Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-01-2011, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1346
ChrisL1976 is on a distinguished road
Can you use existing Sirus antenna

I am looking at a Kenwood head unit and want to continue my sirus radio service. Can you use the existing Sirus antenna already installed in the Jeep or will I need to mount a new antenna outside?
__________________

__________________
Chris
2009 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo
4.7L V-8
Quad Drive II
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2011, 10:27 AM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,417
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542605
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Can you use existing Sirus antenna

i was able to reuse the antenna on a pioneer install BUT I HAD to replace the Jeep sirius box with a generic one. I calso had to buy an interfce for the pioneer.

when i changed the sirius box, its under the PS rear area, I was able to unplug and plug my existing sirius antenna into it.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2011, 10:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1346
ChrisL1976 is on a distinguished road
Re: Can you use existing Sirus antenna

Thanks, trying to save myself the work and holes in my keep.
__________________
Chris
2009 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo
4.7L V-8
Quad Drive II
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2011, 09:12 AM
antsjeep's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2008 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 762
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 8707
antsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Can you use existing Sirus antenna

Yes, you can reuse the stock Sirius antenna.

Im pretty sure on all '08-'10 models the Sirius unit is built into the stock radio.

This is direct from wkjeeps.com (pages 20-26 on the PDF for '08 + installs):

2008 82210940AB Gen 2.5, Sirius Satellite Radio Installation Kit: includes antenna, wiring harness and I-sheet. Requires radio with integrated satellite radio (RES, REQ, REN or RER). Installation instructions PDF
$ 154.00
__________________
2008 WK Laredo 4x4
RC 2.5" Lift, Bilstein HD, Monroe LL, 265/70/17 General Grabber AT2, JK Moabs, 1.25" spacers, K&N 57 Series, PW Mod,
DDM 5k Lows, VLED 6K LED Fogs, Stillen Covers, 15% front tint, BA System, Infinity 3.5" dash, JL Audio 250/1 & StealthBox
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antenna Djsal5 Grand Cherokee - WK 5 05-02-2011 02:19 PM
New Antenna! brooke Visual Modifications 8 04-19-2010 11:22 AM
Do I need my antenna? mitchelm Grand Cherokee - WK 23 02-28-2010 12:27 AM
New Antenna Frankie Visual Modifications 34 01-19-2010 09:22 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community