Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-16-2011, 11:58 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 5335
chance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond repute
FCM? PCM? Help please.

So, I have had a high beam that does not work and I have checked the bulb to see if that was the issue, it isn't. =\

So I was wondering has anyone ever had this issue and if it is indeed the PCM?

How would I get this fixed?

Thanks guys!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2011, 12:33 AM
2005JGC's Avatar
Senior Member


My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,751
Thanks: 51
Thanked 69 Times in 58 Posts
Rep Power: 1652943
2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute
Not the pcm but I have seen low beams on a pt cruiser not work due to a faulty driver in the front control module.... Its possible.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Gone but not forgotten!

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2011, 01:33 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 5335
chance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pcm?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2005JGC View Post
Not the pcm but I have seen low beams on a pt cruiser not work due to a faulty driver in the front control module.... Its possible.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk
How would one fix this?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2011, 12:20 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 5335
chance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pcm?

Well, I called the dealer and they told me that I basically need to make an appointment to get it checked out.

So that's one hour of labor which is 80 dollars...Would that be worth it?

I mean I just don't want to do it if I can fix the issue on my own.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2011, 12:42 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,417
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542604
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Pcm?

the PART, if its the FCM, is about 300 . so 80 to confirm is prolly worth it. it the thing between the fuse box and the battery so unless it eneds to be programmed, i would NOT let them install unles its less than like 50 bux/

this may not be your exact one but its a good WK part number.

http://factorymoparparts.com/56040662ah.html
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2011, 01:53 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 5335
chance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pcm?

Thank Rob!

Would they be able to tell me my part number when they diagnose it?

Would they be able to tell if it just needs reprogrammed? or will they just tell me I need it replaced?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-18-2011, 03:23 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,417
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542604
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Pcm?

that i cant answer bro....maybe Andrew can????
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-23-2011, 03:30 PM
2005JGC's Avatar
Senior Member


My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,751
Thanks: 51
Thanked 69 Times in 58 Posts
Rep Power: 1652943
2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pcm?

You *should* be able to get the part number by calling a parts department with the last 8 characters in your vin and they can give you the part number.

It likely wont be a reprogram to resolve the issue, sometimes modules freak out and a reset will bring it back to life, but not very often. It will likely need to be replaced.

I havent even looked at a wiring diagram and have to run, ill look today and get back to you with some possibilities.
__________________
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Gone but not forgotten!

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-23-2011, 07:44 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 5335
chance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond reputechance has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pcm?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2005JGC View Post
You *should* be able to get the part number by calling a parts department with the last 8 characters in your vin and they can give you the part number.

It likely wont be a reprogram to resolve the issue, sometimes modules freak out and a reset will bring it back to life, but not very often. It will likely need to be replaced.

I havent even looked at a wiring diagram and have to run, ill look today and get back to you with some possibilities.
Thanks Man, just let me know!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2011, 08:13 PM
2005JGC's Avatar
Senior Member


My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,751
Thanks: 51
Thanked 69 Times in 58 Posts
Rep Power: 1652943
2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pcm?

the high beam drivers are C2 pin 12 and pin 7 in the front control module (white/gray and white and dark green respectively). Pin 12 is for the Right high beam output and pin 7 is for the Left high beam output.

If you verify the wire integrity to the best of your ability (check continuity from the pin at the FCM to the bulb socket, make sure there is not an obvious short to ground or power, then at the fcm turn the high beams on and probe in to the back of the connector while plugged in to see if it puts power out.

If you dont have power and have done what you can to verify circuit integrity (obviously seeing every last inch of the wire is boarderline impossible without massive amounts of time), so the aforementioned checks will give you a very good idea of circuit integrity.

It was a driver just like this that I have seen fail in a pt cruiser.

Know that I have seen the wire harness down by the frame rail rub on things and cause some shorts (below the battery).

If you replace the FCM, I dont think there is anything that needs to be programmed... I cannot remember, not something I comitted to memory as I like to hook the scantool up no matter what I replace and verify all is good. also make sure to plug in the OCM fuse (typically in a plastic cover not engaged in the fcm)... if you start your rig and your airbag light is on insert fuse here
__________________
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Gone but not forgotten!

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-23-2011, 11:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1738
fatfreddy is on a distinguished road
Re: FCM? PCM? Help please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chance View Post
So, I have had a high beam that does not work and I have checked the bulb to see if that was the issue, it isn't. =\

So I was wondering has anyone ever had this issue and if it is indeed the PCM?

How would I get this fixed?

Thanks guys!
Check your hi-beam relays.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-24-2011, 01:39 AM
2005JGC's Avatar
Senior Member


My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,751
Thanks: 51
Thanked 69 Times in 58 Posts
Rep Power: 1652943
2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pcm?

According to service information (wiring diagrams and owners manuals were both consulted), the high beams are not relay controlled. There is a high side driver in the FCM that drives them. Not only does it not show one on the wiring diagram, but consider this last week I had a blower motor intermittantly inop in a wk and looking through my diagrams it clearly showed a relay, furthermore service information AND the owners manual lists a relay for the blower motor in the pdc (space 29 i believe)... THERE IS NO 29! furthermore the issue was in the junction block with the ign run output relay, another relay clearly listed in service information but it is non servicable individually... It was awesome deciphering the miscommunication between the guy that knew what to type and the guy writing the information... All of that to say service information isnt 100% but according to both 06wk service info and 08wk service info there are no relays.
__________________

__________________
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Gone but not forgotten!

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pcm Bleeding Blue Grand Cherokee - WK 0 07-10-2011 05:07 PM
Used PCM Immo Grand Cherokee - WK 1 12-23-2010 06:36 AM
Pcm 4x2 = pcm 4x4 surfrman Grand Cherokee - WK 6 08-04-2010 06:17 PM
How to get the right PCM Victor Grand Cherokee - ZJ 3 01-08-2010 12:51 PM
PCM cover??? B.P.O.D Grand Cherokee - WK 17 09-29-2009 11:43 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community