Software Updates - HARD RESET NEEDED - Page 2 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 -

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 07-30-2014, 09:42 AM
DSYLEXC's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 47
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1050
DSYLEXC is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: Software Updates - HARD RESET NEEDED

I haven't been to the dealer for any updates yet, and my defrost doesn't default on like yours did. But your AC blows when you remote start? From day one with mine, I've left it on auto and 68 degrees, and when I remote start, the AC acts like its on super low, like maybe 10% output until I enter the vehicle and hit the start button to drive away, then the AC kicks in high by itself to achieve the 68 degree temp setting. Is that how yours acts? Because no matter how long I let it run on remote start, the jeep is never really gets cold inside until I hit the start button to cancel the remote start.

__________________
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee (Bright White) Limited 4x4 3.6L V6 ORA2 8.4AN Sunroof Body-Colored Mirrors Fold Flat Front Passenger Seat
Built 3/25/14 @ Midnight


Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #14  
Old 07-30-2014, 01:24 PM
Dan JGC's Avatar
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,564
Thanks: 22
Thanked 200 Times in 150 Posts
Rep Power: 5737
Dan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Software Updates - HARD RESET NEEDED

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSYLEXC View Post
I haven't been to the dealer for any updates yet, and my defrost doesn't default on like yours did. But your AC blows when you remote start? From day one with mine, I've left it on auto and 68 degrees, and when I remote start, the AC acts like its on super low, like maybe 10% output until I enter the vehicle and hit the start button to drive away, then the AC kicks in high by itself to achieve the 68 degree temp setting. Is that how yours acts? Because no matter how long I let it run on remote start, the jeep is never really gets cold inside until I hit the start button to cancel the remote start.
I use remote start all the time. As I am walking to it (parking garage or parking lot, can start it from pretty far away) I use the remote start and by the time I open the driver's door, the A/C is running and cool inside. Mine does NOT run at say 10% output during that time, I would have noticed that for sure. Mine is set at 73....usually on auto, but even if not on auto it still starts cooling as I think it uses the last settings used.

Take it in for the updates (with hard reset of course!) and see. Hope that helps!
__________________
||||||| 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit 4x4 V8 in Bright White Clear Coat exterior with Grand Canyon Jeep Brown interior. |||||||
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-01-2014, 05:32 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1045
mikeumd04 is on a distinguished road
Re: Software Updates - HARD RESET NEEDED

This thread saved me from having to go off at my dealer today. I went in to have them take care of the problem I've been having with my climate control not turning on when I remote start. A few hours later they couldn't figure out why it wasn't working, but did a bunch of other software updates instead. After leaving the dealer, I turned the climate control on auto and it decided to blast heat out of the defroster vents. It's not hot out today but certainly not weather that warrants heat. Fortunately I read this thread I was waiting at the dealer so I did the battery cable pull when I got home and that fixed the problem. Coincidentally, it also fixed the problem I was having with the climate control not turning on with remote start. Thanks for posting this thread!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-01-2014, 05:47 PM
silvermax04's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,350
Thanks: 254
Thanked 556 Times in 430 Posts
Rep Power: 30279
silvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Software Updates - HARD RESET NEEDED

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeumd04 View Post
This thread saved me from having to go off at my dealer today. I went in to have them take care of the problem I've been having with my climate control not turning on when I remote start. A few hours later they couldn't figure out why it wasn't working, but did a bunch of other software updates instead. After leaving the dealer, I turned the climate control on auto and it decided to blast heat out of the defroster vents. It's not hot out today but certainly not weather that warrants heat. Fortunately I read this thread I was waiting at the dealer so I did the battery cable pull when I got home and that fixed the problem. Coincidentally, it also fixed the problem I was having with the climate control not turning on with remote start. Thanks for posting this thread!
Just like a computer on wheels weird software problems just reboot, it is quick easy and fixes a good number of these type of problems. Maybe the dealers will pickup on this at some point as a first try instead of trying to troubleshoot these modules for hours individually. When Microsoft powerpoint stops working correctly do you go in ramming around and try to find out why that application is not playing nice with the computer, no first thing you do is reboot and if that doesn't fix it you go from there. Nine times out of ten powerpoint will be back up working fine. Glad it worked for you!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-07-2014, 07:43 AM
clirry's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: RI
Posts: 186
Thanks: 7
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 1377
clirry is a jewel in the rough
Re: Software Updates - HARD RESET NEEDED

Yike! I just went to dealership for CV axles replacement (2nd) and decided to have them updated my jeep. Haven't tested with my screen yet. Hope they didn't miss that simple step.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
update

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Software updates, radio, trans Stevm65 Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 5 10-22-2013 12:54 PM
Software updates for suspension Yadkin Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 2 08-21-2013 04:21 PM
Just got my free 2013 Map and software updates 2.126 armoredsaint Audio/Visual/Navigation 132 06-10-2013 09:30 AM
Software Updates to the RHR ccarper Audio/Visual/Navigation 116 03-22-2013 07:29 PM
2011 WK2 "software updates" SEA_GC Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 6 01-13-2012 07:57 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.