Remote Start for 2008 Grand Cherokee. - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-13-2016, 06:19 PM
New Member
My Jeep: 2008 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
KSwitch500 is on a distinguished road
Remote Start for 2008 Grand Cherokee.

Im looking into Remote start for my Jeep, but Ive been told 2 things that im not sure about. Firstly, I already have keyless entry so I was looking into the 2 way remote start only system from Viper(4205V). With that said it leads to the first of my 2 questions. The dealer said on Jeeps with aftermarket remote start the OEM fob will not work while the car is running. Meaning I would have to unlock my jeep manually everytime I wanted in. Im unsure of this because everyone I know with a Viper system does not have this issue. Granted none of them have Jeeps.

The second issue I have is they keep telling me I need a bypass module for the chip in my key. Ive done some research on this and I firmly believe I have the black (nonchipped) key. Picture of my key: http://i.imgur.com/PvtuNRg.jpg If this is the case why would I need a bypass module (that costs an extra $100+) to bypass a nonexistent chip? Also, when I turn the key to the "On" position nowhere on my dash does it show a Key symbol or say "Security"

I admit I am not an expert on remote start or Jeeps, but these two things seem a little upsaley to me. If anyone has experience with this and can help me I would be extremely grateful. Thank you for taking the time to read this!

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-23-2016, 12:19 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2008 3.0L WK
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 46
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1100
ggrassmid is on a distinguished road
Re: Remote Start for 2008 Grand Cherokee.

I also have a 2008, but I currently have the factory remote start on my CRD. I would, however, like to increase the range of the fob to the vehicle for starting/unlocking. There probably isn't a way to do that, but maybe someone will chime in....
__________________
2008 Ltd CRD QD2
GDE Eco, EHM, 2014 Rubis
Turbo Res Delete, 171,000+ miles
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2008, grand cherokee

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland :: 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Czarniutki Member Garage Discussions 0 08-25-2015 04:01 PM
2012 Grand Cherokee - Remote Start issues !! mysst Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 1 01-14-2015 06:51 AM
Remote start - that remote has some RANGE!! racer-xerols 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 9 03-06-2014 08:38 AM
Remote Start Disabled - Start Vehicle to Reset?? bmrsooner10 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 3 01-02-2012 10:11 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.