Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-23-2010, 01:24 PM
1 GRAND's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Elkhorn City, Kentucky
Posts: 748
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2621
1 GRAND has a reputation beyond repute1 GRAND has a reputation beyond repute
Tpms

My right rear wheel is not reading pressure. The tire is aired to correct inflation, and after I drive about a mile or so I get a message that says service tpms. From the way it looks I just need to replace the sensor for the right rear wheel.

My question is... Is it just the valve stem assembly on the wheel itself that I need to replace? I moved the bad sensor wheel to the front and it reads bad on the front too so I am assuming it's the wheel. Can I just pick up one of these from ebay? What is the going cost on these things?
__________________

__________________


2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland Hemi QD II

2006 Jeep Commander 65th Anniversary 3.7 4x4

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.9 Limited 4x4

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited V8 4x4 Lifted
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2010, 01:29 PM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11594
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms

I had the same message come up 2 days ago (same wheel too, lol), but it went away after about 15 minutes.

I'm curious too though.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2010, 04:21 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1641
jonjoek is on a distinguished road
Re: Tpms

Just had the very samem thing happen to me. The vavle cracked due to corrosion caused by the steel/alluminium reacting (stupid design). My local dealer (i am in the UK) told me there is no user replaceable parts in the the individual sensor and the whole thing needs replacing. However each of the sensors are uniquly programed into the cars VIN so you can buy from eBay but the dealer needs to program it in. Over here in the UK it looks like i have no choice but buy from the dealer, not sure if its the same in "free" world??

Jon
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2010, 04:22 PM
White WK Swagga's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2009 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East WishAN*ggaWoods, NY
Posts: 14,384
Thanks: 8
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 16512
White WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms

Will the TPMS from like an 05 WK work on an 09 WK???
__________________
The fallen......

09 WK Limited, 3.7 w/ Nav (MYGIG) W/ ipod, Single Kicker 12" CVX sub-ZX750 amp, 20" chrome SRT reps,front & reat SRT sway bars, V-LED interior & license plate, LED cargo light, Dual LED turn bulbs, painted headlight reflector covers, 5k HID lows, 3.5k/5k fogs, K&N Drop in filter, Shorty antenna, Tinted Tails & 3rd brake light, debadged.....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2010, 05:22 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,406
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542569
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Tpms

^^^^ no. there are like 3-4 different ones for the Model Years.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2010, 05:25 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,406
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542569
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Tpms

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonjoek View Post
Just had the very samem thing happen to me. The vavle cracked due to corrosion caused by the steel/alluminium reacting (stupid design). My local dealer (i am in the UK) told me there is no user replaceable parts in the the individual sensor and the whole thing needs replacing. However each of the sensors are uniquly programed into the cars VIN so you can buy from eBay but the dealer needs to program it in. Over here in the UK it looks like i have no choice but buy from the dealer, not sure if its the same in "free" world??

Jon
maybe we are lucky as you say but . I bought 4 sensors from Red Rocker on here. I put them in my new wheels. Never even got one warning or light on. No DEALER PROGRAMMING NEEDED.


also. while the threaded part that cracked for you is not replaceable, there are 2 seals, one inside, one outside the rim that SHOULD be replaced everytime you install them. and also there is a valve core that can be serviced.

NEVER put metal caps on TPMS.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2010, 05:30 PM
DJ BoNiOmArIo's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 10,324
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 12320
DJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms

Quote:
Originally Posted by robpp View Post
maybe we are lucky as you say but . I bought 4 sensors from Red Rocker on here. I put them in my new wheels. Never even got one warning or light on. No DEALER PROGRAMMING NEEDED.


also. while the threaded part that cracked for you is not replaceable, there are 2 seals, one inside, one outside the rim that SHOULD be replaced everytime you install them. and also there is a valve core that can be serviced.

NEVER put metal caps on TPMS.
why never metal caps ??? I'm curious on that one ...
----------------------

On ur TPMS problem you have to switch out the whole thing and no programming needed except for spare tire ...
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2010, 05:32 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,406
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542569
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Tpms

Quote:
Originally Posted by boniomario View Post
why never metal caps ??? I'm curious on that one ...
----------------------

On ur TPMS problem you have to switch out the whole thing and no programming needed except for spare tire ...

different metals react with each other. from above "steel/alluminium reacting (stupid design) " and the weld themselves together. so you try to remove the cap, and its bonded to the threaded part of the tpms. tpms is SHOT.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2010, 05:36 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,406
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542569
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Tpms

here is the science side of it:

CORROSION: GALVANONIC CORROSION

Definition:
When two different metals are immersed in a corrosive solution, each will develop a corrosion potential. If the corrosion potential of the two metals is significantly different, and they are in direct contact and immersed in an electrolyte, the more noble metal will become the cathode and the more active metal will become the anode. A measurable current may flow between the anode and the cathode. The corrosion rate of the anode will be increased and the cathode decreased. The increased corrosion of the anode is called "galvanic corrosion".


Requirements for Galvanic Corrosion:
In order for galvanic corrosion to occur, three elements are required.

1) Dissimilar metals
2) Metal-to-metal contact
3) Metals in the same conduction solution (usually called an electrolyte)

This can be air/water or moisture no just "solutions".


If any of these elements is missing, galvanic corrosion cannot occur. If, for example, the direct contact between the two metals is prevented (plastic washer, paint film etc.) there cannot be galvanic corrosion.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2010, 06:24 PM
DJ BoNiOmArIo's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 10,324
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 12320
DJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms

Quote:
Originally Posted by robpp View Post
different metals react with each other. from above "steel/alluminium reacting (stupid design) " and the weld themselves together. so you try to remove the cap, and its bonded to the threaded part of the tpms. tpms is SHOT.
thanks for the great info Rob
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-23-2010, 06:44 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,406
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542569
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Tpms

if you feel lucky, you could use something to make the barrier so the science doesnt happen. anti-sieze is a good thing to use. could be a bit messy but if you feel like you MUST have some metal caps..........

its the same reason why I was taught to always use anti-sieze on spark plugs.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-24-2010, 03:11 PM
rvtifer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kosovo
Posts: 593
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2416
rvtifer has a reputation beyond reputervtifer has a reputation beyond reputervtifer has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonjoek View Post
Just had the very samem thing happen to me. The vavle cracked due to corrosion caused by the steel/alluminium reacting (stupid design). My local dealer (i am in the UK) told me there is no user replaceable parts in the the individual sensor and the whole thing needs replacing. However each of the sensors are uniquly programed into the cars VIN so you can buy from eBay but the dealer needs to program it in. Over here in the UK it looks like i have no choice but buy from the dealer, not sure if its the same in "free" world??

Jon
I think you are being taken for a ride. The system is the same as WK's but all WH (2005-2010) work on specific 433Mhz sensor. Part number is 68001698AB and, as all other WK sensors, this one is sold individually and not in complete sets as your stealership story would make you believe.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tpms Motteler621 Troubleshooting/Problems 7 04-06-2010 12:23 AM
Tpms abejjani4265 Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 13 02-10-2010 10:19 PM
Tpms NHWK05 Grand Cherokee - WK 26 12-15-2009 04:58 PM
Tpms 08Hemi Grand Cherokee - WK 3 07-29-2009 07:03 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community