Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-23-2010, 12:39 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lakewood, CO
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
mtngoat14k is on a distinguished road
Question Use infinity amp with new stereo or not?

So, I just got a new pioneer stereo and it says it is 50 watts x 4. The infinity amp is 180 watts total according to wjjeeps.com. I assume that would make it 45 watts x 4. Should I continue to use the amp or should I just wire the speakers directly to the new head unit?

Thanks for the help.

Chris
1992 YJ (sold)
1992 XJ (for sale)
2004 WJ
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2010, 12:43 PM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11577
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Use infinity amp with new stereo or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtngoat14k View Post
So, I just got a new pioneer stereo and it says it is 50 watts x 4. The infinity amp is 180 watts total according to wjjeeps.com. I assume that would make it 45 watts x 4. Should I continue to use the amp or should I just wire the speakers directly to the new head unit?

Thanks for the help.

Chris
1992 YJ (sold)
1992 XJ (for sale)
2004 WJ
If the only difference is 5 watts, you won't notice.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2010, 05:42 PM
206WJ's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2002 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 696
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2355
206WJ has a reputation beyond repute206WJ has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Use infinity amp with new stereo or not?

Might sa well go through it. It's going to be a lot easier to install without bypassing the amp.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo Install 08Hemi Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 102 10-08-2013 10:20 PM
How-To: Add a Sub/Amp to your Factory Stereo Matt Tech Tips DIY/How To 39 07-17-2012 10:18 AM
STEREO Install - Sub/Amp 08Hemi Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 26 01-03-2011 09:44 PM
Stereo upgrade sanitarium16 Grand Cherokee - WK 1 02-07-2010 10:28 PM
What is Best??? Alpine Type-R's or Infinity??? SoCalMoparWK Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 17 10-12-2009 06:24 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community