Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-17-2010, 08:10 PM
JRsmoothee's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2009 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MT
Posts: 385
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2142
JRsmoothee is on a distinguished road
factory amp rms?

i got an 09 WK limited with the Boston Acoustics sound system anybody know the rms wattage per channel from the factory amp?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2010, 08:16 PM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 11736
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: factory amp rms?

Probably somewhere around 20w... why?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2010, 08:18 PM
JRsmoothee's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2009 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MT
Posts: 385
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2142
JRsmoothee is on a distinguished road
Re: factory amp rms?

just curious, i was thinkin of upgrading my speakers
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2010, 08:23 PM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 11736
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: factory amp rms?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRsmoothee View Post
just curious, i was thinkin of upgrading my speakers
20w is plenty for any coaxial speakers out there. The value in the amp is the built-in DSP and crossover network. You lose that when you switch to an aftermarket amp (aside from the Mopar/Kicker upgrade). If I was upgrading my speakers to just coaxials, I'd definitely stick with the factory amp.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2010, 09:25 PM
JRsmoothee's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2009 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MT
Posts: 385
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2142
JRsmoothee is on a distinguished road
Re: factory amp rms?

20 watts aint enough for me I'm an audiophile haha, so im no stranger to crossovers and eq's.....im running a fairly nice setup in my other vehicle and feel the jeep kinda lacks a little bit, but i do like the imaging in the jeep everything is balanced very well (which i dont wanna lose), starting over fresh with different equipment is a pain in the @ss to get everything just right and all the eq curves adjusted correctly
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2010, 06:21 AM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 11736
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: factory amp rms?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRsmoothee View Post
20 watts aint enough for me I'm an audiophile haha, so im no stranger to crossovers and eq's.....im running a fairly nice setup in my other vehicle and feel the jeep kinda lacks a little bit, but i do like the imaging in the jeep everything is balanced very well (which i dont wanna lose), starting over fresh with different equipment is a pain in the @ss to get everything just right and all the eq curves adjusted correctly
So I assume you're going to be using active crossovers and full DSP (t/a, level, phase, EQ,)..?

What ya got in mind?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2010, 06:39 PM
DJ4rmTX's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1869
DJ4rmTX is on a distinguished road
Re: factory amp rms?

The info I have on the amp, at least my kicker system is 46w x6.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-18-2010, 07:08 PM
JRsmoothee's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2009 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MT
Posts: 385
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2142
JRsmoothee is on a distinguished road
Re: factory amp rms?

is that rms?? because max and rms are totally different (max is just a marketing gimmick and not real output)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-18-2010, 08:23 PM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 11736
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: factory amp rms?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRsmoothee View Post
is that rms?? because max and rms are totally different (max is just a marketing gimmick and not real output)
If you're under the impression that if you use an amplifier that outputs 50 watts RMS per channel that you will actually be getting 50 watts per channel when you play music, you are mistaken. (hint: music is dynamic)

Do you know the difference between 500 watts and 1000 watts to your ears? ... It's exactly 3 decibels. Yes, only 3 decibels.

What if I told you that a speaker with 50 watts of RMS power could be louder than a speaker with 100 watts of RMS power.

Don't obsess over RMS power.




__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-18-2010, 09:32 PM
JRsmoothee's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2009 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MT
Posts: 385
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2142
JRsmoothee is on a distinguished road
Re: factory amp rms?

you are just all over me on this subject arent ya........ rms is important, the people that dont understand this wonder why they are always burning up voice coils.....example----my sub says it can handle 1000 watts max, alright so i will get an amp that puts out 1000 watts max and they crank up the gain and bass boost on the amp to get the output they desire and fry their sub.....when in reality lets say their sub handles 600 rms (claims 1000 max) find an amp that puts out more than 600 rms so the gain can be set low and bass boost completely off so there is no clipping and get the desired "clean output"......this is a discussion that could go on forever im not new to any of this so quit trying to make me look stupid

and to anyone needing more info on anything car audio i sugggest you visit caraudio.com (forum) i've been a member for quite some time and there is alot of info here
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-19-2010, 07:42 AM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 11736
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: factory amp rms?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRsmoothee View Post
you are just all over me on this subject arent ya........ rms is important, the people that dont understand this wonder why they are always burning up voice coils.....example----my sub says it can handle 1000 watts max, alright so i will get an amp that puts out 1000 watts max and they crank up the gain and bass boost on the amp to get the output they desire and fry their sub.....when in reality lets say their sub handles 600 rms (claims 1000 max) find an amp that puts out more than 600 rms so the gain can be set low and bass boost completely off so there is no clipping and get the desired "clean output"......this is a discussion that could go on forever im not new to any of this so quit trying to make me look stupid
I wasn't trying to make you look stupid (you were doing that all on your own ). I could put a 10,000 watt RMS amp on a speaker that is rated for 50 watts RMS (hint: it's all about gain control).

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRsmoothee View Post
and to anyone needing more info on anything car audio i sugggest you visit caraudio.com (forum) i've been a member for quite some time and there is alot of info here
I lol'd. ca.com is a bunch of 16 year-old wannabe bassheads randomly regurgitating incorrect information they read somewhere (likely on that forum).

Try a real car audio forum; www.diymobileaudio.com

And I'd suggest; www.bcae1.com

__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How-To: Add a Sub/Amp to your Factory Stereo Matt Tech Tips DIY/How To 39 07-17-2012 10:18 AM
Factory DVD stratssrt8 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 1 03-04-2010 01:44 PM
WK - Factory Alarm Disable Matt Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 17 12-14-2009 11:13 PM
How remove factory Antenna Jeep06 Grand Cherokee - WK 2 11-13-2009 02:28 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.