Crankshaft Position Sensor??? - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Technical Discussion > Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-29-2015, 07:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 626
evolet12williford is on a distinguished road
Crankshaft Position Sensor???

I have a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee that will not start when it is above 60 degrees oitside. When it is below 60 it has no problems at all starting... I have been told by several people that it may be my Crankshaft Position Sensor. Does anyone have any suggetions as to what else may be causeing this or a way to test the CPS?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-29-2015, 08:28 PM
Frango100's Avatar
The beast from Brazil

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 7,264
Thanks: 17
Thanked 366 Times in 353 Posts
Rep Power: 529378
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor???

Welcome to the garage.
Could be crank sensor, but also inlet temperature sensor or MAP sensor.
Did you try the keydance or use a scanner to check for faults? Keydance: ignition switch off run three times and leave in run at third time. Odometer will show DONE when no faults, or a fault code(s).
If the engine is hot, does it also not start above 60?
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2015, 08:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 626
evolet12williford is on a distinguished road
Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor???

About 2 months ago the check engine light came on took it to oreilly's and codes came up for evap leak and crankshaft sensor they reset codes though because it was running good. Done does appear on the odometer and it runs fine when the engine is hot just not when it is nice outside. It seems that as long as it is around 50-55 or lower outside it has no problems. As soon as the weather gets nice it acts up. Sometimes will die on me while it is running but as long as its cold outside starts right back up. If its nice outside I am stranded.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2015, 06:15 AM
Frango100's Avatar
The beast from Brazil

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 7,264
Thanks: 17
Thanked 366 Times in 353 Posts
Rep Power: 529378
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor???

I wonder if it will be the crank sensor. Why would the sensor not give a problem when the engine is hot (so the sensor as well) and outside temps below the 60's. Many times these sensors give problems when hot. If you have an android phone, then you could buy a cheap ELM327 bluetooth dongle (e bay or amazon) and download the free app Torque. Then you can monitor many sensor outputs and see if any of them is out of line.
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2015, 11:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 626
evolet12williford is on a distinguished road
Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor???

Checked it out again today and an error code came up it is saying p0230 what could this b
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2015, 04:43 PM
Frango100's Avatar
The beast from Brazil

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 7,264
Thanks: 17
Thanked 366 Times in 353 Posts
Rep Power: 529378
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor???

The P0230 code stands for a primary fuel pump circuit malfunction. This can be a problem with the fuel pump relay, wiring, ground contact or the PCM.
If you switch the ignition in run but not starting, then the PCM will close the ground cirquit for the fuel pump relay and the relay will be energized. The closed relay contacts will switch on the pump. When no rpm is detected by the PCM within 3 seconds, then the fuel pump relay will be de-energized.
If you now switch the ignition in run, do you hear the fuel pump running for 3 seconds? Either way, i would start by swapping the fuel pump relay with the horn relay (both in the PDC under the hood) and see what happens. Maybe the contacts in the fuel pump relay are bad.
I would also check for any corrosion or dirt/moisture on the fuel pump relay and fuel pump fuses. That are fuse 12 on the junction block, and fuse 24 in the PDC.
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2015, 10:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 626
evolet12williford is on a distinguished road
Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor???

I was wrong about the code I got 2 numbers wrong. Instead of p0230 it was p0320 so I am going to change the crankshaft position sensor today. Wish me luck and thank you for the feedback!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2015, 02:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 626
evolet12williford is on a distinguished road
Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor???

Got the crankshaft position sensor change running now seems to be running good but now error code p0340 is coming up. Camshaft position sensor, do u usually have to change both when changing one of them?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-2015, 04:04 PM
Frango100's Avatar
The beast from Brazil

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 7,264
Thanks: 17
Thanked 366 Times in 353 Posts
Rep Power: 529378
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor???

There are people who say yes, but just because their way of thinking is, that if one is bad, the other will not be far away from getting bad as well. But there should be no reason to change the cam sensor, or when it is bad ofcourse. Strange that after the change that you get this code now. Did you try to reset first and see if it comes back?
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-02-2015, 04:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 626
evolet12williford is on a distinguished road
Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor???

Yes I have reset it twice now and it runs fine afterwards for about ten minutes then the same code comes back and it starts to feel like it is misfiring once I get up to about fourty five mph or higher or when I am stoped at a spop sign/light.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-02-2015, 07:33 PM
Frango100's Avatar
The beast from Brazil

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 7,264
Thanks: 17
Thanked 366 Times in 353 Posts
Rep Power: 529378
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor???

Did you put a MOPAR sensor in? Aftermarket sensors can give strange behaviour. Which engine do you have?
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-02-2015, 09:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 626
evolet12williford is on a distinguished road
Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor???

No it was a duralast brand. Good thing is that it has a lifetime waranty so I am going to go aee if they will give me a new one tomorrow and c if that does it. It is a straight six best truck I have eves had with the exception of these dmn sensors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Replace Crankshaft Position Sensor JeepMe Tech Tips/DIY/How to 12 04-26-2016 05:46 PM
Crankshaft Position Sensor Circuit n8jay Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust 6 10-15-2013 07:55 AM
Crankshaft position sensor hemi_shox Grand Cherokee - WK 13 05-27-2013 02:19 AM
Frickin crankshaft position sensor on the 4.0L Joe in PA Troubleshooting/Problems 6 11-29-2010 04:30 PM
First Post NEED HELP! '99 WJ Crankshaft Position Sensor nwcw2001 Troubleshooting/Problems 7 08-22-2010 10:17 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.