Why Do Complaint Posts Get Closed So Early? - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 -

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-06-2014, 06:44 AM
GCLimited's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2015
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 1,191
Thanks: 14
Thanked 82 Times in 60 Posts
Rep Power: 52203
GCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Why Do Complaint Posts Get Closed So Early?

Why do complaint posts about Jeeps get closed so early on this web site, and why does it seem the "leg humpers" always come in to these threads, pick arguments with the initiators of the threads basicly saying they're just complainers, then cry to the mods to close the threads?

Case in point the two most recent threads about Consumer Reports slamming the W2 Jeep Grand Cherokee. What happened that was so bad the threads had to be closed? Is it policy on this site that these leg humping bullies always win in the end? What's so bad about someone posting a complaint they have with their vehicle, then later defend their position against the attacks from these key board warriors? Why is it I RARELY see a Mod punish these trouble makers?

Again, what exactly was the reason for closing those theads? There was no swearing, just attacks from the Jeep leg humpers that took offence to legitimate complaints made by GC owners...who later had to defend their position.


Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-06-2014, 08:17 AM
bill_de's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2017 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,661
Thanks: 742
Thanked 1,092 Times in 850 Posts
Rep Power: 1806090
bill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Why Do Complaint Posts Get Closed So Early?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GCLimited View Post
Why do complaint posts about Jeeps get closed so early on this web site, and why does it seem the "leg humpers" always come in to these threads, pick arguments with the initiators of the threads basicly saying they're just complainers, then cry to the mods to close the threads?

Case in point the two most recent threads about Consumer Reports slamming the W2 Jeep Grand Cherokee. What happened that was so bad the threads had to be closed? Is it policy on this site that these leg humping bullies always win in the end? What's so bad about someone posting a complaint they have with their vehicle, then later defend their position against the attacks from these key board warriors? Why is it I RARELY see a Mod punish these trouble makers?

Again, what exactly was the reason for closing those theads? There was no swearing, just attacks from the Jeep leg humpers that took offence to legitimate complaints made by GC owners...who later had to defend their position.

Why do people need to defend a position? You state your position and some agree with it and some don't. By the time somebody's response starts with something like, "I'll say this again for the third time" it becomes obvious they are not going to convert those who disagree with them. And so what if there are differing views.


---
__________________
If you need a shoulder to cry on ...
... pull over to the side of the road!

  #3  
Old 11-06-2014, 09:15 AM
GCLimited's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2015
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 1,191
Thanks: 14
Thanked 82 Times in 60 Posts
Rep Power: 52203
GCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Why Do Complaint Posts Get Closed So Early?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bill_de View Post

Why do people need to defend a position? You state your position and some agree with it and some don't. By the time somebody's response starts with something like, "I'll say this again for the third time" it becomes obvious they are not going to convert those who disagree with them. And so what if there are differing views.
Please don't play dumb Bill, you know what I'm talking about. No one was trying to "convert" anyone is those recently closed threads. There were the people reporting issues they had with their vehicles, and there were the trouble making leg humpers trying to discredit what was posted...not just offering a difference of opinion.

Of course there's no problem offering a different opinion, it's the trouble makers coming in to start arguments and calling people "complainers"...that is the problem. And when the initiator or person who reported problems with their vehicle responds to the trouble makers, the thread is then closed.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 11-06-2014, 10:02 AM
tomk's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Amherst, MA
Posts: 829
Thanks: 15
Thanked 111 Times in 92 Posts
Rep Power: 1566266
tomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Why Do Complaint Posts Get Closed So Early?

I just happened to read those two threads.

They had both turned into pissing contests.

Maybe we need a FEMA camp where such threads can be moved to so they can burn themselves out.

Just MHO.

