Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-28-2013, 12:14 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 915
walkin is on a distinguished road
Volume level problem with aftermarket headunit

So I had a REC nav system with the amplified factory stereo. I just installed a Pioneer AVH-X5500BHS using a PAC RP4-CH11 adapter. I'm getting some static noise across the radio when the volume is all the way down. I can only turn the radio up to about 6 on the volume setting (max is 50 i believe) before its too loud. I checked everything and it looks like its hooked up right but it seems to be outputting way too loud.

Any thoughts?
__________________

__________________
2005 WK Limited 5.7l QD II - Stock for now.
1991 YJ SOA, Dana 44 rear, 4.56, locked front and rear, wagoner leaf stretch, 35s
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2013, 09:35 AM
Hacksaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 1800
Hacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond repute
Impedance mismatch. Loose connection. Does the factory amp have a selector for preamp level ? Does the head unit have one ?

Think Outside !- No Box Required.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2013, 10:59 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 915
walkin is on a distinguished road
Re: Volume level problem with aftermarket headunit

the factory amp is wired through the CAN bus system so no RCA go to it from the head unit. the head unit is hooked up through the speaker wires into the PAC RP4-CH11 which ties it into the CAN bus.
__________________
2005 WK Limited 5.7l QD II - Stock for now.
1991 YJ SOA, Dana 44 rear, 4.56, locked front and rear, wagoner leaf stretch, 35s
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2013, 11:56 PM
Hacksaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 1800
Hacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond repute
So you are sending line level input to the factory amplifier. Is this the same as the factory head unit ?

Think Outside !- No Box Required.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-29-2013, 11:24 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 915
walkin is on a distinguished road
Re: Volume level problem with aftermarket headunit

I'm sending the line level input into the PAC adapter which is converting it to a signal the CAN bus can read which is going to the factory amplifier.
__________________
2005 WK Limited 5.7l QD II - Stock for now.
1991 YJ SOA, Dana 44 rear, 4.56, locked front and rear, wagoner leaf stretch, 35s
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you install a new Headunit? bematare Tech Tips/DIY/How to 11 07-05-2013 01:20 PM
Problem with liberty headunit Tom Littleton Liberty-KJ and KK 2 01-11-2012 09:28 PM
how hard to install aftermarket headunit myself 99PlatinumWJ Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 8 08-22-2011 03:13 PM
Adapter for armrest USB with aftermarket headunit? websurrfr Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 2 10-01-2010 05:20 PM
aftermarket headunit install in WJ mrjaydeeone Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 6 02-14-2010 09:30 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community