Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-18-2009, 05:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2035
A-Mart is on a distinguished road
Lets get it bumpin

Alright so I have the polk components in the doors...they sound great, but now i want some pound. i don't want it to be ridiculously loud, but i want some bass. I've decided on a 12" Alpine Type-R in 2 ohms. It's rated for 500 rms and 1500 peak, but i heard that it can handle much more than 500 rms. how big of an amp should i buy? also, what size box?

I'd like to keep my stock HU, so if anyone can point me in the right direction to an install that keeps the stock HU, that'd be greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2009, 07:39 PM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11626
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Lets get it bumpin

3 ways to connect an amp to the factory radio:

1: Purchase a wire harness that costs ~ 100 bucks (install is easy)
2: Purchase a LOC that costs ~ 20 bucks (install requires splicing)
2: (If applicable) use high-level inputs (install requires splicing)

The Type-R can handle a decent amount of power. Power handling goes up if it is sealed and the contrary occurs if you go ported. Ported is a more efficient means on housing a sub woofer. If memory serves me correctly, the Type-R is happy in a 1.5 ft^3 tuned to 32hz ported enclosure or a 1 ft^3 sealed enclosure (search around or check out the manual to be sure). As far as an amp, get the most power you can afford. The lower you can keep the gain, the better. Try and find an amp that will do 500-1000 watts RMS at 2 ohms.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2009, 11:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2035
A-Mart is on a distinguished road
Re: Lets get it bumpin

IIRC, a LOC stands for line out converter, correct? how hard is it to **** up the wire splicing?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-19-2009, 06:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2035
A-Mart is on a distinguished road
Re: Lets get it bumpin

Also, let's say I buy the CHYAA06 (http://peripheralelectronics.com/per...structions.pdf) and I connect it correctly. Will the factory amp still power my speakers? I'm pretty sure I have a factory amp, but I'm not positive.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2009, 06:59 AM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11626
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Lets get it bumpin

Quote:
Originally Posted by A-Mart View Post
IIRC, a LOC stands for line out converter, correct? how hard is it to **** up the wire splicing?
Yes, LOC = line out converter.

You won't fawk it up, it's not that hard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by A-Mart View Post
Also, let's say I buy the CHYAA06 (http://peripheralelectronics.com/per...structions.pdf) and I connect it correctly. Will the factory amp still power my speakers? I'm pretty sure I have a factory amp, but I'm not positive.
Yes, your factory system will work as normal.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-20-2009, 02:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2035
A-Mart is on a distinguished road
Re: Lets get it bumpin

Alrighty, thanks for the help
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2009, 06:02 PM
NHWK05's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hooksett, NH
Posts: 5,111
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 94596
NHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Lets get it bumpin

I got my LOC for $20 and took 10 mins to install once i ran all my wires. Worked great with my 750 watt kicker amp and 12" kicker cvr sub.
__________________
-Kyle '05 Dark Khaki (PJT) WK Limited 4.7L V8, '08 Overland Front End, Custom Exhaust, 245/70/17 GY Silent Armors, Bilstein 4600s, K40 Calibre DL Radar Detector/Laser Diffuser, CB.
Wife's Jeep: '06 Jeep Liberty KJ 4x4 2.8L CRD Diesel
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-21-2009, 07:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2035
A-Mart is on a distinguished road
Re: Lets get it bumpin

Okay, so from what I understand, if my car had an amp, I'd have the premier audio system, which i don't. I would also be able to see the amp through the vent holes in the cargo area, correct? So If I DONT have an amp, I should be able to use this much cheaper harness (http://www.autosoundcentral.com/PAC_...p/aoemchr2.htm) right?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-21-2009, 07:45 PM
NHWK05's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hooksett, NH
Posts: 5,111
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 94596
NHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Lets get it bumpin

That looks like it plugs between the stock unit and the wiring on the jeep so that should work 100% perfect for you if you do not have factory amp.

I have the factory amp and the boston acoustic speakers and i had to get a similar adapter but it was spliced in to the factory speaker wires. The one you have there looks like a nice solid setup for a bit of bump in the trunk.
__________________
-Kyle '05 Dark Khaki (PJT) WK Limited 4.7L V8, '08 Overland Front End, Custom Exhaust, 245/70/17 GY Silent Armors, Bilstein 4600s, K40 Calibre DL Radar Detector/Laser Diffuser, CB.
Wife's Jeep: '06 Jeep Liberty KJ 4x4 2.8L CRD Diesel
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-21-2009, 08:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2035
A-Mart is on a distinguished road
Re: Lets get it bumpin

i see. If I don't have the boston or kicker system, I don't have an amp, right?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-21-2009, 08:16 PM
NHWK05's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hooksett, NH
Posts: 5,111
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 94596
NHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond reputeNHWK05 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Lets get it bumpin

Most likely no, Like you said, look in the back for the amp, or go to the dealership with your vin number and ask for a build sheet with the details of your jeep. If you have no amp then your good to go.
__________________
-Kyle '05 Dark Khaki (PJT) WK Limited 4.7L V8, '08 Overland Front End, Custom Exhaust, 245/70/17 GY Silent Armors, Bilstein 4600s, K40 Calibre DL Radar Detector/Laser Diffuser, CB.
Wife's Jeep: '06 Jeep Liberty KJ 4x4 2.8L CRD Diesel
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-21-2009, 09:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2035
A-Mart is on a distinguished road
Re: Lets get it bumpin

Well there's definitely nothing behind the vents, so I'm pretty sure I don't have an amp. That's god news. Saves me 80 bucks haha.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lets talk flowmaster Relwarc Performance Modifications 39 04-18-2014 03:03 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community