...tom
__________________
2007 WK Limited 5.7L
2014 WK2 Overland 5.7L
And a few past Durangos
de W1PF
  #5  
Old 11-06-2014, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,337
Thanks: 1
Thanked 46 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 4281
jp467 has a reputation beyond reputejp467 has a reputation beyond reputejp467 has a reputation beyond reputejp467 has a reputation beyond reputejp467 has a reputation beyond reputejp467 has a reputation beyond reputejp467 has a reputation beyond reputejp467 has a reputation beyond reputejp467 has a reputation beyond reputejp467 has a reputation beyond reputejp467 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Why Do Complaint Posts Get Closed So Early?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GCLimited View Post
Why do complaint posts about Jeeps get closed so early on this web site, and why does it seem the "leg humpers" always come in to these threads, pick arguments with the initiators of the threads basicly saying they're just complainers, then cry to the mods to close the threads?

Case in point the two most recent threads about Consumer Reports slamming the W2 Jeep Grand Cherokee. What happened that was so bad the threads had to be closed? Is it policy on this site that these leg humping bullies always win in the end? What's so bad about someone posting a complaint they have with their vehicle, then later defend their position against the attacks from these key board warriors? Why is it I RARELY see a Mod punish these trouble makers?

Again, what exactly was the reason for closing those theads? There was no swearing, just attacks from the Jeep leg humpers that took offence to legitimate complaints made by GC owners...who later had to defend their position.


i was going to post something but I'm not falling for this game. I think just by you starting this thread it shows who the trouble maker is.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jp467 For This Useful Post:
  #6  
Old 11-06-2014, 11:30 AM
SW03ES's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 1,887
Thanks: 18
Thanked 69 Times in 54 Posts
Rep Power: 1304688
SW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Why Do Complaint Posts Get Closed So Early?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GCLimited View Post
Why do complaint posts about Jeeps get closed so early on this web site, and why does it seem the "leg humpers" always come in to these threads, pick arguments with the initiators of the threads basicly saying they're just complainers, then cry to the mods to close the threads?
As someone who has posted on and run auto forums for 15+ years, I see both sides of this.

Brand loyalty is very strong on forums, and it should be. These are enthusiast forums, they exist for the enjoyment of enthusiasts of the brand. To someone who is enthusiastic about the brand, having people constantly cutting it down, posting all kinds of negative stuff, is annoying to deal with. Especially for domestic makes like Jeep, these people (the "fanboys") take these things personally. Its ridiculous, but they do.

On the other hand, when people have a lot of chronic problems I know from experience that its so incredibly frustrating you need to vent...and people also join forums to do just that. Clearly there are a good number of people that have a lot of issues with their JGCs, and you have this mixing bowl effect when you put people who are on both sides of this together.

Then you have people who just want to complain about things that are completely normal, and things that they need to take responsibility for...i.e. the discussion you and I and a few others got into about using parking brakes when parking. Sometimes this comes from people just being frustrated in general and not giving the vehicle the benefit of the doubt any longer.

I will say...that I think you do a fair amount of trolling and that comes out in the way you are received on the forum. Look at your signature, "My transmission shifts like crap"...thats flamebait right there. I think you need to have a little respect for the fact that this is a private forum, owned and operated by enthusiasts not your pulpit to complain about your Jeep. It takes two to tango.

I think whenever a moderator closes a thread...it detracts from the fair and open nature of the forum and the forum's quality is diminished. So, the thread I you mention I would not have closed if I had been moderating this forum. People who get personal, nasty and out of line need to be asked to leave threads, and if they won't, they need to be suspended from the forum...but the thread should survive unless it just degrades into an all out flamewar...which I don't feel that thread had. BUT, if I were a moderator I would delete your signature...as an example.

Its hard for moderators too...because they are moderators here because they are Jeep enthusiasts...but to me thats part of the responsibility of moderating the forum, not to let your personal biases come through to your moderating actions.

