Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Performance Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-13-2010, 08:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2301
tig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond repute
need some diablo help, quick...

i got my diablo in so i figured id unload a tune and try it out. after installing the calibration update that was required i installed the 87 octane tune. it ran like complete crap. it was misfiring, would barely idle, and when i gave it gas, the revs barely went up.

so i tried the 91 tune, same thing happened but not as bad. so then i tried the 93 tune. again, same thing but not as bad. i didnt even feel comfortable pulling out of my garage, thats how bad it was running.

so then i figured id install the stock tune and stop for the night. well, wouldnt you know it, it still runs like crap. i finally drove it up the street hoping it would take a minute to relearn the tune, but nope. it almost died coming into the driveway and feels like crap.

pisses me off since i put in a new egr and it WAS running the best its ever run, not anymore.

anybody else had this experience with their diablo?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2010, 08:19 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,423
Thanks: 55
Thanked 133 Times in 115 Posts
Rep Power: 542735
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: need some diablo help, quick...

1. you need to reset adaptives so the Jeep will know to learn something new
2. even then, it will take some miles for your Jeep to learn
3. what year is your Jeep? I assume WK?

last, its not out of the question that something else went bad, just a BAD COINCIDENCE.

there are literally 100's of jeeps and 1000's of vehicles use the diablo. its not like you are doing something new.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2010, 08:19 PM
LTrainGC's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 2,202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 4311
LTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: need some diablo help, quick...

Sounds like something went wrong with the calibration update. Is your stock tune back on it now? Did you get any codes?

I'd disconnect the battery and let it sit for about 10 minutes and then reconnect the battery and see if that helps.
__________________
2013 WK2 Overland HEMI 4x4
Bright White / New Saddle
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2010, 08:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2301
tig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: need some diablo help, quick...

its an 05 5.7L WK. nothing else went bad. it was running the best its ever been. it ran great until i shut it off when i got home from work. installed the tune, now it sucks.

i didnt get any codes immediately, but i just ran out there to unplug the battery and checked the codes, im getting a 1416, thats not even listed on WKjeeps.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2010, 08:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2301
tig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: need some diablo help, quick...

unplugging the battery fixed it, it runs fine and the code is gone. very strange.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2010, 08:42 PM
LTrainGC's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 2,202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 4311
LTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: need some diablo help, quick...

From the FSM:

Code B1416 = HFM RIGHT AUDIO OUTPUT CIRCUIT HIGH

Code P1416 = CYLINDER 6 REACTIVATION CONTROL PERFORMANCE

Glad to hear the battery thing fixed it. I'd email or call Diablosport about it.

Which CROM did you load?
__________________
2013 WK2 Overland HEMI 4x4
Bright White / New Saddle
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2010, 08:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2301
tig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: need some diablo help, quick...

funny thing is i didnt load a crom.

i ordered it from diablo last week and got it yesterday. when i first plugged it up, it said my vehicle needed a calibration update so i plugged it up to my computer and used the DS Downloader. it automatically did a calibration update. i didnt enter any info of do anything to it. i then took it to the jeep and it worked.

i posted about it on their forum.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2010, 08:49 PM
LTrainGC's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 2,202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 4311
LTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: need some diablo help, quick...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tig488 View Post
funny thing is i didnt load a crom.

i ordered it from diablo last week and got it yesterday. when i first plugged it up, it said my vehicle needed a calibration update so i plugged it up to my computer and used the DS Downloader. it automatically did a calibration update. i didnt enter any info of do anything to it. i then took it to the jeep and it worked.

i posted about it on their forum.
When you turn the diablo on, does it show 9R05 at the top, or 9R06? If it shows 9R05, then go to their site and download 9R06 and you should be good to go.
__________________
2013 WK2 Overland HEMI 4x4
Bright White / New Saddle
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2010, 08:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2301
tig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: need some diablo help, quick...

it shows 9r06
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-13-2010, 09:01 PM
LTrainGC's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 2,202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 4311
LTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: need some diablo help, quick...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tig488 View Post
it shows 9r06
Hmmm that is weird. We'll see what they have to say.
__________________
2013 WK2 Overland HEMI 4x4
Bright White / New Saddle
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-13-2010, 10:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2301
tig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond reputetig488 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: need some diablo help, quick...

i was reading on the diablo site, there were a few times when this happened to other people and they said to unhook the battery to reset the adaptives.

does that mean unhooking the battery resets the ECU to stock? or does that mean when you install a tune, you need to unhook the battery so it works?

http://www.diablosport.com/index.php...hlight=battery
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-13-2010, 10:19 PM
LTrainGC's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 2,202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 4311
LTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond reputeLTrainGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: need some diablo help, quick...

If you have a tune installed, disconnecting the battery is not going to return it to stock.

And you should not have to disconnect the battery to get a tune to work, but after reading that thread maybe you have to disconnect the battery after you install the tune.
__________________

__________________
2013 WK2 Overland HEMI 4x4
Bright White / New Saddle
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question!! 99limited Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 8 01-05-2010 08:32 PM
Have another issue, quick help please. =) 05quadratrac Performance Modifications 2 12-09-2009 02:12 PM
Need an exhaust quick! ahamay115 Performance Modifications 16 08-15-2009 09:53 PM
Quick Vid Geevis Members Rides 22 06-03-2009 11:15 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.