Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 08-30-2010, 06:04 PM
06RC22's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 375536
06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: NEED some VIPER help!

My system was one of the ones that was recalled. They couldnt get it to work as the modules wouldnt work with Chrysler products.... what they told me at least... They finally got a fixed unit and it worked perfectly. The only issue I had with their install was they forgot to put in a Hood Pin for the remote start. They kept insisting that our jeeps used a factory hood pin... which they dont. Other than that, knock on wood, I havent had any problems with it. I did have the batteries on the fob go dead rather quickly but I just put a spare set in the glove box for next time.

I agree with 05WKguy, I would go have somebody double check the entire install.
__________________

__________________
-Randall-
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
:thumbsup:
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-01-2010, 12:57 PM
Frankie's Avatar

My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 11,252
Thanks: 8
Thanked 26 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 17182
Frankie has a reputation beyond reputeFrankie has a reputation beyond reputeFrankie has a reputation beyond reputeFrankie has a reputation beyond reputeFrankie has a reputation beyond reputeFrankie has a reputation beyond reputeFrankie has a reputation beyond reputeFrankie has a reputation beyond reputeFrankie has a reputation beyond reputeFrankie has a reputation beyond reputeFrankie has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Frankie Send a message via Yahoo to Frankie
Re: NEED some VIPER help!

Recently Ive been experiencing the same probs...Some times it works fine and some times it doesnt work at all!

However, The factory fob works all the time!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-01-2010, 05:18 PM
soontobesrt's Avatar
I drive a modern day Woody
My Jeep: 2005 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Philadelphia,PA ----> Trenton, NJ
Posts: 1,602
Thanks: 31
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Rep Power: 3426
soontobesrt has a reputation beyond reputesoontobesrt has a reputation beyond reputesoontobesrt has a reputation beyond reputesoontobesrt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: NEED some VIPER help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjaydeeone View Post
I will shoot my friend a message and see what he says. I see you are located in NJ also, my friend works in Toms River, I dunno where that is in relation to you. I have had him do work for me before, and he does a great job.
Im from the Trenton area, right now Im down shore near Toms River though actually so maybe I could swing by his place soon. This Friday is great for me as im leaving the shore to head back to central jersey so if hes available I could meet him, would he be willing to look at it or diagnose it free of charge possibly? Or shoot me his phone # and ill explain my deal? Maybe we could talk about redoing it and get a quote, I can travel if I know it will be done RIGHT lol Is he a certified installer or just is good with wiring and alarms etc? FTR - I live in Philly most of year so not crazy far haha

Quote:
Originally Posted by 05wkguy View Post
I sell the Viper systems, but unfortunately I'm quite a distance away so all i can offer you is advice, lol.

Viper did have software issues with the first few batches of 5901's produced but they were all recalled and supposedly have been fixed. This was about 18 months ago. It's possible though that you got a system that was overlooked or simply not sent back. I say this because it sounds like the place that sold it to you may not have been "on the ball",lol. That would explain the issue with it not communicating with the vehicle periodically.

The other problems sound like they stem from bad installation. They must have used a "universal transponder bypass box" which places one of your keys inside and re-transmits the transponder code from it, to the ignition barrel via a wire and loop. The placement of the loop is critical for reliable starting of the vehicle, and clearly that's not happening. The dash light issue is probably due to a bad connection from the starter to the data wire that controls alot of the vehicle functions. If there's any problems with resistance or voltage fluctuation on it, you'll experience issues exactly like what you describe.

If you go to another shop i'd recommend you just have them redo the entire installation. Also there are a few companies that make interface modules that will work great with the canbus system, we use IDATALINK almost exclusively. It uses data communication directly to the computer to do the transponder bypass. You'll get your spare key back and better, more reliable functionality of the system.

Good luck
Ahh great post very insightful, would you be able to pm me a phone # I could ever reach you at? Im interested in having it redone if a few things I try do not work succesffuly. You seem to know your stuff so Id always love to have you as a resource, if only I knew or could have spoke with someone the first go around I woulkdnt have had this half-ass install. Seems they did use this universal thing in which case I dont like. Id prefer one that is known or reputable and works w/ the canbus plus I could retain my spare god forbid I lose the key

Quote:
Originally Posted by .moneen. View Post
I had the same problem, Set it to double pulse and everything is fine. What I mean by double pulse is that every time you hit a button it sends the signal twice.
hmmmm I wanna try this and see, how do you do this exactly, I dont have my viper handbook handy but Id love to see if this helps. If the prob persists Im def going to have it redone by someone who is up on all this stuff you guys are mentioning lol
__________________

