Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 -

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 04-25-2013, 09:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 618
ONU1974 is on a distinguished road
Re: 64Gb SD Card

Can you put a SD card from a camera in the slot and have it display pictures on UConnect screen?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-25-2013, 09:38 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 660
Thanks: 49
Thanked 18 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 2107
Roki303 has a reputation beyond reputeRoki303 has a reputation beyond reputeRoki303 has a reputation beyond reputeRoki303 has a reputation beyond reputeRoki303 has a reputation beyond reputeRoki303 has a reputation beyond reputeRoki303 has a reputation beyond reputeRoki303 has a reputation beyond reputeRoki303 has a reputation beyond reputeRoki303 has a reputation beyond reputeRoki303 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 64Gb SD Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by ONU1974 View Post
Can you put a SD card from a camera in the slot and have it display pictures on UConnect screen?
No, but that would be nice feature. Airplay from Apple devices wpuld be nice as well. You can do a lot of things with this big screen. Wonder what Lockpick will bring.
__________________

__________________
2014 Jeep GC, V6, Black/Indigo with Adv Tech Package and ORAII
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-26-2013, 09:52 AM
padgett's Avatar
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orlando
Posts: 1,490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 80039
padgett has a reputation beyond reputepadgett has a reputation beyond reputepadgett has a reputation beyond reputepadgett has a reputation beyond reputepadgett has a reputation beyond reputepadgett has a reputation beyond reputepadgett has a reputation beyond reputepadgett has a reputation beyond reputepadgett has a reputation beyond reputepadgett has a reputation beyond reputepadgett has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 64Gb SD Card

Have used 32GB SD and 64GB flash drives in my '12. Have been meaning to see if it can recognize a USB CD but will have to use a powered hub. Know it has no problem with a multi-card reader.

Does anyone know what OS CJF uses in their radios ? Anymore they are really all tablets just kinda brane-ded ones.
__________________
Web home. Notary Sojac Y'all
One of these is a diesel:
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-26-2013, 12:06 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 116
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 695
TotalInferno is on a distinguished road
I believe it is QNX. "They" always talk about it sharing a platform with Blackberry. But what so they know Blackberry has nothing to do with it (technically).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-28-2013, 09:55 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 116
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 695
TotalInferno is on a distinguished road
To follow up on this, I tried a 64gb Lexar 400x card in the cherokee today - it worked fine. It was formatted to FAT32 (it came from the factory as exFAT).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-29-2013, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 618
ONU1974 is on a distinguished road
Re: 64Gb SD Card

I'm old school but the thought of putting all my CDs on an SD card and not having to take up space in the console was a great idea. I bought an SD card then started reading all the posts about how it has to be formatted a certain way or it messes up UConnect as well as not knowing what I am doing anyhow, is enough to make me forget the whole idea...how disappointing!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-29-2013, 11:57 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Posts: 64
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 549
headrushNJ is on a distinguished road
Re: 64Gb SD Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by ONU1974 View Post
I'm old school but the thought of putting all my CDs on an SD card and not having to take up space in the console was a great idea. I bought an SD card then started reading all the posts about how it has to be formatted a certain way or it messes up UConnect as well as not knowing what I am doing anyhow, is enough to make me forget the whole idea...how disappointing!!
The formatting is mostly for people trying to use a 64g card in a "32g max" drive. I just bought a sandisk class 10 32g the other day. I just dragged my music files from one folder to the other and it works fine. No formatting or nothing needed.
__________________
2014 GC Limited 4x4 3.6L, Black/Black, 20", Lux II, RA4
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-29-2013, 12:49 PM
jacko15's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 2,038
Thanks: 204
Thanked 145 Times in 118 Posts
Rep Power: 89238
jacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 64Gb SD Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by headrushNJ View Post
The formatting is mostly for people trying to use a 64g card in a "32g max" drive. I just bought a sandisk class 10 32g the other day. I just dragged my music files from one folder to the other and it works fine. No formatting or nothing needed.
I agree. Easy Peasy!
__________________
Mine: 2014 Overland 4x4 V6, ORA II, billet silver/black, Michelin LTX M/S 2's, MaxCare Lifetime, delivered 4-13-'13
Wife's Jeep: 2008 Compass Sport 4x4, 2.4L I4 DOHC, CVT, Lifetime powertrain warranty
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-29-2013, 06:52 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 116
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 695
TotalInferno is on a distinguished road
64Gb SD Card

Are your cards exFAT? Sorry I don't own a 2014 (yet) so I had to format from home to try... Had one chance on a card I just bought.

And unfortunately no one chimed in earlier!

Thanks guys
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-29-2013, 07:01 PM
jacko15's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 2,038
Thanks: 204
Thanked 145 Times in 118 Posts
Rep Power: 89238
jacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 64Gb SD Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by TotalInferno View Post
Are your cards exFAT? Sorry I don't own a 2014 (yet) so I had to format from home to try... Had one chance on a card I just bought.

And unfortunately no one chimed in earlier!

Thanks guys
Not quite sure I understand. You can format your card anytime you prepare to load it. I used FAT32.
__________________
Mine: 2014 Overland 4x4 V6, ORA II, billet silver/black, Michelin LTX M/S 2's, MaxCare Lifetime, delivered 4-13-'13
Wife's Jeep: 2008 Compass Sport 4x4, 2.4L I4 DOHC, CVT, Lifetime powertrain warranty
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-30-2013, 08:11 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 116
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 695
TotalInferno is on a distinguished road
I'm asking if FAT32 is required. Someone earlier implied that exFAT would work
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-30-2013, 08:59 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 192
Thanks: 16
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 727
Lanrete has a reputation beyond reputeLanrete has a reputation beyond reputeLanrete has a reputation beyond reputeLanrete has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by TotalInferno View Post
I'm asking if FAT32 is required. Someone earlier implied that exFAT would work
I tried exFAT on one of mine and it wasn't recognized by the system. I am unsure if that is because of exFAT or if the system was in one of the moods where it doesn't recognize any.
__________________

__________________
-Nathan
2014 Grand Cherokee Summit 5.7L 4x4 | 1998 Wrangler Sport 4.0L 4x4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community