Got the Tazer, now what? - Page 5 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 -

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #49  
Old 09-12-2016, 05:02 PM
Victor1960's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Uruguay
Posts: 464
Thanks: 15
Thanked 245 Times in 116 Posts
Rep Power: 399395
Victor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Got the Tazer, now what?

Hi again,

More questions :

Just ordered my Tazer 10 minutes ago, it should be processing right now.
I was reading in the Tazer page and in the list of things that can be done didnt find how or with which one you can install the SRT gauges in your EVIC ?........I guess you selected : "Set SRT Mode" ?...and that brings you the gauges ?..only reason I'ma asking is that in the Tazer page under that particular item it shows :
Set SRT Mode :
If not an SRT, and set ON, this will add the SRT splash screen and SRT menu items to the EVIC display in 2012-2014 Charger/300

It mentions a Charger or 300, but not our Jeeps, thats why I'm confused, can you please clarify how was it that you got the changes in your gauges ?.
Many thanks.

__________________
Grand Cherokee 2014 Limited - Mods so far : K&N Air intake system - Weathertec mats - Train Horn - Black Summit Grille - Sill Door Guards - Fog (Bulb) Lights
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #50  
Old 09-12-2016, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 352
Thanks: 5
Thanked 58 Times in 49 Posts
Rep Power: 5980
imprezziveWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeimprezziveWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeimprezziveWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeimprezziveWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeimprezziveWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeimprezziveWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeimprezziveWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeimprezziveWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeimprezziveWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeimprezziveWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeimprezziveWK2 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Got the Tazer, now what?

All you need is SRT on and performance pages on. That's it. The DRL drop and fog drop are also nice to turn off. Also the belt chime to off as well as I hate seat belt chimes. Everything else don't bother with. In the non motion options.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 09-13-2016, 10:04 AM
Victor1960's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Uruguay
Posts: 464
Thanks: 15
Thanked 245 Times in 116 Posts
Rep Power: 399395
Victor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond reputeVictor1960 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Got the Tazer, now what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by imprezziveWK2 View Post
All you need is SRT on and performance pages on. That's it. The DRL drop and fog drop are also nice to turn off. Also the belt chime to off as well as I hate seat belt chimes. Everything else don't bother with. In the non motion options.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Perfect, thanks, agree with you with the fog lights and also the belt chime, the blet chime I turned it off a few days after purchasing my GC, I read here in this forum there is way of turning it off by simply pressing the brake pedal and putting the seat belts on and then off in a period of 10 seconds, you do that 3 times and then the chime dissapears, dont remember the exact details, but it was very simple and i read it here in the forum.
Anyways, thanks, and when I get the TAZER if I have any questions I'll as ask.
Rgds
__________________
Grand Cherokee 2014 Limited - Mods so far : K&N Air intake system - Weathertec mats - Train Horn - Black Summit Grille - Sill Door Guards - Fog (Bulb) Lights
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 09-17-2016, 10:06 PM
DrSpeed's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: PDX
Posts: 250
Thanks: 192
Thanked 61 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 587
DrSpeed is on a distinguished road
Re: Got the Tazer, now what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by protect1989 View Post
Has anyone with the Tazer played with the "Customizable Light Show" tab on the ZPU?

I tried messing around with it today but couldnt seem to figure it out.
Same here - tested it out, and couldn't get anything to light up.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 09-17-2016, 10:13 PM
DrSpeed's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: PDX
Posts: 250
Thanks: 192
Thanked 61 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 587
DrSpeed is on a distinguished road
Re: Got the Tazer, now what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Victor1960 View Post
Quick question, can I have the light show while in motion ?..if so how do I do it ?..
I was reading the TAZER page and got confused finding out if the above is possible.
I know I can activate the light show by pressing the unlock and lock buttons...but obviously cant do that while driving...so is there a simple way to have the light show while in motion ?..
Thanks
In the ZPU, when you are configuring the light show, hold [Control] and [Shift], then type [L]. That enables a light show in motion box.

Check the box.

Blamo - done.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 09-18-2016, 11:47 AM
DriverDave's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2016 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Denver, CO USA
Posts: 209
Thanks: 3
Thanked 72 Times in 47 Posts
Rep Power: 989
DriverDave has a reputation beyond reputeDriverDave has a reputation beyond reputeDriverDave has a reputation beyond reputeDriverDave has a reputation beyond reputeDriverDave has a reputation beyond reputeDriverDave has a reputation beyond reputeDriverDave has a reputation beyond reputeDriverDave has a reputation beyond reputeDriverDave has a reputation beyond reputeDriverDave has a reputation beyond reputeDriverDave has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
So I got my Tazer and went through it on 2 separate occasions. First impression...disappointment. Maybe it's because my GC is a 2016 and not a 14-15. One of the main things I was looking forward to was the seat belt ding fix. It doesn't even appear in the menu. It should appear after the fog dropout option, but nothing happens when I advance in the menu, then the second advance goes to the set steering option. So then I went back around to the fog setting, tried to advance to next option (stayed on fog dropout) so I hit the button to change the setting, and then seat belt ding: off appeared. Hooray, I found a way in to change it....nope, still dings.

So basically, I paid $250 to disable the DRL dropout with turn signal, and keep the fogs on with high beams (which was the most important one to me, after the seat belt ding).

I really don't understand all the talk about the light show...what's the point? When would you ever use it?

Anyway, I'd be interested to hear from anyone else with a 2016, and whether or not the seat belt ding option appears when scrolling through the list of options.

I just verified that the SRT option and performance pages option don't work right either. Even after multiple wake/sleep cycles.
__________________
2016 Grand Cherokee Summit V8 - "Scarlett"
"I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested"

Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 09-19-2016, 09:30 AM
text's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2015 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 35
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 151
text is on a distinguished road
Re: Got the Tazer, now what?

