011 05:40 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community