Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 03-07-2011, 02:08 PM
remmy's Avatar
Boopity boop sha boop!
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 455
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1980
remmy is on a distinguished road
Re: Amp Mounting HELP!!!

^ Well you did with your belly pan! LOL. But yea, there isnt any room whatsoever. I couldnt even stick my crossovers in there.
__________________

__________________
'05 HEMI WK
Custom Long Tube Headers
Airaid Shorty Intake
Custom Exhaust
Dyno Tuned on mi-grade pump gas:
Baseline: 241whp
Final: 271whp

My Audio Build
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-07-2011, 05:59 PM
draft6969's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2010
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: louisiana
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1564
draft6969 has a reputation beyond reputedraft6969 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Amp Mounting HELP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by remmy View Post
^ Well you did with your belly pan! LOL. But yea, there isnt any room whatsoever. I couldnt even stick my crossovers in there.
well aren't you just the comedian. but it just so happens that i am right!!! well for the first 2" under the seat. then unfortunately it tapers off quickly. so i guess i measured the 2.5" and assumed it went the whole length of the seat. so it seems that once again the jeep engineers have stuck it to us oh yea and i admit it, i was wrong.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-14-2011, 06:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1390
ShawtyKING is on a distinguished road
Re: Amp Mounting HELP!!!

I got a quick question. I have a 05 WK and i wanted to kno how did u guys run your amp power wire from the batt to the inside?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-14-2011, 10:13 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canton Michigan
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1412
2005 WK is on a distinguished road
Re: Amp Mounting HELP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShawtyKING View Post
I got a quick question. I have a 05 WK and i wanted to kno how did u guys run your amp power wire from the batt to the inside?
I had my local car audio store do mine but they ran it through a grommet in the firewall on the drivers side. Its somewhere next to the brake booster but Im not sure exactly which one it is but if you can find any hole that fits the wire you can use it. I've also heard of people drilling through their firewall if you cant find an existing hole. Just make sure you seal it good whether its with a grommet or silicone.

Hope that helps!
__________________
-SAM-
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-16-2011, 11:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1390
ShawtyKING is on a distinguished road
Re: Amp Mounting HELP!!!

Thanks man thats exactly what I needed, but now after wiring all the PAC harnesses i needed and changing out my battery, the MIL is on all the time, the aftermarket radio wont power on, nor will the factory radio work either. But thanks a lot for the help tho. Im back off to searching the forums again for help lol
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-17-2011, 08:30 AM
draft6969's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2010
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: louisiana
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1564
draft6969 has a reputation beyond reputedraft6969 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Amp Mounting HELP!!!

Well when i installed my scosche wire harness, put in my radio and nothing. i checked the fuse box and it blew the fuse in the inside fuse box, so i changed it and still nothing so i looked under the hood and sure enough there was a fuse in there also burnt. i changed it and have never had a problem since.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-17-2011, 01:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1390
ShawtyKING is on a distinguished road
Re: Amp Mounting HELP!!!

Unfortunately all my fuses seem to be fine... i just really hope i dont have to go to a dealer
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-17-2011, 02:25 PM
triggasrt's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 6.1L SRT8
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 118
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1429
triggasrt is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to triggasrt
Re: Amp Mounting HELP!!!

Its always best to disconnect the Neg(-) terminal from your battery and you shouldnt blow any fuses. The reason the fuses blow is because disconnecting and connecting the harnesses from your radio causes short power bursts to and from your electrical system in turn popping the low amp fuses so you dont blow your radio.

As for your problem Shawty I would say disconnect the Neg(-) Batt Terminal and take your radio back out. Disconnect all the harnesses and one by one check the faces of the plastic plug-in connectors and check the little pins they go into. Make sure none of them are bent the wrong way or anything. Then carefully plug each connector back in until you feel it click. It may be a slight click but you should deff feel it. Double check all the connections and the remount your radio securly before putting the Neg(-) Batt cable back on.

Also when checking your fuses i suggest getting a fuse tester. They sell them at your local parts store and most of the time come in a pack with new fuses. Sometimes just by looking at a fuse you cant tell if it is truely bad. With the tester it lights up if your fuse is good.

Hopefully this works for you!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03-17-2011, 08:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1390
ShawtyKING is on a distinguished road
Re: Amp Mounting HELP!!!

I will try what you suggested triggasrt and thanks for the info....BUT NOW MY WK WONT START!!!! The "battery light" was flashing but now it stays on and even the airbag light is on and the EVIC says to check gauges WTF...I feel like Im going to have it towed to a dealer tomorrow if I cant find some answers soon...I just bought the WK and this blows....I shouldve just had someone install the system instead of doing it myself...FML
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-18-2011, 08:12 AM
triggasrt's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 6.1L SRT8
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 118
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1429
triggasrt is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to triggasrt
Re: Amp Mounting HELP!!!

Did you have to splice wires or was it a plug and play type thing? PM me your number and i can help walk you through trouble shooting it. I am really good with electrical systems..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-18-2011, 07:54 PM
brentwoodkris's Avatar
The Ever-Dissatisfied Tinkerer
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 903
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 3523
brentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Amp Mounting HELP!!!

Putting new life in this thread, but I'm about to put in a new system in my WK and I need to know how long of a power wire I will need. i know most kits come with 17ft. Enough to make it to the trunk space when wired cleanly along the driver's side doors?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-20-2011, 01:29 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canton Michigan
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1412
2005 WK is on a distinguished road
Re: Amp Mounting HELP!!!

it should be enough i have mine tucked clean throughout and i still had like a foot extra on mine after i installed the amp. im almost positive mine was 17 feet but you could always get and extra set of hands and stretch your wire out from front to back and see how much you have/need
__________________

__________________
-SAM-
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LED Tail mounting on '07 +? Relwarc Visual Modifications 45 10-20-2011 11:25 AM
backup camera mounting location SvenskaJeepGuy Grand Cherokee - WK 17 05-19-2010 11:52 PM
Backup camera installation and mounting gc4x4 Grand Cherokee - WK 5 05-19-2010 08:19 PM
Hid ballast mounting? RYANSWJ Interior/Exterior/Visual 18 03-13-2010 05:08 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community