Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-24-2010, 10:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 134
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2124
wkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond repute
"Perform Service" but no codes?

I've got an '06 Limited with the Hemi and it's recently started showing the message "Perform Service" in the EVIC. I've checked the radio and all maintenance items are set for no notification. I've also checked and there are no DTC codes (3 times ignition trick). WTF? How do I find out what it thinks needs to be performed?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2010, 10:44 AM
Chris's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 3299
Chris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond repute
Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?

Probably an oil change man, skip through your menu to that screen and I bet it shows 0 miles until next oil change. You can then reset it on that screen as well by hitting the reset button and it should go back to 3000 miles or whatever it's set for.
__________________

__________________
Chris - '06 WK - GONE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2010, 10:45 AM
blackpepper's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2009 6.1L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,435
Thanks: 67
Thanked 39 Times in 28 Posts
Rep Power: 13501
blackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond repute
Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?

yep. sometimes when you get your oil changed the techs reset it for you.
__________________
Ryan
2009 SRT8 - loaded, corsa exhaust, afe stage ii intake, diablo intune w/ Johan toona, vreds 275/315, r1 drilled/slotted rotors, stoptech pads, lockpick adapter, billet tech catch can, 180 tstat, eibach springs, bwoody links, stage 6 qa1 shocks, tail light tint, front window tint, stillen hl brows, lloyd mats, powder-coated alcoas, red srt lettering, trim color-matched...

2007 Jeep 5.7 Limited - 120,681 miles, one owner. SOLD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2010, 10:57 AM
JETLIFE's Avatar
This Ain't No Mixtape
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,546
Thanks: 41
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 12349
JETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond repute
Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?

hit the "step" button until you get to the service intervals screen, Then hold "reset" for about 3 seconds. Done.

EDIT: Chris beat me to it.
__________________
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.7L
PEL / Khaki-Black

22" x 9.5" Diablo G-Force Paint Matched Inserts / 17" x 9" Eagle 63 / Toyo Proxes 265/40/22 / BFG M/T 255/75/17 / SRT8 Rear Bumper / SRT8 Grille / SRT8 Black Leather Seats F+R / Magnaflow / 5" Tips / Mopar Lip / Mopar Running Boards / Weathertechs / Commander Shift Knob / K&N / Alpine Type R / Alpine PDX 4.100 / Debadge / Bilsteins / H&R 1.5" Down / Daystar 2" Up / Diablo Predator 93 PCM Tune - Performance TCM Tune / Morimoto Mini H1 Retrofit 6000k
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2010, 09:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 134
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2124
wkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?

I've already gone through all the maintenance items in the radio and set them for no notification. I mentioned this. I neglected to mention that I had already gone through them all and hit reset for them, along with setting them for no notification. Otherwise I wouldn't have asked about it here. It's very odd.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2010, 09:58 AM
JETLIFE's Avatar
This Ain't No Mixtape
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,546
Thanks: 41
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 12349
JETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond reputeJETLIFE has a reputation beyond repute
Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?

No, it has nothing to do with your nav. You have 4 buttons on your dash that control you EVIC settings (C/T, STEP, RESET, MENU) Using the "step" button scroll to the "service" section, then hold down the "reset" button for 3 seconds.

All you can do in the nav menu is adjust the intervals between services. For example, mine is 4800 km. When it's reset it starts counting down. When it hits 0 you get the "perform service" notification.
__________________
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.7L
PEL / Khaki-Black

22" x 9.5" Diablo G-Force Paint Matched Inserts / 17" x 9" Eagle 63 / Toyo Proxes 265/40/22 / BFG M/T 255/75/17 / SRT8 Rear Bumper / SRT8 Grille / SRT8 Black Leather Seats F+R / Magnaflow / 5" Tips / Mopar Lip / Mopar Running Boards / Weathertechs / Commander Shift Knob / K&N / Alpine Type R / Alpine PDX 4.100 / Debadge / Bilsteins / H&R 1.5" Down / Daystar 2" Up / Diablo Predator 93 PCM Tune - Performance TCM Tune / Morimoto Mini H1 Retrofit 6000k
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2010, 11:15 AM
Chris's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 3299
Chris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond repute
Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by .moneen. View Post
No, it has nothing to do with your nav. You have 4 buttons on your dash that control you EVIC settings (C/T, STEP, RESET, MENU) Using the "step" button scroll to the "service" section, then hold down the "reset" button for 3 seconds.

All you can do in the nav menu is adjust the intervals between services. For example, mine is 4800 km. When it's reset it starts counting down. When it hits 0 you get the "perform service" notification.
^^ what he said.
__________________
Chris - '06 WK - GONE
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2010, 03:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 134
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2124
wkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?

So what you're saying is the radio allows setting the values, but then the EVIC stores them separately and ignores any changes to the notification settings?

It would be nice if it'd at least say WHICH service it expects to be performed...

I'll dig through the EVIC menus and try resetting to see if that cures it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-25-2010, 04:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 860
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 7982
dmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond repute
Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?

The radio has nothiung to do with it; you set the service interval on the EVIC, as whomever changed the oil last did.
__________________
2006 GC Overland QD II
5.7 Hemi, Modern Muscle 85 mm CNC ported TB, Apexi super voltage stabilizer, Billet Tech. Catch Can, Koni FSD shocks/struts, SRT8 sway bars, Cooper AT3's, Amsoil fluids, Diablosport Intune CMR tuned by Hemifever tuning.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-25-2010, 08:31 PM
Chris's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 3299
Chris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond repute
Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?

Yes, if your getting a message in the EVIC, then you need to correct / reset it in the EVIC using the buttons for the EVIC! Nothing to do with the radio
__________________
Chris - '06 WK - GONE
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-26-2010, 12:17 PM
blackpepper's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2009 6.1L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,435
Thanks: 67
Thanked 39 Times in 28 Posts
Rep Power: 13501
blackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond reputeblackpepper has a reputation beyond repute
Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?

you have the nav.. the options on the nav are different and will notify you though the nav, not the instrument cluster (evic) where is says perform service.
__________________

__________________
Ryan
2009 SRT8 - loaded, corsa exhaust, afe stage ii intake, diablo intune w/ Johan toona, vreds 275/315, r1 drilled/slotted rotors, stoptech pads, lockpick adapter, billet tech catch can, 180 tstat, eibach springs, bwoody links, stage 6 qa1 shocks, tail light tint, front window tint, stillen hl brows, lloyd mats, powder-coated alcoas, red srt lettering, trim color-matched...

2007 Jeep 5.7 Limited - 120,681 miles, one owner. SOLD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Reverse HID's with ease! All ya need is a "SLIM" ballast HID kit! YoungMedic23 Tech Tips DIY/How To 15 09-10-2011 12:13 AM
"Factory" 20" SRT8 rims Relwarc Visual Modifications 11 08-15-2010 08:43 PM
"U series" check engine codes mjl2610 Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 1 09-18-2009 05:14 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.