Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-28-2011, 05:39 PM
vstone's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1540
vstone has a brilliant future
Subwoofer Problem

Im trying to hook up my sub Kicker L7 and Kicker 650.1amp

Im trying to do this just useing my stock headunit and and line out converter. I dont want to pay 130 dollars for a data harness for aftermarket radio.

When I connect my line out converter to speaker outputs on the factory boston amp it works BUT when I turn the volume to 1 the bass on the sub goes to max and it doesnt change no matter what setting the volume is on.

Does anyone have experience with line out converters on factory Boston Setup?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2011, 11:37 PM
vstone's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1540
vstone has a brilliant future
Re: Subwoofer Problem

Really? No body?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2011, 03:59 AM
hella_wk's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pasadean, CA
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1530
hella_wk is on a distinguished road
Re: Subwoofer Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by vstone View Post
Im trying to hook up my sub Kicker L7 and Kicker 650.1amp

Im trying to do this just useing my stock headunit and and line out converter. I dont want to pay 130 dollars for a data harness for aftermarket radio.

When I connect my line out converter to speaker outputs on the factory boston amp it works BUT when I turn the volume to 1 the bass on the sub goes to max and it doesnt change no matter what setting the volume is on.

Does anyone have experience with line out converters on factory Boston Setup?
Best i could say is go over all your wiring..

or you could just get a basic head unit.. i have a dash kit that im willing to let go for free just as long as your pay shipping. (i got ripped off for it when i had my double din installed.. they sold me two kits, one for navi and for a regular head unit) assholes...

but yeah, not much else
__________________
Derek - 2006 Grand Cherokee 4x4 3.7L, All around limo tint - 2" rough country lift - 1.5" wheel spacers - 265/70/R17 Cooper AT3"s - Roof Rack - Curt 13251 Class 3 Hitch - Diamond white HID's(6000k) - Magnaflow 12256 - Pioneer 7" Double Din
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2011, 09:44 PM
vstone's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1540
vstone has a brilliant future
Re: Subwoofer Problem

I have a few nice headunits, I have a almost brand new alpine but The harness alone is 100 dollars for a aftermarket data harness, Im just going to give up. Im kinda over the big bass anyways
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2011, 09:06 PM
Diboblo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 314
Thanks: 45
Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 16849
Diboblo has a reputation beyond reputeDiboblo has a reputation beyond reputeDiboblo has a reputation beyond reputeDiboblo has a reputation beyond reputeDiboblo has a reputation beyond reputeDiboblo has a reputation beyond reputeDiboblo has a reputation beyond reputeDiboblo has a reputation beyond reputeDiboblo has a reputation beyond reputeDiboblo has a reputation beyond reputeDiboblo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Subwoofer Problem

It's your LOC...

Go with the correct C2A-CHY Pac-Audio box for your WK.

This magic box is plug and play and provides you with a remote 12 volt output, as well as two pair of RCA outputs.

It goes inline between the amp and the radio and gives you unfiltered output to the RCA's. The downside is that you will lose bass control, unless you have an amp with a remote gain control. I haven't noticed a problem running this setup in my SRT8 Charger. It sounds damn good

Visit the pac-audio website and look up the correct box for your car, then visit eBay and buy it! Right now, they are going for about $80, shipped.

Generic LOC's don't play well with our CANBUS based audio network

Hope this helps,
Bob
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Appropriate size subwoofer? websurrfr Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 8 02-29-2012 05:26 PM
Subwoofer Help..... Dusan33 Audio/Visual/Navigation 0 01-19-2011 02:32 PM
Subwoofer Question jkram Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 17 07-02-2009 05:18 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community