Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 -

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-03-2012, 06:17 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 106
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1499
K9jackie is on a distinguished road
TPMS strangness

One of my tires was punctured recently and the TMS did warn me. However, when the roadside service was there, he checked the other tires and they were at about 20PSi while the tire pressure monitoring system said they were 34. Anyone else encounter this? I am taking it to the dealer tomorrow.
__________________

__________________
2011 Black Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland Summit Edition- 4x4 5.7L
2006 Red Jeep Wrangler Rubicon - 4x4 4.0L


http://twitter.com/#!/lemon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2012, 07:29 PM
Red G8R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 909
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 2565
Red G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS strangness

Maybe his gauge was wrong.
__________________

__________________
Peter
2011 GC Overland, 4x4, 5.7L, Q-L, 730N, White/Beige. :thumbsup:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2012, 08:05 PM
dubwarren's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 1,208
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 0
dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren
I'd think you'd notice driving around on 20 psi. To say the least. I think the guys gauge was broken.


Sent from my iPhone 4s using Tapatalk
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2012, 08:54 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1427
drwaldo69 has a reputation beyond reputedrwaldo69 has a reputation beyond reputedrwaldo69 has a reputation beyond reputedrwaldo69 has a reputation beyond reputedrwaldo69 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS strangness

The TPMS system is flawed. Mine registered proper pressures when in fact the fuse was blown and it wasn't working. A while back my fuel release door quit working. Jeep doesn't list anywhere the fuse for it. Trust me, I searched long and hard for it. Took my Jeep in, they told me I need a new fuel door realease actuator. While there, I had them change the oil and rotate the tires.

Picked up my Jeep and the TPMS didn't work. Had an erroe code. Hadn't even left the service area yet. They took it back in the shop and 35 minutes later, told me that inexplicably that the TPMS "was offline" and I needed a new module for that as well.
This whole time I asked them to check fuses and the service advisor acted like I was stupid. Come to find out both the fuel door and TPMS are on the same fuse. When I got home I looked up the TPMS fuse, which Jeep DOES list, changed it and they both started working. The fuse had been blown for literally 3 months.It only listed an error when they took off my tires and rotated them for service. Moral of the story: check you tire pressures yourself once in a while.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2012, 09:09 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 538
Thanks: 46
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 164102
JRNYC has a reputation beyond reputeJRNYC has a reputation beyond reputeJRNYC has a reputation beyond reputeJRNYC has a reputation beyond reputeJRNYC has a reputation beyond reputeJRNYC has a reputation beyond reputeJRNYC has a reputation beyond reputeJRNYC has a reputation beyond reputeJRNYC has a reputation beyond reputeJRNYC has a reputation beyond reputeJRNYC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS strangness

I am going through this exact dilemna right now as well. My TPMS said 37 from the dealer at cold tire presuure.

Long story short.. I had a gauge which I believed to be accurate but now Im not sure since the difference between the TPMS and my gauge was like 4 pounds! And even when I topped off all tires at 32 pounds on the same gauge, the tpms sinsors where out of sync with each other. One read like 2 pounds higher and the other 1 pound higher.

I bought 2 more gauges from pep boys. One digital the other a cheapy dial one for 8 bucks. They are all different.

I have been looking at tire gauges on line to see which are the better ones.

I will going for either a higher end Mopar or a Joes Racing Liquid filled gauge. Garanteed to be accurate to like .2 pounds or something like this as soon as $ permit.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors? elp_jc Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 05-20-2012 03:03 AM
tpms abejjani4265 Grand Cherokee - WK 3 01-28-2011 01:02 PM
Tpms 1 GRAND Grand Cherokee - WK 19 05-20-2010 06:31 PM
tpms ducks unlimited Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 9 01-05-2010 04:45 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.