Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-18-2010, 09:53 AM
John_R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1909
John_R is on a distinguished road
Connecting power switch to amplifier

I'm almost done wiring up the amplifier (older Punch 150) to drive my subwoofer, using the factory BA system, but am really wondering about something and how it works:

I read a post here (I think by Matt) where it stated you could get the amplifier "switch" (what you'd normally get from an aftermarket power antenna 'out', for instance) from either the cigarette lighter (ignition on) or from one of the factory amp speaker +

The lighter makes sense but I don't want my amp on all the time (the ignition is on), but I am not sure about the speaker method. Does that provide 12 vdc? Would it cause the amp to go on and off between the sound (from that speaker) being on/off/low, etc.?

Any other sources maybe I'm missing? the two yellow/red on the amp seem to be 12 vdc constant, so that's out...I've already wired a dedicated 12 v from the battery for the main power, but need this one and only want to do this once
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2010, 09:58 AM
stephsman21's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Long Island NY Suffolk County
Posts: 306
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 2219
stephsman21 is just really nice
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

you can go from the cig lighter. check to see if it only has power when the jeep is on, that is what i did!!!
__________________

__________________
:D2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee, Viper 791xv, 3 TV's, 2 12" Alpine Type R Subs,
1000 Watt Kenwood Amp, Step Bars, Led Halo Projector Headlights, 8K HID's HeadLights, and 10k HID FogLights, TailLights,
LED Bulbs in the HeadLights and TailLights, K&N Drop in Intake, Varad White LED UnderBody Kit
RIP 12/15/07
Sold on 6/8/11,2004 Mazda 6 Steel Gray.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2010, 10:03 AM
John_R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1909
John_R is on a distinguished road
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

Thanks...yeah, I am going to do that as a last resort, but with a manual switch (no matter how I hook it up), so if I don't want to run the amp/sub.

However, I'd really rather have something 'automatic' and "part time", so to speak, so that the amp isn't on every time I turn the ignition on/drive...BTW - is that powered in 'acc' position too?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2010, 10:12 AM
ekaz's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2009 7.0L SRT8
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 561
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 2556
ekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

You can use the cigarette lighter still, just put a switch in the wire between the cigarette lighter and the amp. If the amp doesn't see the 12v, it will not turn on.
__________________
Unlawful Gathering
Click for details!
2012 300 SRT
2011 GC Overland
2009 Modern Blue Pearl (for sale)
Headlights by DC Customs
Powered by PWR
Shifted by SHR
Tooned by Toona
Blinged by Billet Technologies
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2010, 10:41 AM
CPT2010's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 2811
CPT2010 has a reputation beyond reputeCPT2010 has a reputation beyond reputeCPT2010 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

exactly what EKAZ said, just make sure the toggle switch is a heavy duty one. You want it to hold the current without frying or melting
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2010, 12:17 PM
John_R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1909
John_R is on a distinguished road
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

True...I was just hoping to provide a more automated method, so I don't have to remember to operate this switch. However, more than likely I'll have to go this way. Guess I better plan on running another wire on back (which thankfully is pretty simple on these)

I guess I don't understand how the speaker method would work anyhow...I mean, does it provide 12 vdc? wouldn't it vary? I guess I'm a little confused on that.

Side note on the main power...I am thinking of putting a 20 amp fuse close to the amp and one close to the battery (30 amp?). That long length kind of makes me nervous and the batt. would serve as a safety in case the wire grounded out somewhere and the amp fuse would help protect the amp itself; if that makes sense.

Can't wait to get this sucker hooked up!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2010, 12:30 PM
ekaz's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2009 7.0L SRT8
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 561
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 2556
ekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

How did you want to automate it? It's either on or off. You can leave the amp to power on everytime the ignition is on and just turn down the bass all the way. I'd like to know how you wanted to automate it as it's more of a I feel like bass today, now I don't. Your amp needs a remote turn on, so a switch in that wire will work. Leave the switch in one position and the amp turns on with the ignition and you're all set. Flip the switch and the amp is off.
As for the speaker deal, it basically "sees" the signal at the speaker and uses that to turn the amp on. It will not cut out during low parts of the music as there is signal as long as the radio is on.
__________________
Unlawful Gathering
Click for details!
2012 300 SRT
2011 GC Overland
2009 Modern Blue Pearl (for sale)
Headlights by DC Customs
Powered by PWR
Shifted by SHR
Tooned by Toona
Blinged by Billet Technologies
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2010, 12:34 PM
08Hemi's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 4,296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 330388
08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

you just need a remote turn-on lead? I have heard of some using the power button on the rear-view mirror for the radar detectors...or you can pigg-back an acc fuse like I did for my radar detector. Come on with the car, turns off with the car...I can't remember which one I used, but here is a pic. Since this power the radar detect. I am not sure if the same piggy-back will work since all you need is a pulse saying "turn me on"...but it probably would work...guys?