Mods: A Bunch



Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-01-2010, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2004 4.0L WJ
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Woodbridge NJ/Staten Island NY
Posts: 6,850
Thanks: 5
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Rep Power: 26237
mrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond reputemrjaydeeone has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to mrjaydeeone Send a message via Yahoo to mrjaydeeone
Re: NEED some VIPER help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by soontobesrt View Post
Im from the Trenton area, right now Im down shore near Toms River though actually so maybe I could swing by his place soon. This Friday is great for me as im leaving the shore to head back to central jersey so if hes available I could meet him, would he be willing to look at it or diagnose it free of charge possibly? Or shoot me his phone # and ill explain my deal? Maybe we could talk about redoing it and get a quote, I can travel if I know it will be done RIGHT lol Is he a certified installer or just is good with wiring and alarms etc? FTR - I live in Philly most of year so not crazy far haha
I sent him an email the other day. I haven't heard back. I know he and his wife just had a baby, so he might be wrapped up in that. I will letcha know when I hear back from him.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-01-2010, 07:53 PM
soontobesrt's Avatar
I drive a modern day Woody
My Jeep: 2005 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Philadelphia,PA ----> Trenton, NJ
Posts: 1,602
Thanks: 31
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Rep Power: 3426
soontobesrt has a reputation beyond reputesoontobesrt has a reputation beyond reputesoontobesrt has a reputation beyond reputesoontobesrt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: NEED some VIPER help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjaydeeone View Post
I sent him an email the other day. I haven't heard back. I know he and his wife just had a baby, so he might be wrapped up in that. I will letcha know when I hear back from him.
cool, sounds good man, appreciate it!
__________________

Mods: A Bunch



Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-01-2010, 09:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2033
Jeep95XJ is on a distinguished road
Re: NEED some VIPER help!

I install these on a regular basis and have never had this issue. The start/stop is a transponder issue. The fact the took a key shows they are far behind the times. Loosing a key has not been an issue for years.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-02-2010, 10:59 AM
soontobesrt's Avatar
I drive a modern day Woody
My Jeep: 2005 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Philadelphia,PA ----> Trenton, NJ
Posts: 1,602
Thanks: 31
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Rep Power: 3426
soontobesrt has a reputation beyond reputesoontobesrt has a reputation beyond reputesoontobesrt has a reputation beyond reputesoontobesrt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: NEED some VIPER help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeep95XJ View Post
I install these on a regular basis and have never had this issue. The start/stop is a transponder issue. The fact the took a key shows they are far behind the times. Loosing a key has not been an issue for years.
Wish i would have known would you been abel to list or link me to the proper or necessary items that would allow me to retain the spare? Also can you shed light on the the bit writer thing and how it works and if its worth it?

I have the 5901 and whatever crap the "crap" installer used to do it initially, but im thinking about having it redone properly and wanted to know what I should bring and have incorporated in the install. I know theres tons of different modules for different stuff from different companies. Any insight would be much aprreciated! Thanks
__________________

Mods: A Bunch



Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-28-2010, 12:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2033
Jeep95XJ is on a distinguished road
Re: NEED some VIPER help!

Not really. The part i use is the FLCAN however even if you buy it, you also need the programmer. Its a universal module that is flashed to work with just about every car on the road that has a chipped key. I dont believe you can buy the programmer but i may be wrong. On top of that you will have to re do the whole install start to finish. This module controlls the whole car through the CAN system. Lock, unlock, factory arm, factory disarm, domelight supervision, MUX wiring, horn honk, auto headlights, door triggers, hood trigger, foot break for remote start shut down, more than you can imagine lol. It controls all these features through only 2 wires in the car. CAN high and CAN low. Those 2 wires go directly to the computers in the car. Makes install very easy but one mistake could cost thousangs of dollars. Thats why they dont sell the programmer over the counter yet you can get the part on ebay. Go figure lol one is useless without the other.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12-02-2010, 10:17 AM
SickWhip's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1570
SickWhip is on a distinguished road
Re: NEED some VIPER help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 06RC22 View Post
My system was one of the ones that was recalled. They couldnt get it to work as the modules wouldnt work with Chrysler products.... what they told me at least... They finally got a fixed unit and it worked perfectly. The only issue I had with their install was they forgot to put in a Hood Pin for the remote start. They kept insisting that our jeeps used a factory hood pin... which they dont. Other than that, knock on wood, I havent had any problems with it. I did have the batteries on the fob go dead rather quickly but I just put a spare set in the glove box for next time.

I agree with 05WKguy, I would go have somebody double check the entire install.
What system did you have? I just bought the Viper 5701 and I hope I dont have this problem!!
__________________
.....War Cam Eagle!
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-07-2010, 01:33 PM
06RC22's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 375536
06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute06RC22 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: NEED some VIPER help!

I hae the 5701 as well but mine was installed about a year ago
__________________
-Randall-
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
:thumbsup:
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-07-2010, 09:36 PM
05wkguy's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2006 6.1L SRT8
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Regina,Sask,Canada
Posts: 806
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 9334
05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute05wkguy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: NEED some VIPER help!

The Bitwriter is only available to Viper dealers. If you ask around nicely, somebody with one will probably reprogramm the options you want for a minimal fee.
__________________

__________________
Borla S catback.Stillens. BT catch can. Hemifever tune.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper rims! where to buy? meek Visual Modifications 2 07-21-2010 03:13 PM
viper 5901 BDP08 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 4 05-12-2010 02:28 AM
Viper wheels on a WJ?? 99limited Wheels/Tires/Brakes 62 04-15-2010 02:18 PM
FR Viper 22 UPDATE!!! Bane1021 Grand Cherokee - WK 77 11-19-2009 07:23 PM
Viper replica pics!!! 05wkguy Visual Modifications 125 11-10-2009 02:30 AM

» Random Garages

Jep

esierens

G1LGF

Grlgf
Add your Jeep
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community