On the flip side though, I would suggest that you take a step back and look at how you come across. You have to have a little respect for the fact that there are more happy people than unhappy people, and that those people have a right to be happy with their vehicles...they aren't all blinded morons because they don't share your dissatisfaction.
__________________
~Steve~
2015 Lexus LS460 AWD, Nebula Grey w/Light Grey Shimamoku Interior
2015 Kia Sedona SX-L, BlackBerry w/ Dark Burgundy Interior
Previous Jeeps: 2014 Grand Cherokee Overland; 2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo X
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to SW03ES For This Useful Post:
  #7  
Old 11-06-2014, 11:38 AM
GCOverland's Avatar
Jeep Addict
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Posts: 1,524
Thanks: 102
Thanked 99 Times in 78 Posts
Rep Power: 4166
GCOverland has a reputation beyond reputeGCOverland has a reputation beyond reputeGCOverland has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Why Do Complaint Posts Get Closed So Early?

IMO, jeepgarage is a well-balanced forum which is open for all opinions.

If you are looking for a fanboy-biased bord, check out gminsidenews...
__________________
2015 Grand Cherokee Summit 3.6L 4x4, Bright White, Dark Brown interior, Platinum Package, CD-Player.
2015 Lincoln MKZ Hybrid Reserve, Ruby Red Metallic, Light Dune interior, Technology Package, Panoramic Roof, 19" Painted Pockets Wheels, Multi-Contour Seats, THX Audio.
  #8  
Old 11-06-2014, 11:41 AM
moosehead's Avatar
Horseshoe for the Donkeys

My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CO Rockies
Posts: 3,204
Thanks: 225
Thanked 106 Times in 91 Posts
Rep Power: 1621748
moosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Why Do Complaint Posts Get Closed So Early?

As a first mover fanboy of the WK2, now frustrated by Chryco and the QC/recall/poor customer service outcome, I can see both sides of this.

First, this is a Jeep site. Note to self, calling out loyalists as leg humpers, even if legitimate, is going to get you nowhere.

Second, if criticism is levied in a balanced and thoughtful way, the site becomes stronger and just may get us what we want - an improved product.
__________________
2011 JGC Oland Hemi / Borla Catback Proto / Hemifever Tune on DS Trinity / Flyin Ryan PTB / Volant CAI / Bwoody Sway Links / BT Catch Can & Underhood Kit / Jon's Tinted Tails / SRT8 Hood, Steering Wheel, Shiftknob, Pedals / Firestone Dest AT's & Winter 18's / Focal 165 Component Fronts, Alpine PDX 5 Amp, Rockford Fosgate P3 10" Sub & Fiberglass Enclosure / PS2 Grill, Mirrors & Liftgate Strip / Tow Hooks & Skids / JW Speaker LED Foglights / Debadged, Tint, Clear Bra / Sharkfin / Vled & Putco LED's / JRoll Uber-Tech Cabin Filter / RA & Yak Roof Rack / Lit Sills, Slush & Cargo Mats
  #9  
Old 11-06-2014, 11:44 AM
1Zach1's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NoVA
Posts: 120
Thanks: 6
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 1403
1Zach1 is on a distinguished road
Re: Why Do Complaint Posts Get Closed So Early?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GCLimited View Post
"leg humpers"......leg humping bullies.........key board warriors........Jeep leg humpers
Insults generally go a long way to keep threads open.
__________________
Limited 4x4 MaxSteel.
  #10  
Old 11-06-2014, 11:45 AM
SW03ES's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 1,887
Thanks: 18
Thanked 69 Times in 54 Posts
Rep Power: 1304688
SW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond reputeSW03ES has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Why Do Complaint Posts Get Closed So Early?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GCOverland View Post
IMO, jeepgarage is a well-balanced forum which is open for all opinions.
JG is a great forum, but I wouldn't call it well balanced. its definitely an enthusiast owned and operated board, and that comes through in the style its moderated and in Scott's style. He obviously loves Jeep, and thats great. BUT, if you are one who has problems, or if you post things that aren't necessarily pro-Jeep...the forum turns on you quick. Trust me.

