Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-18-2011, 09:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1769
nick.jeff is on a distinguished road
Aftermarket amp/PAC C2A-CHY3 question

I have a pair of Infinity 6x9 Kappa 3-way laying around that were in my old Eclipse. Because they are sitting around and I feel like the factory premium Boston system leaves a lot to be desired up front, I want to put these in the front doors.

I know the 6x9's in the factory Boston set-up are strictly subwoofers and only receive those frequencies from the factory amp. I want to take advantage of the full range Kappas (which have a crossover) and run them off two of the channels of an Infinity 4-channel amp I also have sitting around.

Currently, I have a MyGig with the lockpick adapter which adds RCA audio outputs off the adapter which I currently have running to my amp for my 2 12's.

From my understanding, the RCA audio output from the lockpick is just a full range signal lead. Is it OK to run this signal to Infinity 4-channel amp and then run the sub amp off the signal output from the Infinity? Or is the PAC C2A-CHY3 a better option (to me it seems like it accomplished the same thing as the lockpick besides that it splits the leads into front and rear...does that matter)?

Then, would I just be able to splice the wires coming off the factory amp and splice a couple feet of speaker wire to those to run the 6x9's (and possibly the dash and rear door speakers) off the Infinity? Any idea what color the wires will be coming off the factory amp for all those speakers? The amp puts out around 150 watts/channel I believe. What are your thoughts on how this will sound quality, staging, and power wise? Could I run all 6 speakers off only the 4 channels of the amp?

Thanks, any help appreciated

**EDIT: Just realized a flaw in my plan...the signal coming off the lockpick is simply that, not a line-level controlled (changing volume on MyGig has no affect on that output signal). So if I used that signal for my 4-channel amp, I would have no control over the volume from the HU. Is there any way around that or a way to make that signal line-level?...other than the PAC adapter. The amp accepts speaker wire input leads..any way I could use the pre-amped leads going into the factory amp for my amp signal inputs?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2011, 11:37 AM
JDM12's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1524
JDM12 has a spectacular aura about
Re: Aftermarket amp/PAC C2A-CHY3 question

Quote:
Could I run all 6 speakers off only the 4 channels of the amp?
Yes make sure your amp is 2 ohm stable, and that all speakers being driven are 4 ohm. Sound quality should not suffer.

And personally I would not run anything through your factory amp if that is your plan. Run new wiring to your aftermarket amp.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2011, 11:41 AM
08Hemi's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 4,296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 330361
08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Aftermarket amp/PAC C2A-CHY3 question

Do you know if it is possible to run a lockpick and a PAC adapter? I have a PAC and want to get the lockpick but IDK if they will work together? Which one would plug into the MyGig?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2011, 11:55 AM
JDM12's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1524
JDM12 has a spectacular aura about
Re: Aftermarket amp/PAC C2A-CHY3 question

Quote:
Do you know if it is possible to run a lockpick and a PAC adapter? I have a PAC and want to get the lockpick but IDK if they will work together? Which one would plug into the MyGig?
I have no experience using both but I'm told they don't like to work together. If I tried it personally I would plug the PAC into the unit then piggyback the lockpick onto the PAC. But I don't have specifics on the different models.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2011, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1769
nick.jeff is on a distinguished road
Re: Aftermarket amp/PAC C2A-CHY3 question

I'm not sure about the PAC/lockpick combo either, like JDM said though, I would hook them up factory harness -> LockPick -> PAC -> MyGig so that the audio output signals going into the PAC come directly from the MyGig before they touch the lockpick, if I understood JDM correctly.

So JDM, do you think I would be able to splice into the audio wires going into or coming out of the factory amp to use as my "high-level input" leads going to my aftermarket amp? I know that it would not be right to have the amp, amplify, an amplified signal, but from my understanding, the high level inputs on my Infinity aftermarket amp are separated into front and rear connector plugs with leads: front right +, front right -, front left +, front left -, rear left +, rear left-, rear right +, rear right - and are used to gain the signal. Here's the excerpt from the amp manual...

"HIGH-LEVEL INPUT CONNECTIONS
The 7521a, 7541a and 5761a amplifiers are equipped with speaker-level inputs that allow you to add an amplifier to head units that do not have RCA line outputs. The speaker outputs for the source unit should be connected to the amplifier using the supplied connector (square four-wire plug). "

So my final idea/hope, would be that I could splice amplified speaker wires coming out of the factory amp, route the ends from the amp into the high level inputs on my infinity aftermarket 4-channel, then run the speaker outputs from the infinity amp and splice back into the other end of the speaker wire leads going to the 6 speakers in the WK.

Thanks again for the help!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2011, 04:33 PM
JDM12's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1524
JDM12 has a spectacular aura about
Re: Aftermarket amp/PAC C2A-CHY3 question

If that is the route you want to take, you can cut the speaker leads before the factory amp, run extra wire the remainder to your new amp then back from the new amp to the old amps output which you would have to splice also. It will be an absolute cluster Fu*k of wiring because you'll also need to locate power switched/constant,ground and such from the factory wiring, and route it to the new amp. This is something I have never done on a GC.

This might help you http://www.modifiedlife.com/2005-jee...iring-diagram/
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-19-2011, 05:40 PM
08Hemi's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 4,296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 330361
08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Aftermarket amp/PAC C2A-CHY3 question

thanks for the info guys...I really want a lockpick with my PAC but like you guys say, who knows if it will work properly...and I do not want a $300 lockpick paper-weight!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-20-2011, 07:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1769
nick.jeff is on a distinguished road
Re: Aftermarket amp/PAC C2A-CHY3 question

Ok JDM, so the signal leads going into the factory amp are just that, signal leads (controlled volume/equalizer by the MyGIG still) but not yet amplified by the amp, in other words there's nothing special about those leads, they're still audio signal broken down by channel and polarity?

I already have remote, power, and ground running back there for my sub amp that I will just distribute to the infinity 4-channel. I know it'll be quite a bit of wiring but it will all be hidden behind panels and under the load floor.

Do you think this will be a huge change in SQ for the better. That was my goal with wanting to implement this amp and Kappa 6x9's into the system? Thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2011, 09:23 PM
JDM12's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1524
JDM12 has a spectacular aura about
Re: Aftermarket amp/PAC C2A-CHY3 question

I've never actually heard the stock boston system, but yes it will most likely be blown away by some properly powered kappas.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-2011, 10:36 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
daveyeha is on a distinguished road
Re: Aftermarket amp/PAC C2A-CHY3 question

Nick:
Did you say that you used the RCA audio out from the Lock Pic and ran them to a amp to run your subs. also what wire did you use for the remote for the amp? Did you have to set up the VES any special way. Thanks Dave
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aftermarket Tires & Rims?? brogan2424 Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 11 05-17-2012 02:44 PM
Matching an aftermarket amp with the Kicker / Mopar speakers from an 05 - 10' GC jpilk99 Audio/Visual/Navigation 5 02-16-2012 04:29 AM
Trinity & Lc-1 Question YKPizzaGuy Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 3 05-02-2010 11:57 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community