I should be receiving the Tazer today. I have a couple of questions.

to access ZPU, I download the software from the site. How would I connect the tazer to the computer? Or do I upload informaiton to a memory card, then insert it into the tazer?

Also, I'm not expecting much from this since it's just visual items that will be changed. How do I revert everything back to it's stock visual form? Do the radio stations reset? Anything get reset?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 09-19-2016, 09:35 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 838
Thanks: 53
Thanked 154 Times in 103 Posts
Rep Power: 18868
protect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Got the Tazer, now what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by text View Post
I should be receiving the Tazer today. I have a couple of questions.

to access ZPU, I download the software from the site. How would I connect the tazer to the computer? Or do I upload informaiton to a memory card, then insert it into the tazer?

Also, I'm not expecting much from this since it's just visual items that will be changed. How do I revert everything back to it's stock visual form? Do the radio stations reset? Anything get reset?
You can download the ZPU and the drivers directly from the website. Its important to have both in order for the Tazer to work. The unit has a micro usb located on it. Simply plug one end into the Tazer and the other end into the computer, launch the ZPU program and you should be good to go.

At any time you can go back through the menu and change the settings that you have adjusted. I dont believe there is a way to adjust all the setting back to normal at once, but I could be wrong. So if you plan on changing a whole bunch of the available settings, I would write down the original position you found them in "just in case"

NOTE: Take your Tazer out of your vehicle ANYTIME you go to your jeep dealership for service. This include a standard oil change. They will always plug into the OBD port for diagnostics and you do not want them finding it there. Mainly because they could falsely associate any issue with the vehicle to the Tazer rather than what might really be causing the problem. Same thing with the gauges. If you change them to SRT and youre driving a Laredo, they are going to know you messed with something.
__________________
2015 Overland V6
Billet Silver
Advanced Tech
Mods: Gunvault, Rear Slush Mat, Tint, Valentine One, LED Fog lamps, Michelin Premier LTX

Previous Jeeps:
2007 & 2011 - Laredo
2014 - Limited

Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to protect1989 For This Useful Post:
  #57  
Old 09-19-2016, 10:09 AM
text's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2015 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 35
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 151
text is on a distinguished road
Re: Got the Tazer, now what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by protect1989 View Post
You can download the ZPU and the drivers directly from the website. Its important to have both in order for the Tazer to work. The unit has a micro usb located on it. Simply plug one end into the Tazer and the other end into the computer, launch the ZPU program and you should be good to go.

At any time you can go back through the menu and change the settings that you have adjusted. I dont believe there is a way to adjust all the setting back to normal at once, but I could be wrong. So if you plan on changing a whole bunch of the available settings, I would write down the original position you found them in "just in case"

NOTE: Take your Tazer out of your vehicle ANYTIME you go to your jeep dealership for service. This include a standard oil change. They will always plug into the OBD port for diagnostics and you do not want them finding it there. Mainly because they could falsely associate any issue with the vehicle to the Tazer rather than what might really be causing the problem. Same thing with the gauges. If you change them to SRT and youre driving a Laredo, they are going to know you messed with something.
Thanks for the response. I've read that before, about writing down the "original position". I probably don't understand it because I don't have it, but what position do you speak of? Is it sort of a binary situation where 0 = off, 1 = on in the ZPU software?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 09-19-2016, 11:36 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 838
Thanks: 53
Thanked 154 Times in 103 Posts
Rep Power: 18868
protect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Got the Tazer, now what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by text View Post
Thanks for the response. I've read that before, about writing down the "original position". I probably don't understand it because I don't have it, but what position do you speak of? Is it sort of a binary situation where 0 = off, 1 = on in the ZPU software?
The ZPU is only used to update the firmware of the Tazer or adjust the lightshow. Everything else (including changing settings) are done on your vehicle EVIC display.

There is a guide on the website about how to access the menu and change the options. Basically you change them from "Off" to "On" or the opposite depending on the settings. All of this is done inside your vehicle using the steering wheel controls while the vehicle is in the "On" position but the engine not running.
__________________
2015 Overland V6
Billet Silver
Advanced Tech
Mods: Gunvault, Rear Slush Mat, Tint, Valentine One, LED Fog lamps, Michelin Premier LTX

Previous Jeeps:
2007 & 2011 - Laredo
2014 - Limited

Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 09-19-2016, 09:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 86
Thanks: 7
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1502
JEEP_JUNKIE is on a distinguished road
Re: Got the Tazer, now what?

I'd like to be able to disable torque management and prevent the ECU from killing power due to wheel slippage.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 09-19-2016, 11:14 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 838
Thanks: 53
Thanked 154 Times in 103 Posts
Rep Power: 18868
protect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond reputeprotect1989 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Got the Tazer, now what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEEP_JUNKIE View Post
I'd like to be able to disable torque management and prevent the ECU from killing power due to wheel slippage.
This is not the correct device for you to do that with
__________________
2015 Overland V6
Billet Silver
Advanced Tech
Mods: Gunvault, Rear Slush Mat, Tint, Valentine One, LED Fog lamps, Michelin Premier LTX

Previous Jeeps:
2007 & 2011 - Laredo
2014 - Limited

Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to protect1989 For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Z autotech tazer PrimoSRT Tuners/CMR/Dyno/Datalogging/Gauges 19 02-16-2016 11:49 AM
Now you hear it now you don't. (or see it) wynnrs Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 3 08-05-2011 12:48 PM
Finish got my VIN....now what? ehorst Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 7 01-05-2011 12:04 PM
Got front trailer hitch, now need side steps. BJammin Interior/Exterior/Visual 0 11-30-2010 08:44 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.