RA4 radio firmware issue for 2014 grand cherokee - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-28-2015, 12:05 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 47
Thanks: 4
Thanked 21 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 1400
Fzabala is on a distinguished road
RA4 radio firmware issue for 2014 grand cherokee

I just bought an RA4 navi system recently, and installed it to my 2014 grand Cherokee. At first I had the very latest firmware installed and had the issue that my media hub (USB /sd card) was inoperable. So, I reinstalled the previous firmware update, and now the media hub works fine, but my navi icon disappeared and my Xm Sirius radio is not working. All I hear is static, but I can still see what is playing on that channel. does anybody know what I need to do?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-28-2015, 08:00 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
indaram is on a distinguished road
Re: RA4 radio firmware issue for 2014 grand cherokee

What firmware version did you have and what version did you flash to it?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2015, 11:46 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 47
Thanks: 4
Thanked 21 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 1400
Fzabala is on a distinguished road
Re: RA4 radio firmware issue for 2014 grand cherokee

Quote:
Originally Posted by indaram View Post
What firmware version did you have and what version did you flash to it?
The firmware I used was a 14.25.5. That's when my navi and XM disabled on me. Then today I reinstalled back the original update 15.06.1, all my navigation and XM radio feature came back, but was stuck with the original problem with the inoperable center media hub :-(
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2015, 01:16 AM
Hitchhiking
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,264
Thanks: 9
Thanked 198 Times in 169 Posts
Rep Power: 0
skunkd is on a distinguished road
Re: RA4 radio firmware issue for 2014 grand cherokee

Stop wasting your time trying to get the 2015 unit to work in your 2014. Just return it and get the proper unit for your model year so you won't have any more of these headaches. Or upgrade your media hub to the 2015 version.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2015, 02:55 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 47
Thanks: 4
Thanked 21 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 1400
Fzabala is on a distinguished road
Re: RA4 radio firmware issue for 2014 grand cherokee

Quote:
Originally Posted by skunkd View Post
Stop wasting your time trying to get the 2015 unit to work in your 2014. Just return it and get the proper unit for your model year so you won't have any more of these headaches. Or upgrade your media hub to the 2015 version.
Actually I already spoke to the support dept at Oem auto part co today, with only one solution. Yes, they have to swap it out for the 2014 model. We didn't even know that the RA4 radio was a 2015, and incompatible with all 2014 grand Cherokees. There is no label on it, that obviously indicates RA4 is a newer version. They worked so hard to try to get my radio working and meet customer satisfaction. they kept testing back and forth with the latest 2 firmwares, but always ended up wasting so much time with the equipment partly solved .. I didn't expect that i had to go through this ordeal. Well, I hope this swap is going to work without a hitch.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2015, 05:06 AM
Hitchhiking
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,264
Thanks: 9
Thanked 198 Times in 169 Posts
Rep Power: 0
skunkd is on a distinguished road
Re: RA4 radio firmware issue for 2014 grand cherokee

It will and the 2014 unit will get new updates released for it when they are ready and they will work without a hitch as well. It's extremely confusing why FCA decided to change the units ever so slightly between model years. Good to know oem autopart co has top knotch service, ive been contemplating purchasing a lock pick unit from them
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2015, 08:10 PM
Lauter10's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 177
Thanks: 203
Thanked 32 Times in 28 Posts
Rep Power: 15819
Lauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: RA4 radio firmware issue for 2014 grand cherokee

I just purchased an RA3 unit from the same company, but I'm still waiting on finding the correct two button bezel (can't find that anywhere).

Is there a chance the RA3 might be for a 15' as well? I mainly wanted the larger screen, and I'm adding the navi later on from dealer.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-17-2015, 08:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 264
Thanks: 17
Thanked 48 Times in 38 Posts
Rep Power: 7548
michaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond repute
Re: RA4 radio firmware issue for 2014 grand cherokee

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lauter10 View Post
I just purchased an RA3 unit from the same company, but I'm still waiting on finding the correct two button bezel (can't find that anywhere).

Is there a chance the RA3 might be for a 15' as well? I mainly wanted the larger screen, and I'm adding the navi later on from dealer.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
curious- you priced in the dealer nav upgrade and it works out cheaper to go that route then just do the RA4?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-19-2015, 05:50 AM
Lauter10's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 177
Thanks: 203
Thanked 32 Times in 28 Posts
Rep Power: 15819
Lauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond reputeLauter10 has a reputation beyond repute
RA4 radio firmware issue for 2014 grand cherokee

It's more so that I have a monthly budget I set up. So what I do is set aside an amount for a part, and then forget about it after I buy it. I imagine in the long run the price meets or exceeds the price of an RA4, but I like to think of it as financing, without the borrowing. If an emergency comes up, or I want to use my extra cash elsewhere, I simply put the project on hold until a more convenient time.

Edit: what I mean by the budget is that I'll buy the screen, then down the road buy the bezel. It adds up, but I know I would never have handed over $1200 or more in one go.

I have Garmin's top of the line portable GPS in my car just incase, loaded with "Morgan Freeman's" voice..which I'll miss when this project is all said and done




Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-2017, 07:29 PM
New Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
cabrej1 is on a distinguished road
Re: RA4 radio firmware issue for 2014 grand cherokee

not sure if you finally found it. The two button bezel could be 56054382 or 56054383 depending on interior color (Sliver or Light Anodized)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2014, 2014 grand cherokee, grand cherokee, ra4

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2014 JGC Overland - RA4 14.05.03 iPod Touch Issue jkoons Audio/Visual/Navigation 3 07-03-2014 03:14 AM
2014 RA4 Issue/Update - DETAILED BELOW jdchamp31 Audio/Visual/Navigation 22 06-09-2014 02:37 PM
REC NAV radio with uconnect latest firmware? jeepmanjim Grand Cherokee - WK 3 12-02-2013 01:51 AM
TSB RA3 and RA4 radio (8.4AN radio) shirogc2014 Technical Service Bulletins and Recalls 2 11-08-2013 02:20 PM
Weird RA4 (8.4AN) radio issue over the wekend lneib Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 0 09-16-2013 09:52 AM

» Premium Vendor Showcase
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.