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2010, 12:53 PM
John_R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1909
John_R is on a distinguished road
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by ekaz View Post
How did you want to automate it? It's either on or off. You can leave the amp to power on everytime the ignition is on and just turn down the bass all the way. I'd like to know how you wanted to automate it as it's more of a I feel like bass today, now I don't. Your amp needs a remote turn on, so a switch in that wire will work. Leave the switch in one position and the amp turns on with the ignition and you're all set. Flip the switch and the amp is off.
As for the speaker deal, it basically "sees" the signal at the speaker and uses that to turn the amp on. It will not cut out during low parts of the music as there is signal as long as the radio is on.

I guess when I say 'automated', it would operate like an aftermarket system that uses the power antenna lead (from the aftermarket radio if you were using) as the remote switch (or 'automatic' when radio is turned on or off becomes the 'on/off' of the amp). The other switch I am talking about would run inline on this lead and be to bypass the amp/sub (not the factory unit) at times that I don't want to use it; say when I'm sitting in the car at lunch and listening to talk radio...

The speaker thing makes sense but I was starting to get confused if it was a constant 12 vdc signal (that is needed by the amp), being the sound level varies. Perhaps I don't understand how the speaker receives it signals and how it 'knows' what is louder vs. quieter. Meaning, if the voltage doesn't vary, then what does...Watts? I suppose what is confusing me is the amp's requirement of this wattage, if that's the case. Say you had 0.01 watts vs. 26 watts (peak, let's say as an arbitrary #) output to a speaker, is that always 12 volts and would it affect the amp's 'on/off' signal? More specifically, there must be a limit that is needed by the amp? Hope my ? makes sense.

As for that other location, I guess I'm looking for something that is only activated via the radio somehow...I just don't feel comfortable having the amp on all the time everytime the ignition is on...I know I can put a switch on that 'on/off' 12 vdc lead, but again that is something I'd rather avoid (having that as the primary on/off for the amp; as a secondary that's ok, as I explained above), if I can otherwise. However, if the speaker thing doesn't work right (for the watt/voltage, etc. requirement of the amp's on/off). looks like I'll have to go that route. What I like about the speaker thing is that the amp would ONLY be on when the other factory amp/stereo is on...

[Edit - Since I've already piggybacked the right front speaker + with an open buttsplice and I'm gonna run the multimeter there to see how it behaves...If it looks like it's either 0 or 12 vdc, then that'll work, although I'll still run a 'bypass' switch between that output...Just real curious about this whole thing (how that signal varies)...]
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-18-2010, 01:14 PM
08Hemi's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 4,296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 330388
08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

well since I used a PAC adapter I connected the remote turn-on lead from the adapter to the amp...have you thought about using the green (30) fuse under the dash? it is for the stereo amp...would that work?

http://wkjeeps.com/wk_fuses.htm
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-18-2010, 01:22 PM
John_R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1909
John_R is on a distinguished road
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

I would've preferred that adapter myself, so I didn't have to cut into my amp's harness, but Jeep budget sucks and is mostly non-existent I had this Punch 150 for years and finally fixed it (two capacitors inside were bad), as well as a LOC, sub passive crossover, sub and even a noise filter if need be (I have too much crap laying around )

I am assuming that 30 amp fuse serves the two yellow/red wires at the amp? If so, those are constant 12 vdc 'all the time' leads...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-18-2010, 07:57 PM
John_R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1909
John_R is on a distinguished road
Re: Connecting power switch to amplifier

OK, update...you cannot use the speaker + as a signal on/off as it's only 6 vdc...So, without going on the radio side of things (which I don't want to at this point) looks like the only other choice for me is to use the accessory power for now, ugh
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connecting sub box ril0 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 3 02-18-2010 02:30 PM
Amplifier in rear compartment NHWK05 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 32 06-21-2009 02:07 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community