Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 05-18-2010, 09:19 PM
ekaz's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2009 7.0L SRT8
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 561
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 2517
ekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_R View Post
OK, update...you cannot use the speaker + as a signal on/off as it's only 6 vdc...So, without going on the radio side of things (which I don't want to at this point) looks like the only other choice for me is to use the accessory power for now, ugh
Only certain amps will let you do that anyway. I'm sure if you wanted to look, there is a wire out of the radio that only has power when the radio is on. Using the cigarette lighter is fine, there is no harm in the amp being on when the ignition is on.
__________________

__________________
Unlawful Gathering
Click for details!
2012 300 SRT
2011 GC Overland
2009 Modern Blue Pearl (for sale)
Headlights by DC Customs
Powered by PWR
Shifted by SHR
Tooned by Toona
Blinged by Billet Technologies
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-18-2010, 09:42 PM
John_R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1870
John_R is on a distinguished road
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

Yeah, the amp needs to have high level input capability and be designed for it (which is a nice feature I wish I had)...In my case, I need 12 v though My biggest issue with running it on constantly would be in idle conditions, such as during lunch, hanging out or whatnot; hence the desire for a switch

I just wanted to confirm what I read being true and it sounds like it would be in some cases but not in others that use a conventional 12 v source for switching, and naturally I fall into the latter, ha ha.

Thanks, guys, for the input...I appreciate it.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-20-2010, 09:48 AM
John_R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1870
John_R is on a distinguished road
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

Update - I decided to use a relay and a 6V output as the 'switch' to a 12 vdc battery source; forget these other mickey mouse methods I don't think a speaker output is a good way to go with this though, so wondering if any of the other 6v signals to the amp would work? (don't want to pull out the stereo, btw)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-20-2010, 09:59 AM
CPT2010's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 2772
CPT2010 has a reputation beyond reputeCPT2010 has a reputation beyond reputeCPT2010 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

I have an aftermarket battery for my HID's and system, and neon accent lighting. I can have my car off and crank my system with all my lights on for hours with NO problems at all. Only cheap batteries will give you SH*^. I hooked up 2 leads through the cold cig lighter no problems!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-20-2010, 10:10 AM
John_R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1870
John_R is on a distinguished road
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

Not too worried about the battery, as we are lucky we have stout alternators (iirc 160 amp?); more so the amp itself and I just don't want it on all the time and I want to emulate a 'correct' installation (which would use a signal from the radio) best as possible...My other concern is load on the circuit...IIRC, this only needs 0.5A, but need to verify that. Pretty small really, so there shouldn't be any concern about overloading whatever I hook up there. On the flip side, it needs to provide a consistent 'miminum' amperage, also...

I still have not found out how the speaker + lead works, in respect to the watts (or mA)? Guess nobody knows how that works? So, not gonna chance it on this amp...Fixed it already and it's a fine piece of equipment (esp. for being 20 years old) and want to keep it that way
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-20-2010, 10:19 AM
CPT2010's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 2772
CPT2010 has a reputation beyond reputeCPT2010 has a reputation beyond reputeCPT2010 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

WAIT!? your using the stock head unit? just adding an amp?
and it looks like this...http://www.installer.com/cars/2005%20gcherdashs.jpg
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-20-2010, 10:33 AM
John_R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1870
John_R is on a distinguished road
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

Yeah, oem head unit, but not that one...It's the navigation/boston acoustics system (forgot the REx designation)...I am keeping the oem amp for the door and dash speakers and just adding an amp dedicated to a 10" sub.

I like the oem system (for factory and considering my budget) and had this stuff sitting around anyhow, so just wanting to make it work best as possible and do this one time and forget about it! I'd love to have bought the unit that uses factory harnesses and gives you rca's, signal, etc., but the jeep budget is a pipe dream right now

edit - it's the REC:

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-20-2010, 10:38 AM
CPT2010's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 2772
CPT2010 has a reputation beyond reputeCPT2010 has a reputation beyond reputeCPT2010 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

I love that head unit, smart of you keeping it. When i replaced mine.. i could have sworn there is an amp lead wire that runs off of it. CHeck and see, you might have to just splice it and run the two wires together then whoolaa!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:09 AM
John_R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1870
John_R is on a distinguished road
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

Yeah, I do like it...the navigation is a bit crude by today's standards, but I don't really use it anyway. I do like it overall though and that's what it came with, too. If I had unlimited budget, wouldn't mind a nice pioneer or kenwood head unit and somehow tie into the steering wheel controls, if possible.

I think there are some signals coming off the radio connector pinouts and curious what the CAN B BUS + is...it runs to the amplifier and all signals (that have voltage) coming off the harness are 6 vdc, except the constant (2) battery leads (yellow/red, iirc) are 12 v (not switched though)...

I just don't know what the specs are for that CAN B BUS +...it's easy to check if it's switched voltage, but what about the 'power' of that line (i.e. is it constant)...That is where the relay idea came in..If I can grab that 6 v signal (assuming switched on/off from radio) and wire into a relay, which would get it's power from the power distribution center under the hood (there is a 12 v constant male fitting there) and send it to the amp, only when the radio is on This is what I'm looking for...I would also put an inline switch before the relay on the 12 v source though, as I eluded to above...

Was talking to my dad (master electrician) about this last night and he was informing me that it should work like this...So, hoping it will!

I just hope nobody else does what I did and splice a speaker lead they don't need to and that would not work anyway...this is why I normally verify things first, but the time I didn't
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connecting sub box ril0 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 3 02-18-2010 02:30 PM
Amplifier in rear compartment NHWK05 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 32 06-21-2009 02:07 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community