Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-19-2009, 05:22 PM
CatMan879's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 377
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 8642
CatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond repute
Audio Help ..... MATT

So i installed my Pioneer 4100 today and absolutely love it but when i went to hook up my amp for my subs and hooked up the remote wire no sound came out of the speakers and the amp did not turn on but i unplug the remote wire and i have sound but again no amp turn on obviously, i already have the remote wire running to the factory amp and tried to splice into it for the sub amp exactly like it is shown in the wiring instructions for the head unit... what should i do??????
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2009, 05:36 PM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11678
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Audio Help ..... MATT

Just to be sure, the amp hookup was as follows;

Power wire: from amp to battery
Ground wire: from amp to ground
Remote wire: from amp to receiver harness (blue wire)
RCA's: from amp to receiver
Speaker wire: from amp to subs


... is this accurate?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2009, 05:44 PM
CatMan879's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 377
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 8642
CatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Audio Help ..... MATT

so would this cause no sound in the speakers when the remote wire is hooked up its like the wire is grounded or shorted does that sound right
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2009, 05:45 PM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11678
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Audio Help ..... MATT

I think the problem is you lose the remote wire for the factory amp (i.e. speakers cut out when removed), so keep that intact as it was before. Just run a new remote wire from the head unit's harness (skinny blue wire) to the amp. That should solve the problem.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2009, 05:48 PM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11678
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Audio Help ..... MATT

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhettoB879 View Post
so would this cause no sound in the speakers when the remote wire is hooked up its like the wire is grounded or shorted does that sound right
For some reason splicing into the remote wire that goes from the head unit to the factory amp caused the factory amp to lose power and obviously cannot send power to the factory speakers. Guessing not enough voltage running through that wire to power the factory amp and aftermarket amp when spliced - though it takes next to nothing to power up an amp via remote signal, so that still has me a bit confused.

Just run a new one from the harness to the amp and , voila, sub woofage!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2009, 05:56 PM
CatMan879's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 377
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 8642
CatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Audio Help ..... MATT

ok i appreciate your help ill tell you how it goes
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2009, 06:03 PM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11678
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Audio Help ..... MATT

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhettoB879 View Post
ok i appreciate your help ill tell you how it goes
Anytime, keep us updated!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-20-2009, 05:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbus,NJ
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2215
saleen032 has a reputation beyond reputesaleen032 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to saleen032
Re: Audio Help ..... MATT

what did you use to splice the wires? if you used wire taps, then maybe they arent making a good connection...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-20-2009, 06:48 PM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11678
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Audio Help ..... MATT

Quote:
Originally Posted by saleen032 View Post
what did you use to splice the wires? if you used wire taps, then maybe they arent making a good connection...
Good call Scott. I would advise to stay away from those cheapy splicers as well. Go to Radioshak and get a terminal block. They are something like $2.88 for a 12-post block. That's what I used to tap into my signal wires - you can see a pic of it in my build log link in my sig. Connection is as solid as it gets.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-20-2009, 07:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbus,NJ
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2215
saleen032 has a reputation beyond reputesaleen032 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to saleen032
Re: Audio Help ..... MATT

If you use name brands like 3M or Thomas and Betts, there arent as many problems..I have found the cheap auto store ones suck big time...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-20-2009, 08:54 PM
05wkguy's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2006 6.1L SRT8
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Regina,Sask,Canada
Posts: 806
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 9334
05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Audio Help ..... MATT

Make sure you are tapping into the AMP REMOTE wire,which is blue and NOT the POWER ANTENNA lead,which is also blue but with a white tracer.
__________________
Borla S catback.Stillens. BT catch can. Hemifever tune.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-20-2009, 10:24 PM
CatMan879's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 377
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 8642
CatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond reputeCatMan879 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Audio Help ..... MATT

i am using these for the connection


and i know i am not tapping into the power antenna lead because the factory amp turns on just fine and sound plays fine i haven't been able to check the wire itself yet since my wife has me running around all day during my vacation so hopefully tm but we'll see
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attn: Audio Brainiac Aka Matt... HELP NHWK05 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 15 08-11-2009 08:43 PM
ATTN: Matt and speaker Guru's HELP NHWK05 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 26 08-06-2009 09:21 AM
AUDIO//QUESTION FOR MATT OR some1 who knows about audiooo pkang21 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 25 07-10-2009 01:35 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community