Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Technical Discussion > Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-09-2010, 12:24 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.0L WK
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1302
moosebreathmack is on a distinguished road
Autostick inoperative

I seem to be having a problem with my autostick. I have taken it to the dealer 4 times for the same problem. The first time they cleared the codes and flashed the computer and it worked for about 100 miles and then it went back to the inoperative mode. Back to the dealer and they did the same thing,it worked for 150 miles this time.
Back to the dealer this time they kept it for 2days and replaced the ECU and it lasted another 100 miles. I brought it back to the dealer and they reprogrammed it again and then the service manager told e it was because I was using it in an improper manner and that when I shift down and a potential engine overspeed condition could occur the autostick will go into an inoperative mode to protect the engine. WHAT A CROCK OF BULLCRAP. I have had this vehicle since new and it has 54,000 miles on it Since day one I shifted the autostick with no problem and my shifting habits have not changed. Now they say that I will have to pay each time I bring it in for that problem. I have the extended warranty and it is supposedly good for 62,000 miles.
Any suggestions as to what is happening to the Autostick would be helpful. Since the dealer cannot seem to figure it out. It is working at the moment but my confidence level on he thing is very low.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2010, 06:59 AM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,316
Thanks: 43
Thanked 126 Times in 108 Posts
Rep Power: 542381
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Autostick inoperative

its the esm; the shifter.

very popular issue for the 3.7.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2010, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: brOOklyn
Posts: 1,232
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2589
JoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Autostick inoperative

1) Try finding different dealer

2) I think this is posted in the wrong forum (should be in WK)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2010, 12:46 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.0L WK
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1302
moosebreathmack is on a distinguished road
Re: Autostick inoperative

Hmmmmmm
Maybe it is posted in the wrong forum
I'm new here so all help is appreciated,I thought I did post it in the WK forum
Anyway
As I looked at my service report
this is what it said
DTC u0404.u4042 and p0667 internal ECU failure performed
replaced the ECU
The engine light came on the first couple of times and then went out but the next couple of times there was no light.
And I will try another dealer but after having service done on different vehicles I don't hold out much hope with any of them.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2010, 12:49 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,316
Thanks: 43
Thanked 126 Times in 108 Posts
Rep Power: 542381
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Autostick inoperative

its been moved to the CORRRECT area:

take it somewhere else...its the shifter. this is VERY COMMON on the 3.7 WK. Search here about the shifter.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2010, 12:55 PM
GR33N D3M0N's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: down south
Posts: 5,466
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 14258
GR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to GR33N D3M0N
Re: Autostick inoperative

^^ive had mine replaced once or twice...(bad memory haha) its working fine now(knock on wood) good luck
__________________
MOE
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo (sold)
2011 Mazdaspeed3 w/tech package
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoopCooper View Post
Herpes is better than a Prius. Lol.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
I really hope my next car has brembros and a panorama roof
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-2010, 09:08 PM
Premium Vendor
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1493
magnumman426 has much to be proud of
Re: Autostick inoperative

Complete Shifter assembly!! Get it replaced ASAP!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-01-2010, 02:22 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.0L WK
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1302
moosebreathmack is on a distinguished road
Re: Autostick inoperative

I thought that I would give an update on the autostick saga on my Grand Cherokee.
First, the Jeep is a 2007 Grand Cherokee 3.0 turbo diesel with a W5J400 transmission.
The dealer replaced the WCM modual. This so far has seemed to cure the inoperative autostick but the engine light is still coming on,.When we checked the code, it read P0705P, but as usual before I could get it to a dealer the light went out. I know they are supposed to retrieve the stored codes but if the light is not on they charge you $55.00 even though I have an extended warranty.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-01-2010, 02:32 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,316
Thanks: 43
Thanked 126 Times in 108 Posts
Rep Power: 542381
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Autostick inoperative

its the shifter moose. or it could be a neutral safety switch but i think thats part of the shifter nowadays........

Transmission Range Sensor Circuit Malfunction (PRNDL Input) is what i find for code P0705.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-2010, 03:24 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.0L WK
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1302
moosebreathmack is on a distinguished road
Re: Autostick inoperative

I guess it is frustrating for us to know what the repair should be,but the dealer does not listen to the layman and seems to want to go on some kind of an expedition to find the problem on his own.
I have an appointment at the dealer for tomorrow morning,maybe he is going to change the air in the tires or change the windshield fluid to see if that fixes the problem.
I was wondering,how can you tell if one's vehicle is supposed to have skid plates. I just have the plastic silencers which I thought were the skid plates.
I don't spend a lot of time under the Jeep and I thought that since they were flat and covered most of the underside that they were skid plates. The reason being, the one under the transmission came loose and pealed back like a banana and wore the little clip type things at the front of it right off....$300.00 for that thing....I guess TRAIL RATED means the bunny trail.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-01-2010, 04:53 PM
2005JGC's Avatar
Senior Member


My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,749
Thanks: 51
Thanked 69 Times in 58 Posts
Rep Power: 1652821
2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Autostick inoperative

find another dealer... personally where I work you dont get charged a penny if we dont duplicate the problem. I will say there are a couple techs and writers whom do, at least on our evening shift all the writers and techs are on the same page.

Personally if its a super intermittant condition if I take pay for not duplicating the problem, the next time you come in it comes back to me as a "recheck" not that its a bad recheck but I make it my baby if I take time for a non diagnosis. I spend my time be it 30min-1hr and if it doesnt happen maybe with free time ill spend a bit more otherwise your going to have to come back when its doing it more. I know we dont do things like many dealerships, before working there I always saw the dealer as the dirtbag wanting to charge me 1hr to do nothing but tell me what codes are in a module that a generic scantool cannot see, but if I had them diagnose it it would be the same hour and they would have told me what was wrong... wtf?

above all, good luck!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Autostick Not Working! AlexM52 Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 17 05-31-2012 06:04 PM
Autostick Question Robert Palmer Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 43 04-17-2010 07:02 PM
Shifter assembly autostick... SRTburner Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 4 12-30-2009 11:23 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community