Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 -

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-25-2014, 01:10 PM
Jeep4Ron's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sonoma County, CA USA
Posts: 46
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 635
Jeep4Ron is on a distinguished road
Does ACC have to be on for WiFi Hotspot to work?

My Jeep has the option to run a WiFi hotspot (additional monthly cost) and I'm wondering if the hotspot operates continuously or only when the ACC is on or the engine running?
__________________

__________________
-----------------------------
Delivered: Deep Cherry Red 2014 JGC Overland/Pentastar V6/Adv. Tech/ORA :thumbsup:
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2014, 01:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 813
Vrrooom is on a distinguished road
I'd imagine it has to be turned on accessory. However with most service providers offering wifi hotspots on your smart phones which are 4g and cheaper, I would imagine this is a better alternative.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2014, 03:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1742
truebluetitan is on a distinguished road
Here I am reading ACC as Adaptive Cruise Control... Took me a split second. Yes, I imagine that it has to be on too.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2014, 04:22 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,343
Thanks: 30
Thanked 78 Times in 71 Posts
Rep Power: 43784
lstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Does ACC have to be on for WiFi Hotspot to work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeep4Ron View Post
My Jeep has the option to run a WiFi hotspot (additional monthly cost) and I'm wondering if the hotspot operates continuously or only when the ACC is on or the engine running?
I'll presume ACC is the accessory setting on the start/stop button.

Dunno. BTW, the cost is day, week, or month. Is only 3G. A smart phone with WiFi access tends to be cheaper.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2014, 05:29 PM
MDBones's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Wisconsin's West Coast
Posts: 785
Thanks: 31
Thanked 67 Times in 60 Posts
Rep Power: 1442
MDBones has a reputation beyond reputeMDBones has a reputation beyond reputeMDBones has a reputation beyond reputeMDBones has a reputation beyond reputeMDBones has a reputation beyond reputeMDBones has a reputation beyond reputeMDBones has a reputation beyond reputeMDBones has a reputation beyond reputeMDBones has a reputation beyond reputeMDBones has a reputation beyond reputeMDBones has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Does ACC have to be on for WiFi Hotspot to work?

Agreed. I also believe the wifi is through the Sprint network.
__________________

Garage: The Ghost
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2014, 02:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1085
chwoner has a reputation beyond reputechwoner has a reputation beyond reputechwoner has a reputation beyond reputechwoner has a reputation beyond reputechwoner has a reputation beyond reputechwoner has a reputation beyond reputechwoner has a reputation beyond reputechwoner has a reputation beyond reputechwoner has a reputation beyond reputechwoner has a reputation beyond reputechwoner has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Does ACC have to be on for WiFi Hotspot to work?

Has anyone found details on this service?

Are there data caps? If no data caps and no contract needed it would be useful on some occasions even though only 3g.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2014, 02:24 PM
CLStech's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: RTP, NC
Posts: 1,073
Thanks: 372
Thanked 154 Times in 119 Posts
Rep Power: 1545476
CLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Confirmed vehicle needs to be in ACC position.
__________________
The Albino: 2014 SRT Grand Cherokee
Bright White - Black/Sepia - Black Chrome - Tow Package - High Performance Audio - Pano Roof
*Debadged | Black Reflective Hitch Insert | Black Vinyl Wrapped Roof | Billet Technology Catch Can & Accesories | Injen Intake | LED Interior Swap | LED Puddle/Entry Lighting | Lower Grill Badge | Tint | 6000K Headlights | 3000K Foglights | Eibach Lowering Springs | Headlight DRL Mod | RAX Jailbreak | Rear Fog Lights | Electronic Cutouts | BlackOps End Links*
Instagram: CLStech
Twitter: CLStech
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2014, 02:27 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,343
Thanks: 30
Thanked 78 Times in 71 Posts
Rep Power: 43784
lstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Does ACC have to be on for WiFi Hotspot to work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chwoner View Post
Has anyone found details on this service?

Are there data caps? If no data caps and no contract needed it would be useful on some occasions even though only 3g.
Pricing and fine print are on UConnect web.

I considered it, but with the network being on Sprint and having a non-capped smart phone, I just tethered the missus laptop to the smart phone.

If you don't have a better tether, it would seem an option. The monthly pricing is less than a lot of smartphones, but I have no idea if there is a cap on use.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACC - upgrading to ACC with stop? Sequoia Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 3 01-30-2014 08:07 AM
Uconnect Wifi--does it work in Canada? FD12ME Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 1 08-09-2013 02:43 PM
UConnect Wifi hotspot Rcraighughes Audio/Visual/Navigation 4 05-07-2013 07:00 PM
ACC Still broken- Jeep have NFI ENFORCER Export Grand Cherokee 2011+ 37 09-27-2012 03:28 AM
Rolling hotspot options Cperez Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 13 01-03-2011 10:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community