Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-30-2010, 09:52 PM
jeepgrand23's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1725
jeepgrand23 is a jewel in the rough
Adding a system to stock radio....

Alright so I want to add maybe a 12" sub to my WK. I like keeping the stock look and I have installed my own system plenty of times and kept the stock radio. But I really don't want to mess my 05 up so I want to make sure that everything is done completely right on this one! I have already ran the power wire and the ground wire. I grounded to the bolt on the back seat bracket....It's really the only place that I could find....Now I know that I'm going to have to splice the RCA cables into the back of the radio. I always spliced into the front right and front left speaker wires....My main problem is that I'm not positive which wires are which! I need to know which wire to splice my remote wire into also! Can anybody help with this and possibly post some pictures for me!? It would be greatly appreciated!!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2010, 03:15 PM
Jim Hef's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 1999 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 816
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 2299
Jim Hef is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding a system to stock radio....

Did you check on www.wkjeeps.com to see if anything is there regarding audio upgrades?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2010, 03:21 PM
White WK Swagga's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2009 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East WishAN*ggaWoods, NY
Posts: 14,384
Thanks: 8
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 16536
White WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding a system to stock radio....

Dude I suggest PAC Adapter. It's like $80. but it makes everything plug & play!!! That's what I did.

This is my Build....
http://jeepgarage.org/showthread.php...ghlight=kicker
__________________
The fallen......

09 WK Limited, 3.7 w/ Nav (MYGIG) W/ ipod, Single Kicker 12" CVX sub-ZX750 amp, 20" chrome SRT reps,front & reat SRT sway bars, V-LED interior & license plate, LED cargo light, Dual LED turn bulbs, painted headlight reflector covers, 5k HID lows, 3.5k/5k fogs, K&N Drop in filter, Shorty antenna, Tinted Tails & 3rd brake light, debadged.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:34 PM
jeepgrand23's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1725
jeepgrand23 is a jewel in the rough
Re: Adding a system to stock radio....

Well I spliced my RCA cables into the back of the radio but the wires kept coming loose and it was causing my speakers on one side to crackle really bad. So I took them loose and taped the open wires up really good. I started looking into getting one of the PAC adapters but I think I've just decided to put in a new CD player! I found a nice Kenwood Excelon radio for about $200 and you can't go wrong with a Kenwood!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2010, 05:49 PM
Jim Hef's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 1999 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 816
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 2299
Jim Hef is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Re: Adding a system to stock radio....

The mistake you are making is using a cable routine for low level signal vs the high level signals you are tapping into. RCA into the amp with speaker level signals is just going to distort. Use a line output converter if your amp doesn't have speaker level inputs.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-06-2010, 06:21 PM
jcostri09's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 328
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2147
jcostri09 has a reputation beyond reputejcostri09 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding a system to stock radio....

I know Matt had some "how to's" to follow. The PAC adapter is great, thats what I used, and hid the amp under the cargo cover
__________________

__________________
2006 Jeep SRT8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Navigation System/Radio cfbk001 Grand Cherokee - WK 4 11-07-2010 09:16 AM
is there an aux input on stock 05 6-disk radio? BillaWha? Grand Cherokee - WK 14 07-08-2010 08:06 AM
BA Speakers in stock system jprieur Grand Cherokee - WK 9 06-27-2010 09:51 AM
replace stock springs when adding lift? Hot5Nics Off Road Modifications 6 03-19-2010 04:26 PM
adding satellite radio and ipod/aux to RAQ radio fasteddy001 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 3 02-20-2010 02:43 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community