Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-01-2014, 12:47 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2007 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1034
MikeG is on a distinguished road
TPMS Issue

I just replaced my 07 GC tire sensors with local tire shops replcements they read pressures on the EVIC but I get the Service TPMS message I had even had the dealer reprogram the car for a small fee but it came on again. I 'm beginning to think I need the OEM parts for this because everything else checks out and I beleive allot of shops are using the aftermarket Schrader programmable sensors and it may not work with this TPMS system even though they are supposed to. Anybody had any experience with these sensors and this problem?
__________________

__________________
Thanks ,

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2014, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2004 4.0L WJ
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Woodbridge NJ/Staten Island NY
Posts: 6,864
Thanks: 5
Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts
Rep Power: 26413
mrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to mrjaydeeone Send a message via Yahoo to mrjaydeeone
Re: TPMS Issue

I am going through this myself. With my 07, and I replaced with OEM sensors and the shop I used programmed them for me. I still have my left rear showing as --. Do you have -- for any of yours? or are they all good? For me it seems that it might be a trigger module that needs to be inspected/replaced. There are 3, 2 up front and 1 for the right rear. If all of yours are displaying PSI, it's possible you need top get them programmed. I have heard mixed stories. People just having them installed and driving and that's it and others that say they needed to be programmed. Good Luck
__________________

__________________
Silver 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Special Edition I6 4.0
stock 'cept for
Pioneer Primere Deh-P840 headunit XMD-1000 (xm receiver) Audionbahn Bandpass Box with 2 Audiobahn 12" subs powered by Audiobahn Amp|
Escort 8500 X50 radar detector hardwired to auto dim rearview mirror|V3 projector headlights with 6K HIDs in Lows, 3K HIDs in Fogs|black brush guard & black nerf bars|Hyper White LEDs in interior lights, and Rear License Plate|16" JK unlimited wheels

Custom 2001 Mitsubishi Galant pics can be seen here
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2014, 01:58 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2007 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1034
MikeG is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS Issue

Yeah I hear you I went to the tire shop where they did it and reprogrammed it twice hey said there is no code showing so there is nothing to reset so I may have to go back again it's seems to me they really don't know what they are doing. I went to the dealer and they reprogrammed them but I still get the Service Tire System it's always about 10 minutes after I start driving all tires show pressure but the message comes on then goes out after 30 seconds or so.The dearel said they could get into it deeper but it just seems strange how something else would suddenly go wrong just because I changed the sensors.I still think it has something to do with the non aftermarket sensors and I've seem reviews like you said with other people having problems it's not a big deal but I hate dash lights going off for any reason thanks for the response
__________________
Thanks ,

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2014, 12:29 PM
EtherealPonx's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2009 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 322
Thanks: 4
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 1056
EtherealPonx is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: TPMS Issue

Hey MikeG,

I have went through the exact same issue for a very long time. Long story short I bought aftermarket wheels for bigger tires, and got a new set of Dorman TPM sensors with the correct frequency (443MHz) for the '09 WK. Had the same issue, and went crazy with multiple trips to the dealer, reprogramming everything, checking if the spare was causing an issue, the TPMS was displaying the right pressure but every now and then "Ping!" with that useless message. I actually wrote to Dorman and they claim that my aftermarket sensors are not compatible with the export model WK (I live in Dubai, so that would be a WH), despite the frequency being the right one. So bottom line is the sensors I had where not compatible with the controller. Luckily I had my old wheels in storage and got the garage to swap out the aftermarket with the old OEM which came with the truck - viola problem gone. but now I have five spare OEM wheels with sensors that are useless for the application! very hard to sell

Good luck, bite the bullet and get OEM sensors.
__________________
2009 5.7 Overland: Borla CB | BMC CAI | SC 93Oct tune |2" RC | Bilsteins | Stillen | DOT5 | ProComp Rims | 265/65/17 Toyo A/T | JBA UCA | SRT8 Sway Bars | BWoody Links | BT Catch Can | Rock Super Sliders & front/rear skid | Hertz Amps/Speakers/12" Sub | Interior/Exterior LEDs | CAF | p/w | SRT Pedals | Black pillars | Black trim | Black Jeep Emblems | Black Callipers | Stillen Accents | SunGuard Tint | Carbon Fiber Interior trim | Gorilla Lug nuts | Tinted tails | Debadged
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2014, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Home of the Mountain Blue Bird
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 155227
jeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Issue

The aftermarket sensors ARE NOT the problem. OE's will do the same thing. See my response to this in Posts No. 4 and 8 of this thread. Believe me, this will fix the problem.

Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK

The stealer can do this with their StarScan tool, but I seriously doubt that too many of them are knowledgeable enough to figure it out. IMO, they're going to have to start learning about it, since all the TPMS equipped vehicles (2006>) are starting to need new sensors due to end of battery life. They need to read the book a little, like I did. I have also found (after I bought the cloning tool) that my Autel MaxiDAS DS708 diagnostic tool will also allow me to program the WCM with the new TPMS Sensor ID's. By the way, the Dorman cloning tool will work with both 315 and 433 mhz sensors, so it'll work on anything you own (now or in the future) with a TPMS system. If you purchase this device, be sure to get the one that comes with the cloneable sensors you need....i.e. 315 or 433 mhz. Since it comes with sensors, you really end up paying only about $50-75 for the cloning tool. Something to think about, IMO.
__________________
05 LX/RT & 06 WK/GCO, modded similarly, MDS "ON" Light, Vortex Gens, Debadged, DashHawk, BT Catch Can, SRT CAI W/Add Air Inlet, K&N Filter, Sonnax Trans Press Booster, SC Tuner W/Adv Trans Tuning App, DS Tuner, Cust tube headers w/3 in. catback, Bilsteins, SRT frt/rear bumpers, Eibach SRT Lwr Sprgs & Sways, FRI Sidewinder Cam Adv 2*, 6.1 valvetrain, SLP 25% UD Pulley, BBK 90mm TB, SOS Coils/.060 plug gaps. 20 in. SRT Reps.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2014, 01:47 PM
EtherealPonx's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2009 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 322
Thanks: 4
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 1056
EtherealPonx is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: TPMS Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepgcoman View Post
The aftermarket sensors ARE NOT the problem. OE's will do the same thing. See my response to this in Post No. 4 of this thread. Believe me, this will fix the problem.

Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK

The stealer can do this with their StarScan tool, but I seriously doubt that too many of them are knowledgeable enough to figure it out. IMO, they're going to have to start learning about it, since all the TPMS equipped vehicles (2006>) are starting to need new sensors due to end of battery life. They need to read the book a little, like I did. I have also found (after I bought the cloning tool) that my Autel MaxiDAS DS708 diagnostic tool will also allow me to program the WCM with the new TPMS Sensor ID's. By the way, the Dorman cloning tool will work with both 315 and 433 mhz sensors, so it'll work on anything you own (now or in the future) with a TPMS system. If you purchase this device, be sure to get the one that comes with the cloneable sensors you need....i.e. 315 or 433 mhz. Since it comes with sensors, you really end up paying only about $50-75 for the cloning tool. Something to think about, IMO.
Well I do agree the stealers need to learn to use the scan tool (I won't be surprised if the mechanics in the Dubai dealer had no clue). Regardless, I got an email from Dorman stating non of their products are compatible with export models, which I found rather odd as this was not stated on their website and the part numbers which it replaced all match up).

Some countries do have restrictions on RF equipment, so I would not be surprised if export models had different settings other than frequency.

Once the OEM ones I have begin to die out, I will most likely come back to this thread
__________________
2009 5.7 Overland: Borla CB | BMC CAI | SC 93Oct tune |2" RC | Bilsteins | Stillen | DOT5 | ProComp Rims | 265/65/17 Toyo A/T | JBA UCA | SRT8 Sway Bars | BWoody Links | BT Catch Can | Rock Super Sliders & front/rear skid | Hertz Amps/Speakers/12" Sub | Interior/Exterior LEDs | CAF | p/w | SRT Pedals | Black pillars | Black trim | Black Jeep Emblems | Black Callipers | Stillen Accents | SunGuard Tint | Carbon Fiber Interior trim | Gorilla Lug nuts | Tinted tails | Debadged
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2014, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Home of the Mountain Blue Bird
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 155227
jeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond reputejeepgcoman has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Issue

I find it hard to believe too. I can't imagine Chrysler building a completely different TPMS setup for export. I tried to deal with Dorman too, but found that the guy I emailed back and forth wasn't very knowledge on their own products. He was "going to get back to me when he got a little more info.", but I never did hear from him. What is the part number of the Dormans you are using, and what is the part number of the factory ones that work?

FYI, here's the part numbers of the various Dorman programmable/non-programmable TPMS stuff:

Dorman Cloning Kit with 4 programmable 433 mhz sensors---974-533 (08's >)
Dorman Cloning Kit with 4 programmable 315 mhz sensors---974-515 (05-07's)
Dorman programmable 433 mhz TPMS sensor---974-302 (08's >)
Dorman programmable 315 mhz TPMS sensor---974-301 (05-07's)
Dorman non-programmable factory replacement 433 mhz TPMS sensor---974-002 (08's >) Req. WCM change
Dorman non-programmable factory replacement 315 mhz TPMS sensor---974-001 (05-07's) Req WCM change

To use the above components you'll have to FIRST get the factory TPMS Sensor ID No's. read off of each wheel. Any tire shop should be able to do this. If you don't have access to the factory sensor ID No's, you'll have to find someone with a diagnostic tool that will read them off the WCM.
__________________

__________________
05 LX/RT & 06 WK/GCO, modded similarly, MDS "ON" Light, Vortex Gens, Debadged, DashHawk, BT Catch Can, SRT CAI W/Add Air Inlet, K&N Filter, Sonnax Trans Press Booster, SC Tuner W/Adv Trans Tuning App, DS Tuner, Cust tube headers w/3 in. catback, Bilsteins, SRT frt/rear bumpers, Eibach SRT Lwr Sprgs & Sways, FRI Sidewinder Cam Adv 2*, 6.1 valvetrain, SLP 25% UD Pulley, BBK 90mm TB, SOS Coils/.060 plug gaps. 20 in. SRT Reps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS Issue cobrakillerta Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 4 04-15-2013 01:07 AM
TPMS Issue mrjaydeeone Troubleshooting/Problems 6 04-07-2013 10:59 AM
New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors? elp_jc Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 05-20-2012 03:03 AM
TPMS Issue mrjaydeeone Troubleshooting/Problems 23 02-18-2012 07:24 PM
TPMS Sensor Issue? elvisisdead Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 8 11-10-2011 10:00 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.