Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 01-25-2014, 03:17 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 560
Thanks: 46
Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
Rep Power: 4158
1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepgclx View Post

I am going to use a 6 channel audison amp, which has 4 channels + center channel and a sub.


Let me know if you have any ideas or suggestions.
Greetings,

So, the surround sound will be out and will be simulating as best as possible via the time delays and gains of the BIT One. The center might be awkward at first until you find the right balance. I believe with the BIT One cannot adjust the mix between the front left and right channels for the center as in a traditional surround DSP. For sure, I would set the center channel as a band pass and let your front L & R tweeters do most of the hi end work.

If you have not purchased the BIT One already, look at ARC Audio PS-8, it allows you to adjust the mix between the front left and right channels to create a center:

ARC Audio PS8 audiophile digital sound processor*| Arc Audio

Best for now.
__________________

__________________
Laredo X, Trail Rated, QTii, Sele-Terrian, Quadra Lift, Off-Road Adventure Package ii, Nokian Rotiva AT, Tow, AFE CAI, Custom Sound System ( HAT speakers, JLAudio Stealthbox and amp, Pioneer Stage 4 amps and AppRadio, JBL MS-8 & RF 3.sixty.3 ).
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-26-2014, 04:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 583
jeepgclx is on a distinguished road
Garage
Yes , you are right, surround will be out, which I don't really like anyways. If we are talking movie watching then trs surround makes a big difference but not for stereo music imho.

I just looked at dsp you mentioned, looks a prety serious piece of equipment. Will consider it for next time may be since I already have the bit one from my previous car.

I am prety sure bit one does create a legit center channel output. And I will be using a midrange speaker for the center channel so no highs on that. If I were to put a tweeter too for the center it would be a reflected sound from the windshiel which I don't really like for the highs at least.

For the rear tweeters (the ones that are going into pillars instead of surrounds) I won't be using the hertz passive crossovers, I wil let the bit one handle that because they are a little far from the door, where the woofer is. This way I can control the delay for the tweeters separateley.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-26-2014, 07:47 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 560
Thanks: 46
Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
Rep Power: 4158
1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepgclx View Post
Yes , you are right, surround will be out, which I don't really like anyways. If we are talking movie watching then trs surround makes a big difference but not for stereo music imho.

I just looked at dsp you mentioned, looks a prety serious piece of equipment. Will consider it for next time may be since I already have the bit one from my previous car.

I am prety sure bit one does create a legit center channel output. And I will be using a midrange speaker for the center channel so no highs on that. If I were to put a tweeter too for the center it would be a reflected sound from the windshiel which I don't really like for the highs at least.

For the rear tweeters (the ones that are going into pillars instead of surrounds) I won't be using the hertz passive crossovers, I wil let the bit one handle that because they are a little far from the door, where the woofer is. This way I can control the delay for the tweeters separateley.
Greetings,

Great plan.

The only reason I kept a surround in, got used to it with music. In the old days when I was heavy into home and pro audio sales and installs, I began to enjoy the effect. For that reason, I like the Logic 7 for the audio. I still have a traditional 2 channel home stereo that I listen to.

Good luck with everything.

Best for now.
__________________
Laredo X, Trail Rated, QTii, Sele-Terrian, Quadra Lift, Off-Road Adventure Package ii, Nokian Rotiva AT, Tow, AFE CAI, Custom Sound System ( HAT speakers, JLAudio Stealthbox and amp, Pioneer Stage 4 amps and AppRadio, JBL MS-8 & RF 3.sixty.3 ).
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-08-2014, 12:47 PM
Overland4x4's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: brooklyn , new york
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 212
Overland4x4 is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav

can anyone tell me where is da factory amp on a 2013 grand cherokee overland, thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-08-2014, 12:51 PM
LTrainGC's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 2,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 4179
LTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav

Quote:
Originally Posted by Overland4x4 View Post
can anyone tell me where is da factory amp on a 2013 grand cherokee overland, thanks
Driver side of the cargo area, behind the quarter panel.
__________________
2013 WK2 Overland HEMI 4x4
Bright White / New Saddle
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-08-2014, 01:03 PM
Overland4x4's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: brooklyn , new york
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 212
Overland4x4 is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav

so whats da way to get da speaker wire to my line converter, from da factory amp or doors
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-08-2014, 01:20 PM
Overland4x4's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: brooklyn , new york
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 212
Overland4x4 is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav

has anyone used audio control lc7i for a line converter, if u did what u think about it , thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-08-2014, 01:37 PM
LTrainGC's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 2,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 4179
LTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond repute
You have to tap in after the factory amp. I'm using the LC2i and it works great.
__________________
2013 WK2 Overland HEMI 4x4
Bright White / New Saddle
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02-08-2014, 01:57 PM
Overland4x4's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: brooklyn , new york
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 212
Overland4x4 is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav

where did u get da signal from straight from da amp or doors
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-08-2014, 02:01 PM
LTrainGC's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 2,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 4179
LTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav

You can get it from either, but its easier to tap everything right at the amp since all of the connections are right there.
__________________
2013 WK2 Overland HEMI 4x4
Bright White / New Saddle
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-08-2014, 02:20 PM
Overland4x4's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: brooklyn , new york
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 212
Overland4x4 is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav

is it a pain to take out that quarter panel
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-08-2014, 02:24 PM
Overland4x4's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: brooklyn , new york
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 212
Overland4x4 is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav

are the wires from da amp labled front , rear tweeter, bass
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2013 Grand Cherokee - Features & Changes Milous Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 342 12-02-2012 02:50 PM
Adding nav, cam, and sub/amp Beezle Audio/Visual/Navigation 7 05-14-2012 05:31 AM
Adding Factory Amplifier SportRanger06 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 3 12-17-2010 09:03 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community