Pixel on dash - Page 5 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Technical Discussion > Technical Service Bulletins and Recalls

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #49  
Old 11-10-2014, 09:29 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1277
ktech35 is just really nice
Re: Pixel on dash

Sal, I haven't had the issue since the dash screen was replaced, which is about 5,000 miles ago.

Anybody having stuck pixel issues should:
1) Show the stuck pixel to a service adviser, doing the reverse to drive maneuver with Parksense active.
2) Once they verify the stuck pixel, just have them call and confirm with STAR that the screen should be replaced.
3) Go back to enjoying an OCD-free driving experience

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #50  
Old 11-11-2014, 11:42 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 1233
Qmulus is on a distinguished road
Re: Pixel on dash

Our 11/13 build has the same pixel stuck on at random times issue, in the same spot. I told the dealer about it at our first oil change and they said they would need to replace the cluster, and that the clusters are ordered with the odometer reading set to match at the parts depot, so the vehicle needs to be out of commission from the time they order until the dash comes in, like a week. Sounds like BS to me.

Has anyone heard any official word on this? It sounds like a pretty common issue.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 11-12-2014, 12:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1052
srs148 is on a distinguished road
Re: Pixel on dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qmulus View Post
Our 11/13 build has the same pixel stuck on at random times issue, in the same spot. I told the dealer about it at our first oil change and they said they would need to replace the cluster, and that the clusters are ordered with the odometer reading set to match at the parts depot, so the vehicle needs to be out of commission from the time they order until the dash comes in, like a week. Sounds like BS to me.

Has anyone heard any official word on this? It sounds like a pretty common issue.
It is a common issue (I have it too), but it's not a hardware issue, it's a software /firmware issue. Unless a non-upgradeable firmware update has been installed on newer build clusters, you'll see it appear again on a replacement cluster sooner or later... working in IT and understanding the frequency of occurrence of this issue, there's no other explanation.

I emailed the Uconnect teams a link of this thread... who knows, maybe they're not aware of the issue. Either way, I'm curious to hear their response and will post any updates I receive to this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 11-12-2014, 12:42 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 122
Thanks: 61
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 981
jeepgrandcherokeesal is on a distinguished road
Re: Pixel on dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by srs148 View Post
I emailed the Uconnect teams a link of this thread... who knows, maybe they're not aware of the issue. Either way, I'm curious to hear their response and will post any updates I receive to this thread.

Thanks... keep us posted
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 11-12-2014, 08:17 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1277
ktech35 is just really nice
Re: Pixel on dash

That's what they said for mine cluster too. Makes sense if you think about it though, would Chrysler rather have thousands of dealerships have the ability to modify your odometer at the flip of a switch or limit that power to a hundred or so part depots?

Get a free rental from the dealer, get the new dash cluster and go back to enjoying it.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 11-15-2014, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1083
joey49 is on a distinguished road
Re: Pixel on dash

Hi all re the pixel my dealer changed the dash to a new one pixel problem gone it's been a week no dead pixel on new dash cheers


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joey49 For This Useful Post:
  #55  
Old 11-20-2014, 10:56 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 1233
Qmulus is on a distinguished road
Re: Pixel on dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by joey49 View Post
Hi all re the pixel my dealer changed the dash to a new one pixel problem gone it's been a week no dead pixel on new dash cheers


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
So how long did it take to have the dash replaced? My dealer said it would have to be in for a week while the dash was ordered. It is an annoying problem, but not as annoying as having to deal with a rental car for a week. Perhaps that is what the dealers count on...
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 11-20-2014, 10:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1083
joey49 is on a distinguished road
Re: Pixel on dash

No was half a day they asked for my km on the display ordered it from USA with the km mentioned for that day dash arrived with in a week took car to dealer fitted new dash, in half a day. Had travelled more kms but dealer said better to have it fixed and it was only over by a few hundred km big deal all fixed now


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 11-22-2014, 02:19 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 122
Thanks: 61
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 981
jeepgrandcherokeesal is on a distinguished road
Re: Pixel on dash

It's been at the dealer for nearly a week now. I went on Thursday to check on it. They applied a radio software update that seems to resolve the dead pixel thing. I was running version 13.x.x and the current version is 14.x.x.

I'm still waiting for them to figure out why the navigation does not appear in the EVIC.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 11-22-2014, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1083
joey49 is on a distinguished road
Re: Pixel on dash

I also had the update done before the dash was changed. The pixel disappeared but then came back which is why the swapped the dash out


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 04-07-2015, 10:41 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 122
Thanks: 61
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 981
jeepgrandcherokeesal is on a distinguished road
Re: Pixel on dash

The STAR tech says he hasn't found any similar cases... I asked the dealer to send me a copy of the response, which is below.

Is anyone willing to share their ticket numbers? Service manager says he won't replace it unless STAR says so
Attached Images
File Type: jpg starweb.jpg (200.5 KB, 25 views)
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 04-07-2015, 12:06 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 1233
Qmulus is on a distinguished road
Re: Pixel on dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepgrandcherokeesal View Post
The STAR tech says he hasn't found any similar cases... I asked the dealer to send me a copy of the response, which is below.

Is anyone willing to share their ticket numbers? Service manager says he won't replace it unless STAR says so
I have started to think of this just like the taillights that don't line up right. It is annoying, but definitely not enough to take the vehicle out of use for a week (what our dealer told us) to get it taken care of. If it bugs me while driving, I go through the menus to the "analog" speedometer display, then back to the "digital" display and that pixel gets cleared. It is kind of amazing to me that a software bug that is so easily replicated made it through testing and that Jeep won't recognize it as an issue. I had a friend with another '14 GC try to replicate it on his and it did the same thing. He normally drives around with the "analog" speedo display so he hadn't seen it before. Now it bugs him too... Hahahahahaaaa.

I imagine that somewhere along the way this bug was fixed for production, but they don't feel it is enough of an issue to do anything about unless someone really complains. Nice.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Center Dash (Radio) Surround and Lower Dash - Below Steering Wheel Removal mickey53usa Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 7 09-25-2012 02:30 PM
Dash Kit Scotch Interior/Exterior/Visual 6 10-24-2011 06:27 PM
730RER Screen Dead Pixel Line pbm317 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 6 06-12-2011 08:57 PM
In dash-dvd...Help! jeepgrand23 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 11 07-22-2010 08:51 PM
Dash-Mat??? soontobesrt Visual Modifications 6 07-09-2010 10:34 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.