Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WJ

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-25-2013, 07:36 AM
New Member
My Jeep: 2003 4.7 HO WJ
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Shawnee, KS 66226
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
timbo1969 is on a distinguished road
TPMS 5 vs 4 Tire System

TPMS ... 5 vs 4 Tire System

Just purchased a 2003 Overland.
The "TIRE SENSOR MISSING / BAD" message is displaying at start-up. However, was still able to cycle through the steps to display the actual individual tire pressures. Leading me to believe that the 4 sensors on the ground were working.

In reading the information on wjjeeps, it states that you can have either a 4 or 5 tire system.

Following the manual, I took the magnet and re-trained all four tires
at the prompting, noticing that after completing the four installed tires/wheels that the EVIC cleared out and did not offer the training of the spare.

Thinking:

... the ride has the 5 system.
... only four are working or present.
... PO had one possibly fail. Took the one off of the spare and replaced the broken one, accepting and living with the error message.

Well, I performed the Tire Pressure System Test
During a 15-20 minute drive home, the display showed the car with four associated numbers that were equally progressing. (24 on DF, with 22-23 on DR,PF,PR) However, no "SPARE" was listed in the display.

QUESTIONS:
If the spare TPMS module was taken out of the spare and retrained as one of the four on the road ... would the test work as such?
If I were to get a replacement unit and have it installed on the spare, would the "SPARE" show up?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2013, 07:50 PM
Frango100's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,047
Thanks: 9
Thanked 102 Times in 95 Posts
Rep Power: 526029
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS 5 vs 4 Tire System

Yes, if you change the positions of the sensors or the wheels, but then retrain the system for the new positions, they should show up in the new positions
The EVIC should be programmed for 4 or 5 tires, not sure however if it would show the 5th tire option if the 5th sensor is not installed. I would just give it a try.
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will the superchips be able to disable the spare tire TPMS? hound Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 01-14-2012 12:25 PM
Fixing a flat tire and replacing TPMS parts. JoeSchmoe007 Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 5 10-20-2011 07:46 PM
spare tire TPMS? chibianh Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 4 08-24-2011 07:56 PM
Tire Pressure Momitoring System? JohnS Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 10 10-12-2010 10:42 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community