Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WJ

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-24-2013, 01:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 791
RLM67 is on a distinguished road
Replacing input/output speed sensors

Hello again,

Got a query that I think I may have solved myself, but am soliciting some additional feedback from WJ drivers out there. Wife was driving our '00 GC 4.7 home when it started 'bucking' at freeway speeds, 'Check engine Light' appears. I retrieve the codes--p0320 [no crank reference signal @ PCM], and p0700 [check transmission DTCs]. After some research, I've found that this is a common/related failure and can usually be remedied by replacing both sensors. The Chilton manual I reference so often states that if a DRBIII scanner doesn't retrieve any fault codes, the problem could simply be the TCM. These are inexpensive and relatively easy fixes, but I just want to make sure I'm running in the right direction. BTW, I took it out last night and drove it for a good 15 miles and had no problems. Any thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2013, 02:56 PM
Frango100's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,902
Thanks: 9
Thanked 91 Times in 86 Posts
Rep Power: 525852
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Replacing input/output speed sensors

You need to have it scanned to know which fault the TCM has stored, otherwise its just shooting in the dark and most probably spending more money on parts then necessary
The crank sensor is a sensor on the engine, while the input/output speed sensors are on the transmission.
I would check the connector on the crank sensor, but maybe even better to replace it right away, because it will let you stranded at some point. Its mounted above the starter and the starter needs to be removed to get access to the sensor.
Best is to get OEM sensor.
__________________

__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2013, 06:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 791
RLM67 is on a distinguished road
Re: Replacing input/output speed sensors

Frank,

Thanks for the input--it turned out to be the sensors; replaced each of them, MIL disappeared, codes cleared. Will definitely look into checking/replacing the camshaft sensor--looks like a relatively easy fix as well.

Thanks again,

Richard M.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2013, 07:21 PM
Frango100's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,902
Thanks: 9
Thanked 91 Times in 86 Posts
Rep Power: 525852
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Replacing input/output speed sensors

You meant crank sensor?
You where lucky that the speed sensors solved the problem, could have been the TPS as well
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2013, 03:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 791
RLM67 is on a distinguished road
Re: Replacing input/output speed sensors

Frank,

Thanks for your advice. Replaced the I/O sensors, engine light went out, codes cleared. Wife was driving the GC to work this morning and called to tell me the MIL was back on and that the initial symptoms had returned.. Retrieved the same codes. All info I'm finding does point to the crankshaft sensor. So. I'm going to replace that tomorrow. Thanks for the heads up.

Richard
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2013, 06:51 PM
Frango100's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,902
Thanks: 9
Thanked 91 Times in 86 Posts
Rep Power: 525852
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Replacing input/output speed sensors

Did you clear the fault codes after replacing the sensors? Eventough the check engine light went out, it will still keep the fault codes in its memory. Some faults do disappear after many key cycles and no fault, but best is to errase the memory after changing a part, so that you start with a clean sheet.
Crankshaft position sensor signal also goes to the TCM, so could explain the P0700 fault code.
You can easily remove the starter by only removing the two bolts which keep it in place. No need to remove the wires or connector, however first remove the negative battery terminal to prevent a short.
When starter is removed, you will see the crank sensor. Best is to use OEM sensor.
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-26-2013, 02:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 791
RLM67 is on a distinguished road
Re: Replacing input/output speed sensors

Frank,

Replaced the crankshaft sensor--dropped the starter down and accessed the sensor [it was a little tricky getting it out]. Installed the new one--no MIL and the p320 & p700 fault codes have cleared after one trip. You've been a huge help--much thanks.

Sincerely,

Richard M.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-26-2013, 09:41 PM
Frango100's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,902
Thanks: 9
Thanked 91 Times in 86 Posts
Rep Power: 525852
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Replacing input/output speed sensors

Good to hear its fixed.
__________________

__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which one of my wheel speed sensors needs to be replaced! bikerider72 Troubleshooting/Problems 3 03-09-2013 11:06 PM
Adding and Aux Input and Aux Output airmail96 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 3 03-11-2012 06:32 AM
Polling: MTBF Speed Sensors 45RFE/545RFE CherokeeChief Troubleshooting/Problems 1 09-07-2011 04:34 PM
Replacing all 4 O2 sensors in my 05 Hemi WK.... BignastyGS Grand Cherokee - WK 3 02-27-2011 02:35 PM
Location for Transmission Output/input Sensors t2arrington Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 4 02-12-2011 05:40 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community