Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-22-2010, 07:18 PM
Chris's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 3266
Chris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond repute
Getting Power through firewall? HELP!

So yeah my amp kit should be here today, and while I was out installing my new 3.5's in the dash I was poking around to see where I can run my amp kit's power wire through the firewall, and I can't see anywhere that's open!

I know Matt got lucky and had a empty grommet or something where he ran his through, but i have something in that spot. You guys that have systems, installed yourself or by a shop.. where did you / they run your power wire through at?

Can I drill a hole myself and throw a grommet there to avoid cutting into the wire, and then silicone to water proof the hole?

If you have a photo or can take one of where your power wire is going through please post it for reference!
__________________

__________________
Chris - '06 WK - GONE
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2010, 07:43 PM
Motteler621's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,005
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2800
Motteler621 is on a distinguished road
Re: Getting Power through firewall? HELP!

im not sure where it is exactly cause I dont have a wk. Just look inside the engine bay at the firewall. You should see some wires coming through a hole from the inside. Cut a little hole in the rubber sleeve and stick your powerwire through it into the inside of the jeep.
__________________

__________________
-Aaron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2010, 07:47 PM
Chris's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 3266
Chris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Getting Power through firewall? HELP!

Well yeah I saw a harness with all the wires, but it's hard to get to and I don't want to risk cutting or nicking one of those wires, lol..
__________________
Chris - '06 WK - GONE
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2010, 07:50 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,418
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542636
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Getting Power through firewall? HELP!

remove the black piece under the steering column. 2 screws
then remove the piece by the hood handle. pops out.
then from the inside get some stiff wire attach what needs to go under the hood. jab it thru the grommet that the hood release cable goes thru.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2010, 07:52 PM
Chris's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 3266
Chris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Getting Power through firewall? HELP!

Cool thanks Rob I will check that out if there's still enough daylight left!
__________________
Chris - '06 WK - GONE
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2010, 10:38 AM
B.P.O.D's Avatar
RockNrolla/JG Founder

My Jeep: 2008 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bergen County, NJ / Bushkill, PA
Posts: 14,644
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 16699
B.P.O.D has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to B.P.O.D
Re: Getting Power through firewall? HELP!

check out what rob said Chris! i did the same thing on sat! worked like a charm!
__________________
Irfan "Showing off is the fool's idea of glory."
can you beat me in a fight??? http://dreamps.mybrute.com
member of Black, Tri-State, 6 cylinder club 08 Brilliant Black Laredo (JG 3.7L Squad)- k+n 63-1545,magnaflow 10436,mygig(ren), HID's 6k lows, 6k+3k fogs,dual turn leds,led brows,v-led interior leds, cargo led strip, reverse hids, 92 led brake lights, tinted tails,custom powder coated mesh grill, srt sways, 15% tinted windows,illuminated visors,shorty antenna, HH Class III, cargo liner, thule snowboard rack,kayak rack, bike rack

Future mods - color matched side mirrors, black srt reps

My 1-step correction writeup

How To - LED BROW

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2010, 07:07 PM
Chris's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 3266
Chris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Getting Power through firewall? HELP!

Aight thanks Irf, I didn't get a chance to check it last night but will tonight.

Just found out my sub won't be here till Friday so I got the rest of the week to get the amp and wires installed
__________________
Chris - '06 WK - GONE
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2010, 07:35 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,418
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542636
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Getting Power through firewall? HELP!

hey chris.

since you are in the drivers door area for that grommet, if you need a good ground, there are 2 bolts easily found. on the side of the dashboard the sits againstt the door when its closed. the front of that pops open and it then kind of hinges open. look straight towards the front of the jeep, and there are 2 bolts. those are good grounds. that wherre the kicker sub tells you to install the ground.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2010, 07:49 PM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11649
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Getting Power through firewall? HELP!

Hmm. With the amp at the rear of the vehicle, I wonder why they want you to ground all the way up there.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2010, 08:09 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,418
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542636
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Getting Power through firewall? HELP!

they give you this big cable matt. it plugs in the sub box. then they suggest all the wiring up front. i tapped into 2 wires for the sub input from the front door speaker. that is done in the kick plate. then the ground is there and you run one wire thru to the fuse box. you connect to the power lug in the front most fuse box.

where else is a good accesible ground???? in the back i know you might be able to drilll and such.....but I dont recall seeing any bolts. but what do i know
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-23-2010, 09:34 PM
Chris's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 3266
Chris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Getting Power through firewall? HELP!

That was going to be another question I am sure! When I have the back floor area pulled up to run the wires I will check as well.

So Matt, where is a good ground back there w/o drilling a hole? lol I am going to be installing my amp under the cargo tray as well..
__________________
Chris - '06 WK - GONE
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-23-2010, 11:36 PM
Motteler621's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,005
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2800
Motteler621 is on a distinguished road
Re: Getting Power through firewall? HELP!

Not sure if its applicable here but a good spot to ground is the bolt that holds the seatbelts in on the back seats, any of those are going straight into the chasis for safety reasons.
__________________

__________________
-Aaron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WJ I6 Power Increase ubiquitousmatt Performance Modifications 15 03-22-2010 11:34 PM
3.7? Need more power? FRP TB! WSP Jeep Performance Modifications 5 03-02-2010 11:42 AM
How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK??? White WK Swagga Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 32 11-05-2009 10:45 PM
4.7L Power tech mjl2610 Grand Cherokee - WK 3 06-11-2009 05:34 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community