Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-18-2010, 10:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1370
johnm524 is on a distinguished road
Question Nav screen does not power on

This just started happening in my '05 5.7 limited. Sometimes it will startup fine, cycle through the jeep logo and go into the normal mode but then after a while the screen goes black. If I have music playing it will continue however none of the menu button will work. Othertimes the screen will not turn on when I start the car up but the radio or whatever will still play. Now I noticed a few hiccups days prior to this happening the system looked like it was rebooting itself. Has anyone experienced anything similar?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2010, 01:08 AM
SvenskaJeepGuy's Avatar
Let's Roll
My Jeep: 2006 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scranton PA
Posts: 13,069
Thanks: 137
Thanked 159 Times in 149 Posts
Rep Power: 1255288
SvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Nav screen does not power on

have you tried removing it and keeping it unplugged for a few minutes?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2010, 05:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1370
johnm524 is on a distinguished road
Re: Nav screen does not power on

No, is it difficult to take the dash bezel apart?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2010, 05:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2000
cain45 is on a distinguished road
Re: Nav screen does not power on

No it is just held in by clips. Just pull straight out toward you and you'll be ok.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2010, 08:03 PM
SvenskaJeepGuy's Avatar
Let's Roll
My Jeep: 2006 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scranton PA
Posts: 13,069
Thanks: 137
Thanked 159 Times in 149 Posts
Rep Power: 1255288
SvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Nav screen does not power on

^yep, just pull it off and then there are 4 phillips head screws to remove and it will pop right out.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-23-2010, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1370
johnm524 is on a distinguished road
Re: Nav screen does not power on

Just tried this out and it did not work. Any other suggestions?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-23-2010, 10:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1435
hemisareslow is on a distinguished road
Re: Nav screen does not power on

I just won an auction on ebay for a nav with a high speed bus.....turns out I need one with a low speed bus.....got it for 255...you can have it for the same if your interested here is a link to the auction http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...K%3AMEWNX%3AIT
__________________
Hers: 2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee...Stock for now...looking for some ideas

His: 2008 Chevy Silverado 3500 Duramax...7" BDS NTBD lift,2" rear block and firestone air bags, Iron Bull Bumper, piaa 550's 4-piaa 510's, 12k pound winch, dick cepek rims with 35's...Edge Race evolution, 4" turbo back exhaust, trans-go JR. shift kit, banks cold air intake
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2010, 08:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1370
johnm524 is on a distinguished road
Re: Nav screen does not power on

Thanks for the offer hemisareslow but I think my car is a low speed. That's a hell of a deal though. I did find someone with a similar problem on another website: http://www.chargerforums.com/forums/...d.php?t=120191
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-24-2010, 09:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1435
hemisareslow is on a distinguished road
Re: Nav screen does not power on

i may have offered too soon.....looking like the auction listed mis spoke....radio came out of an 09 and the part number matches up....so it looks like it will work in my wifes jeep
__________________
Hers: 2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee...Stock for now...looking for some ideas

His: 2008 Chevy Silverado 3500 Duramax...7" BDS NTBD lift,2" rear block and firestone air bags, Iron Bull Bumper, piaa 550's 4-piaa 510's, 12k pound winch, dick cepek rims with 35's...Edge Race evolution, 4" turbo back exhaust, trans-go JR. shift kit, banks cold air intake
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2010, 01:22 PM
SvenskaJeepGuy's Avatar
Let's Roll
My Jeep: 2006 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scranton PA
Posts: 13,069
Thanks: 137
Thanked 159 Times in 149 Posts
Rep Power: 1255288
SvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Nav screen does not power on

that is a steal
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-26-2010, 09:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 843
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 7859
dmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Nav screen does not power on

My Nav went out at about 40k and a new unit was installed under my 100k extended warrantee. I now have 60k and this unit is failing and needs replacement. So glad I opted for the extended warrantee; without it, the price for the Nav head unit is $ 1200 plus 1 hour labor.
__________________
2006 GC Overland QD II
5.7 Hemi, Modern Muscle 85 mm CNC ported TB, Apexi super voltage stabilizer, Billet Tech. Catch Can, Koni FSD shocks/struts, SRT8 sway bars, Cooper AT3's, Amsoil fluids, Diablosport Intune CMR tuned by Hemifever tuning.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-26-2010, 09:35 AM
GR33N D3M0N's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: down south
Posts: 5,466
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 14336
GR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to GR33N D3M0N
1 hour labor?? For something that takes 15 mins max?
__________________

__________________
MOE
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo (sold)
2011 Mazdaspeed3 w/tech package
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoopCooper View Post
Herpes is better than a Prius. Lol.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
I really hope my next car has brembros and a panorama roof
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with power locks/power windows Frango100 Troubleshooting/Problems 8 02-10-2011 08:23 AM
getting rid of nav nag screen gc4x4 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 17 12-04-2010 02:59 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community