Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 -

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-13-2013, 01:36 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fulton, Missouri
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 600
HThomure is on a distinguished road
Viper Smartstart

Hi, all. I'm new here. I am moving next week from a 2010 Laredo to a 2013 Laredo.

My question has to do with remote start systems. I've searched the forums for information on my question, but haven't found any specific to what I need to know. If it's already been hashed out somewhere, I do apologize. I know how aggravating it is to continue to beat a dead horse on a forum.

I actually have more than one thing I'm wondering about. Firstly, is it possible that a smartstart module will work with the factory remote starter? I'm doubtful it is, but thought I'd ask, anyway. And that brings me to number two. I'm aware that on some vehicles, the push-button start has been difficult to overcome as it relates to remote starters and their bypass. Am I going to be ok putting on, say, a Viper VSS5000?

My 2010 has a Viper 5902 on it, and it works great, but I know that push button thing changes the game a bit.

Thanks for any ideas or thoughts.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2013, 01:39 PM
Hacksaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 1925
Hacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond repute
Is there a reason you don't want the own remote start ? It's about the same cost as the smart start from what I have seen.

Think Outside !- No Box Required.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2013, 02:36 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fulton, Missouri
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 600
HThomure is on a distinguished road
Re: Viper Smartstart

I'm sorry. What?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2013, 02:43 PM
Hacksaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 1925
Hacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond repute
Oem original equipment manufacture or factory remote start...stupid auto correct on my phone "corrected" ...sorry

Think Outside !- No Box Required.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2013, 02:49 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fulton, Missouri
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 600
HThomure is on a distinguished road
Re: Viper Smartstart

Ah, that makes more sense. LOL

It's a range issue, more than anything else. Where I work, I park about 2000 feet from where I am at the end of a shift. At 6 in the morning after a night of freezing temps, I like to be able to fire it up and have it warm when I get to it. That's about it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2013, 03:10 PM
Hacksaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 1925
Hacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond repute
Got it. I'm pretty sure there is an xpress kit available for it but I've looked at so many remote starts in the last few days I'm not 100% positive...Google Directed electronics (viper/python and many other brand manufacturer) and you should be able to get the answer

Think Outside !- No Box Required.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2013, 03:15 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fulton, Missouri
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 600
HThomure is on a distinguished road
Re: Viper Smartstart

I didn't find anything for the 2013, but I did find a couple of bypasses for the 2012. As I understand it, there were no changes, but I could very well be wrong.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2013, 06:38 PM
RageOfFury's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,371
Thanks: 97
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 11208
RageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Viper Smartstart

The 2014 GC has the option of starting/controlling certain features at any distance via smartphone.
__________________
2011 WK2 Laredo E V6 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2013, 02:09 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fulton, Missouri
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 600
HThomure is on a distinguished road
Re: Viper Smartstart

I'd like to resurrect this thread with another question I hope someone holds the answer to.

I decided to go with the Viper 5701 plus SmartStart module. I've been able to pretty much verify it'll work fine.

My question is to anyone who has put an aftermarket starter on their Cherokee. On mine, when I use the factory remote start, if it's below a certain temperature the heated seat will activate with no input from me. I'm wondering if I'll keep or lose this cool feature with an aftermarket starter. It's not going to affect whether or not I go forward, but I'd like to know ahead of time, if possible.

Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-20-2013, 02:32 PM
Hacksaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 1925
Hacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond repute
That is controlled by the canbus so it works be entirely dependent on your express kit module supporting that feature.

Think Outside !- No Box Required.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-20-2013, 02:49 PM
JTS97Z28's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 1,449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 29 Times in 19 Posts
Rep Power: 25145
JTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to JTS97Z28
Re: Viper Smartstart

Quote:
Originally Posted by RageOfFury View Post
The 2014 GC has the option of starting/controlling certain features at any distance via smartphone.

Yeah I agree. Why go from an 11 to a 13 which are basically the same exact thing? Get yourself a 2014
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-20-2013, 03:28 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fulton, Missouri
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 600
HThomure is on a distinguished road
Re: Viper Smartstart

I actually went from a 10 to a 12. Got a fantastic deal and lowered my payment by almost $50.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2013 Viper HAMMMERHEAD Grand Cherokee SRT - WK2 10 04-04-2012 07:27 PM
How to install Viper Tilt Sensor for Viper 5901 on a 2005 Grand Cherokee madeincanada Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 4 09-15-2011 07:34 PM
The ALL new Jeep Viper Scottina06 Other Rides 17 07-11-2011 03:53 PM
NEED some VIPER help! soontobesrt Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 22 12-07-2010 09:36 PM
viper 5901 BDP08 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 4 05-12-2010 02:28 AM

» Random Garages

Marlene

bakpakr

WK

Bogie
Add your Jeep
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community