The big Lexus forum I post on isn't like that. If anything, the moderators are harder on fan-boy type posters. That is frustrating in its own way, because as a fan who is happy you feel like sometimes you can't post positive stuff on your own brand's forum, because when people start to tear it down and you reply defending your position and the brand...you wind up moderated and the detractors are let alone.

You see that here in the new thread about high customer satisfaction. The detractors are in there off topic, and IMHO thats not fair.

So...theres no "right" way. Somehow people are going to feel that they're being left out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by moosehead
Second, if criticism is levied in a balanced and thoughtful way, the site becomes stronger and just may get us what we want - an improved product.
I agree, and this has always been my position. I try to be even keeled, and I'm more of an Auto enthusiast than I am a specific brand enthusiast. BUT, when I started sharing my problems I was attacked and labeled a "complainer" pretty quickly, even when I made sure to point out that I still loved my GC and wanted another.

Some of the things people accused me of were pretty funny. Especially the one where I must be offroading the vehicle and beating on it...when it had seen maybe a gravel road. No...my 2011 was just a problematic unit.
__________________
~Steve~
2015 Lexus LS460 AWD, Nebula Grey w/Light Grey Shimamoku Interior
2015 Kia Sedona SX-L, BlackBerry w/ Dark Burgundy Interior
Previous Jeeps: 2014 Grand Cherokee Overland; 2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo X
  #11  
Old 11-06-2014, 11:46 AM
moosehead's Avatar
Horseshoe for the Donkeys

My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CO Rockies
Posts: 3,204
Thanks: 225
Thanked 106 Times in 91 Posts
Rep Power: 1621748
moosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond reputemoosehead has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Why Do Complaint Posts Get Closed So Early?

Come on in belligerent robb? Wassup?
__________________
2011 JGC Oland Hemi / Borla Catback Proto / Hemifever Tune on DS Trinity / Flyin Ryan PTB / Volant CAI / Bwoody Sway Links / BT Catch Can & Underhood Kit / Jon's Tinted Tails / SRT8 Hood, Steering Wheel, Shiftknob, Pedals / Firestone Dest AT's & Winter 18's / Focal 165 Component Fronts, Alpine PDX 5 Amp, Rockford Fosgate P3 10" Sub & Fiberglass Enclosure / PS2 Grill, Mirrors & Liftgate Strip / Tow Hooks & Skids / JW Speaker LED Foglights / Debadged, Tint, Clear Bra / Sharkfin / Vled & Putco LED's / JRoll Uber-Tech Cabin Filter / RA & Yak Roof Rack / Lit Sills, Slush & Cargo Mats
  #12  
Old 11-06-2014, 11:50 AM
Long Live the Grey Ghosts

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,486
Thanks: 58
Thanked 148 Times in 130 Posts
Rep Power: 543712
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Why Do Complaint Posts Get Closed So Early?

Quote:
Originally Posted by moosehead View Post
Come on in belligerent robb? Wassup?
i havent posted ANYTHING in weeks.

I was scolded by a mod for posting 'RTFM'.

was bored and looking around.




moose what r u up to?

i went to the classic side and bought a 69 el camino.

no more new cars for me ever. I just cant deal/

looks like nothing has changed here
__________________
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TSBs to get early 14 up to date? tygate Grand Cherokee SRT - WK2 0 10-29-2013 05:34 PM
Minor complaint 2014 (ok, not much of a complaint! lol) StaticFX Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 24 07-18-2013 01:31 PM
where's my sig and why cant i edit old posts? spatial_k Site News, Help, and Feedback 5 04-21-2013 01:43 AM
Sunroof stuck closed - Can I get to it? jwernatl Troubleshooting/Problems 10 03-21-2012 09:58 PM
Today's Posts And Unanswered Posts... Frankie Site News, Help, and Feedback 5 08-23-2010 08:51 AM

» Premium Vendor Showcase
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.